We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel in the world”
Review of Dunoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunoon
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I've been to the Dunoon Hotel on about five different occasions now, and I thought I should finally write a review. I love the Dunoon Hotel, and I love it because I think it is everything a hotel should be. The service is excellent - the staff are attentive to your every need and incredibly friendly. The food is faultless - you need to go and taste it to believe it. All the ingredients are fresh and six courses are included in the standard half board rate, enough to full anyone. The food is always presented beautifully and feels like a top-end restaurant, which for the price is excellent value for money. The hotel also prides itself on its wine cellar - many wines are sold at cost price so you can get top quality wine without breaking the bank. The rooms aren't all identikit like many modern hotels but full of character. In fact the whole hotel has a kind of timeless character - oak panelled walls and antiques in the public areas, but in a way that doesn't seem dated, excellent service made to look easy rather than flustered. Yet mostly it's the little things that make it - such as the complimentary hot cross bun and tea on arrival at Easter, chocolates on your pillow before bed on the first night, occasional invitations to drinks with the owners. I think the big chains such as Marriott etc have a lot to learn from hotels like this. Long may it continue.

If you're the kind of person that prefers buffets to table service, likes music to be playing, and would rather find antiques and open fires in national trust houses, then this isn't for you. Yet if you want to appreciate the quality of a bygone area of hotels, then I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R71189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

having stayed once before we new what to expect & we were not disappointed as the special offer gave us the evening meal as well as the breakfast.
The food was a delight,could not fault it,i tried but failed,i think the only small fault as no background music in the bar & when there oare only two people in the bar it becomes rather dull.(i,ve had my moan)
I hope if we come back in May all the outside painting will have been finished(ha-ha)

Room Tip: we had room 4 in the front & on the first floor----very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lolharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel with our 3 year old daughter and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean, comfortable and warm, the hotel is welcoming and full of character a lovely fire in the lounge. The food was excellent and the staff went out if their way for us making warm milk for our daughter before bed and accomodating her needs with meals. The only comment i have is that the service in the dining room was slow at times but food worth waiting for. It was a lovely stay we will definetly return.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireMisty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Nice place very oldie worldy. food was good service was patchy, food waiter very good polite, warm and friendly, very efficient too wine waiter not so good. Reception prefer to answer the phone rather than dealing with the guest in front of them, not very customer friendly. Room was comfortable. Location is good parking easy, right in front of the hotel, also able to get to town centre and sea front

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerekKyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We went back to the Dunoon for a two night Winter Break. We both enjoyed very minute of our stay. The service was first class and the quality of the food seemed to be improved from our last visit and was certainly presented very well.

We are really pleased that the Dunoon seems to be doing well in a difficult economic climate, we'll be back again next year. Keep up the good work Rhys and Charlotte.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfandwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

A winter weekend in Wales was made even more enjoyable by our stay at the Dunoon. Lovely bedroom, lashings of hot water and fluffy towels. We had a superior room and it was worth the extra. Great wine list and good range of bottled local ales. Food was excellent and plentiful and service was good. The main lounge had an open fire and there were lots of games to borrow. Wish it was closer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craigie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We have stayed at the Dunoon several times in the past so it's like going home to return there! We took advantage of their offer for early Dec which was very good value for a 2 night break. As usual the food was excellent with plenty of choice, although the format of the menu had changed slightly since our last visit. The staff are very polite & helpful and when you step into the dining room it's like going back in time (in a good way!). After dinner we sat with our coffee in front of a roaring log fire - bliss! The bedroom & bathroom were very clean and bright and looked as if they had been recently decorated. This hotel oozes character & charm and yes, probably does appeal more to the older generation, but so what? We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Go for a superior room at the front if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbaraGeorgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
836 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunoon

Address: Gloddaeth Street, Llandudno LL30 2DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £111 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunoon 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunoon Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing