We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor rooms”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 2 January 2011

we went on a tom jones caberet weekendOn arrival we went to our room it was on floor minus one There was a light missing it was very gloomy with a bad smell My partner went to reception and asked for another room We paid 30 pounds extra and got a sea view room on third floor On returning from the day trip the next day the room was freezing cold Phoned reception who said they would send someone up After half an hour i went down to reception who found a heater to plug in Apart from these minor problems the rest of the trip was fineThe driver entertainment food and staff were all goodWe complained to shearings as we had been charged extra for a room not fit for purpose without the temporary heater to no avail Thanks shearings

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimbob025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2010

Nice hotel, bedrooms very warm and roomy. Our waiter in the dining room Dunson (think thats how its spelt) was excelent no waiting for service always helpful and polite. Nat king cole tribute was good.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wray1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

What a great holiday! This hotel was all we could ask for. The service was excellent and we were well looked after. My only complaint was the cost in the bar!
Not only was the hotel good but also our driver. Nothing was too much trouble for Ken - he thought nothing of putting my Mum's wheelchair on and off the coach and made sure everything was right for her. Unfortunately, for Shearings, this was Ken's last tour as he retired at the end of the week!
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tattyali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Stayed here Monday to Friday with a Shearings coach trip. We had superior rooms with sea views-very spacious,spotlessly clean and comfortable. The dining room was very pleasant, lovely food,plenty of choice and our waiter (from Slovakia) was great. The food was served as soon as we sat down,no waiting between courses. All the staff were very pleasant and helpfull. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puffydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

could'nt fault hotel cleanliness and service was generally excellent (particully in the dining room) but poor service on the bar, poor girl receptionist who was pregnant had to serve in bar as well.the bedroom decor was very dated the toilet and shower room were uncomfortably small, the toilet you had to stand at the side of the toilet to open and close the door,the shower room was the smallest i have ever been in, the hand basin was also very small and trying to dry yourself in that small room was vertually impossible. the bedroom inself overlooked the back of the hotel and was right above the kitchens and a large extractor fan so the heat and noise in the room overpowering and continuous.we asked for an upgrade but unfortunatly the hotel was fully booked that week

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MANCMAN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

3rd stay in12months again brill staff great meals great entertainment great clean relaxing nothing to much troublegain soon ken drinkwater aka neil diamond

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linedance4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed for a weekend break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our room overlooked a car park at the back of the hotel. The room smelled of damp and the bathroom consisted of just toilet and bath. The bath had a shower but when showering the bath filled with water as there was a blockage. This was rectified on the second day but caused the overflow pipe to leak through the ceiling below us. We were interupted when bathing and had to throw our clothes back on while this was investigated. The sink was in the bedroom. Most perculiar arrangement.
The bedding top cover was soiled with what looked like bodily fluids and had not been cleaned. We complained and this was replaced. The room, however; was cold and the bedding was sparse.

The food and dining arrangements were fine and there was a stark contrast between the state of the rooms and the general decor in public areas.

A member of the bar staff was rude to us on the first night and displayed a degree of irritation at having to serve his guests. We did not see him again during our stay (Thank God!). The manager, however; was very helpful and did attempt to sort out our bedroom difficulties.

On the moring of "check out" (which was at 10 am) the maids tried to gain access to our room from 8:30 am and just "barged in" on several occasions whilst we were trying to dress and pack.
Thinking of staying here? Think again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roaminglady52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
824 reviews
0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
910 reviews
0.9 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £57 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing