We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no hot water!!”
Review of Dunoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunoon
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2010

stayed at the Dunoon in March after a walking Snowdon and loOked forward to a hot bath. All the rooms on the 3rd floor had no hot water -luke warm at best. The hotel directory states that you need a PHD in mechanical engineering to sort out the hot water system -looks like they need to recruit someone with this qualifiacation!

Staff were very obliging but could not find another room with hot water. We were very dissapointed but the evening meal was good and the staff did try.
For the price we will not stay again- sorry Dunoon.

.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peawack_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteDunoon, Owner at Dunoon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2010

Just a note to let Trip Advisor users know that the problems with the water encountered by this reviewer (and another one below) have been now been addressed. Following a lengthy examination of the hot water system by an outside contractor, we identified several system design defects which were compromising delivery of hot water to seven rooms on the third floor. Without wishing to get too technical here, one of these defects resulted in a build-up of air in the system. This steadily reduced pressure until an airlock shut down all flow to these seven rooms. Happily, all problems are now resolved and hot water is flowing freely to the third floor again. Incidentally, we are in the process of overhauling our hot water and heating system to improve effectiveness and efficiency, with the final phase of investment complete this winter. Needless to say, none of this is any of help to the reviewer, who endured a less than perfect time with us, however it does mean that the problem (and chief source of their dissatisfaction with us) will not recur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2010

I have stayed at this Hotel on a number of occasions, the most recently for the Advent Weekend. It truly is a haven of charm, quirkiness, individuality and exceptional quality of food and service. If you want to use your laptop, get your ice from a machine in the corridor , want your bath to fill up within 2 minutes or need a breakfast at 7am, then this is not the Hotel for you.
If, however you want every query or request to be greeted with a smile and an absolute commitment to try to meet your need; if you want your bedroom to be scrupulously clean and individual in character, if you want a standard of food that is innovative yet traditional, sourced from local suppliers , if you want a wine list that is quite simply outstanding both for quality and value for money, if you want a haven from the bustle of day to day life, yet retain modern expectations of high service, then give this Hotel a try.
You should be aware that it is frequented, in the main by the retired. This adds to the enjoyment though as there is always someone to chat to, always a story to hear. Spending a few days with the older generation forces you sometimes to stop and slow down a bit - never a bad thing. The evening entertainment is an occasional pianist playing tunes from yesteryear so dont go expecting evening caberet. Thankfully, neither is there ever any Bingo, Elvis impressionists or karaoke !
I hope I have given a balanced view. The Dunoon is not a modern Business type Hotel with all the amenities that brings. It can however sit well in current times through its commitment to service, quality of food and of course that most magnificent wine list.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Opinionsubjective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

What can I say about this hotel? I stayed here for business and it was a flying visit. Arrived at about 9am, and departed by about 8am the next day. Guy at the front desk was pleasant. Room was a little small with two singles instead of a double. There was a fusty smell and the décor was fairly dated/traditional. Liked the Samsung flat screen and the sachets of Suchards hot chocolate. The bits of limescale floating in the water in the cheap, plastic kettle made me feel a bit sick. Mattresses were very soft (matter of preference). Bedroom and bathroom were a good temperature. Molton Brown shampoo and shower gel were a nice luxury but a bit out of context with the distinctly basic, but clean bathroom. One huge gripe was that the shower did not work. I turned the taps on full, and nothing happened. Only when I lifted the shower head off its hook and lowered it to about waist height did any water actually come out. Made for a preposterous showering experience and I would have complained had I not been leaving within 30 minutes. Room was paid for by my company but if it had been out of my own pocket I would have written requesting at least a partial refund because the shower was so unacceptable. Seemed like a friendly crowd of people staying in the hotel. Didn't get to eat there as breakfast didn't start until 8am. Location was good for us (near Venue Cymru for our summit). Llandudno seems to cater to the older generation with older tastes. If this is the best Llandudno has to offer I may be tempted to stay again but wouldn't rush back without doing some more research. That said, I wouldn't stay in Llandudno for pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeClay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Went with family for a half term break, Ages ranged from 14 - 84. The hotel was excellent, food superb and staff wonderful. Service was great - everything you would expect from such a good hotel. Lovely touches everywhere, Would definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindapolgara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

My wife and I recently spent a long weekend in the Dunoon Hotel celebrating our wedding anniversary, and I'm sure that we could not have chosen a better hotel in Llandudno.
All of the staff were extremely efficient, very well mannered and performed their allotted functions superbly well.
The meals in the Dining Room and the Bar-meals were splendid, all beautifully presented and more than very tasty. The selection available was more than adequate making the choice for meals a mouthwatering treat.
The rooms, though not modern, were always clean and tidy. The T.V. had the usual number of channels available. The Bathroom facilities and toiletries were second to none.
The hotel itself had an old world charm . Situated a couple of hundred metres from the front and even closer to the main shopping areas, it was as central as one would need to be. Car parking was not a problem. There was a parking area on the street to the front of the hotel, and an overflow car park at the rear of the hotel for the use of customers.
We had a wonderful time and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Stayed here to attend a family wedding in the area. Not sure what to expect as there are no recent reviews. We had a large, bright room with a comfortable four poster bed. Nice bright, clean decor. Tea making equipment, tv & a clock radio that worked (a first in my experience of hotel clock radios!). Our bathroom was equally spacious with a huge bath & a separate walk in shower. All the staff were friendly & helpful & the service excellent. Breakfast was very good. A range of fruit & cereals, followed by any combination of a 'full Welsh Breakfast' or kippers or smoked haddock, then toast etc. My only criticism is 'hotel toast' is a bit chewy but it arrived in a toast rack. Would I stay there again - certainly

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

well were to start !!! i have read alot of the reveiws for this hotel and i can sort of agree with most of them ! we can see why people love it but can also see why its not everyones cup of tea !This is what we found when we stayed for a couple of nights!! we are 30ish and we were the youngest couple there however that was great as we like nice friendly older people ha ha ha this hotel is for the more how would you say it ??? older genaration but it is a lovely hotel with great food and we found our room fine room number 4 the tv was small but we dont pay that kind of money to watch tv in our room when i go to a hotel so we didnt mind that !! the hotel is not a modern hotel with fancy lights and top gadgets however if you like a traditional hotel with a warm smile to greet you and your not there to "party" just a nice break away from the hussel and bussel of this busy world this is the hotel to book.

mr and mrs "liverpool"

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank chrisyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
841 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunoon

Address: Gloddaeth Street, Llandudno LL30 2DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £111 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunoon 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunoon Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing