We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunoon
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the Dunoon with a Great Rail group. It has to be said that the first impression is probably not to everyone's taste. Reception and the lounges are quite dull. However this is the only downside. Our room was delightful, light and airy and although the bathroom was minimal it served its purpose very adequately.

Unlike so many group holidays where menus are limited, all guests at the Dunoon enjoy a five course dinner (plus coffee) of excellent food with plenty of choice. The Welsh lamb can be especially recommended. Breakfasts are excellent, and all meals are served by delightful staff who go out of their way to ensure that guests are happy.

A bonus of a visit to Llandon is the very plentiful availabity of free on street parking.

Visitors to Llandudno will be faced by a huge selection of hotels. they can not do better than the Dunoon for value and service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lodger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    85
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
101
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mayfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just a very enjoyable five nights here as part of a Saga break.
Very much enjoyed it and the food was excellent, the staff very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mafupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carcassonne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

I stayed in the Dunoon recently, one of a party of about 36 people. The hotel is comfortable with an old-fashioned feel about it. It doesn't aspire to be otherwise. My bedroom was equipped with two single beds, and although fairly small, was adequate and very clean. The bathroom was small, and had a slight "smell", probably due to the corked floor.The floorboards in the corridor outside did make a noise and the soundproofing was poor. I found the shower/tap mechanism very difficult to understand/work.

I have given the hotel a 4star rating instead of 3 because of the dining staff who couldn't be faulted - polite, attentive and friendly, especially the dining room staff. It was a pleasure to eat there. The dinners were excellent, as were the breakfasts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good-sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights in May with a group of friends. The hotel was old fashioned in decor and may not appeal to those who like minimalist and modern but we very much appreciated the charm of the antiques. The food was wonderful and plentiful and the wine was not overpriced. The service was excellent. The first room we were shown was at the back and not too exciting but we were then given a pretty sunny room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester couple
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

My husband and I booked last minute direct with the hotel for 2 nights B&B over recent Bank Holiday. We paid the full price for double standard plus room. It was explained the 'plus' was an upgrade from ordinary standard. Dont know what the ordinary standard was, but we had a double (with 1 single bed) on 3rd floor (in roof space) with a dormer window. The bed was uncomfortable we were told it was a king size but it wasnt. The room was very cold especially during the night - no heating on. The bathroom was cramped. Breakfast was ok. The weather wasnt very good (raining) so because of the aforementioned, we decided to check out the evening before as we didnt want to stay another night just for breakfast. We settled the bill in full and was asked by the receptionist our reasons for checking out early, which we did. He apologied to us and said he would pass this on to the Manager. We have not heard anything from the hotel.

Room Tip: Dont book or accept one on 3rd floor - unless hot/very warm weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Macaronies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed the experience. This hotel had a good size room with a small but adequate ensuite. The mattress was a bit too soft. It is well maintained with lovely furniture. We had the dinner, bed and breakfast package. The food was outstanding as was the service in the dining room. If in Llandudno I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I advised the organisers of our visit, and the hoteliers, that I was somewhat disabled, but they did not inform me that the bathrooms were unsuitable for the less able, very narrow way between length of bath and wall to reach the lavatory, lavatories too low for older people, very little floor space.. Even if I was able, I would find the bathroom unacceptable in a hotel of that calibre. The bedroom was pleasant, the food good, the staff helpful, but I will never stay there again.
DISABLED1

Room Tip: Check the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteDunoon, Owner at Dunoon, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
We felt we should respond to this review and give some background information. The guest travelled with Saga to the Dunoon Hotel in May. During this particular trip Saga brought 34 customers and over four months ago had requested two "accessible" rooms with walk-in showers for other guests. We were aware that the cuistomer who wrote this review had mobility issues only once we received the trip's rooming list a week before arrival and our two accessible rooms were already allocated to other Saga guests.
I personally took charge of this couple's check-in, made sure that they were in the largest available remaining room and took them to the room, explaining the facilities and checking that they were happy. We then heard no complaints about the room until this review.
Our "accessible" bathrooms are on a level with a lift, have walk-in showers with hand-held hose, one has turning space for a wheelchair, drop-down grab rails, raised toilet seat etc. Our other bathrooms are of varying sizes and every one is different.
Had we known earlier of the couple's mobility issues we might have suggested that our "regular" bathrooms might not be suitable and having arrived at the hotel, if we hade known of their dissatisfaction we would have every effort to find a more suitable room for them.
The Dunoon is very proud to be the destination hotel for Saga guests in Wales and we welcome customers with mobility issues every week of the season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.9 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunoon

Property: Dunoon
Address: Gloddaeth Street, Llandudno LL30 2DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunoon 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunoon Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing