We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We felt like we'd made new friends.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Risboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We felt like we'd made new friends.”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

From the moment we arrived at the Risboro the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Sorting out the keys, luggage etc for a coach load of tired travellers is never easy, but it was all dealt with using a smiling face.

We were given a very large family room on the second floor, which to be fair was rather worn, but at least in was clean and comfortable. The bedding and towels were spotless.
The towels were changed even when we thought we could have used them again. The hotel is going through a series of improvement, which, if what we saw so far is anything to go by, it will be one of the best hotels in LLandudno, if not the friendliest.

The meals were all excellent, with a good selection of choices to suit most people. Breakfasts were particularly good, setting you up for the day.

The lounge bar is bright and comfortable with a well stocked bar and a very cheery Barman Carlos, who gave us some good cooking tips!

The evening entertainment kept most toes tapping, even if not actually dancing, however the last night 'Party' was a total Wow. Mark, his family and the talented Kelly were terrrific, leaving everyone wishing the night could have been longer.

The hotel is ideally situated, being in a quiet street but within 5 minuted walk of the main resort and the sea front.
This hotel is truely a family affair, but just a couple need to be singled out for praise;- Carlos, the barman for his sense of humour and patience.
Marline the resturant manager, she did a great job, keeping everyone happy and well fed.
Dina the housekeeper, (and her team)who does a terrific job keeping the whole place spic and span.
Last but not least, Mark the manager, who topped the bill on the last night, with the most terrific legs we've ever seen!
LLandudno is one of our favourite Welsh resorts and we feel sure that although this was out first time at the Risboro, it won't be our last. We left feeling like we had made lots of new friends
Richard and Julia

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upgraded rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Juliaw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
At last someone who can see the things that we are doing here ! Thank you so much for your honest and true appraisal of The Risboro. We are working very hard to raise the profile of the hotel and its great that someone can see the improvements however small they may be. A very true and honest review written beautifully.

Our very best regards

Mark, Family and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    184
    73
    44
    88
See reviews for
97
179
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

If we had been given a basic ,clean,odour free room on arriving, this review would have been much better.I am not showing pics. as don't want to be malicious but did take them on arrival and showed other guests the room we were expected to sleep in.2nd room ok but flooded on the first flush of the toilet same night,around midnight.Carlos who is a great guy came to the rescue.We were moved to a third room the next day after speaking to reception although it hadn't been logged at that point.
We would not return to this hotel because of the room we were first given(83) and so pleased other people saw it too.Everyone should be entitled to clean,fresh accommodation.There may be nice rooms there ........but because of this, we may never travel with Glentons again.Driver was fabulous :0)

We book 5 day breaks 5 times a year nowadays and know cleanliness is the most important thing for us in all our hols and £500 has usually brought a reasonable 5 day break .We know it isn't home from home but ...............................We didn't allow it to spoil our hol though,great location, and the weather was fab too.:0)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PippaDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Manager at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
It would appear that you concerns regarding being malicious are misplaced, you made no reference to us that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room only that it was clod and on the second floor and you had requested that you be placed on the first floor. As for you toilet that flooded on the first night you also fail to mention that it was indeed YOU that pulled the toilet system of the wall not only flooding your room but also the dining room below your room and also the ballroom a floor below that, (causing over £700 worth of damage) . And while my staff struggled to get the torn piping isolated you could only lay on your bed suffering the after effects of your evening. It would be courteous to publish all the facts when posting a review that could damage my business and the livelihood of my family.

regards

Mark Chenery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This place is amazing value! The owners are so very friendly & the rooms & facilities are great! It was just a short walk into the main town & beach. I'd highly recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Many thanks for your review, we are please to here that you have enjoyed your stay with us and very much lookforward to seeing you again in the future.


Best Regards


Mark Chenery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My Husband and I stayed here on the 6th June 2011 for a five day break. We booked through National Holidays and the holiday was fantastic from start to finish. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The entertainment was good especially the last night which was so funny. A lot of effort was put into the last night and it did pay off. The food was excellent with a good choice each day, and plenty to eat. Room service was available and the tea/coffee was refilled on a daily basis. The bedrooms are in need of an update BUT this in no way spoilt our stay. The rooms are fit for purpose. We did not use the pool has the boiler was broken so the water was cold but it did look very nice.
We had a fantastic time and we would stay again. The owners and the staff all work very hard to make everyone's stay welcoming, comfortable and enjoyable and they did achieve this. Thank you to you all and we hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honeybunlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I would like to thank mark and chris and the boys for a great stay. I stayed at the hotal june 10th 2011, chris and mark took over this hotal 2010 and they are bringing the hotal up to a very good stanard still a lot to do but what they have done in such a short time is great.The hotel is clean and the hotel is very well presented, the food is good the rooms are nice and the ground floor of the hotel has been designed for comfort. I read some of the negative comments and to me they were silly. Please if you are looking for a good quality hotel then book in to the RISBORO.Thank you once again lads.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patclarke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards

Mark Chenery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We had reservations before going to the Risboro Hotel as we had read reviews that made the place sound like the house of horrors. We were however pleasantly suprised and the Risboro had a warm friendly atmosphere. Yes, there are parts of this hotel that are dated especially our bathroom ( which did have cracked tiles and an old bathroom suite ) but it was clean and i would say the hotel itself appeared clean and tidy.
Our room was a little on the small side however again it was clean had dated furniture but ok for our needs and lets face it for the time we actually spent in our room we had everything we required from refills of coffee and tea in our room each day, kettle etc etc. Also clean towels daily if you wanted them and a good system for staff cleaning the room daily if thats what you required. The bed was clean and comfy.
Staff appeared friendly and helpful and we had a very small problem on arrival that was dealt with straight away which we were very grateful for ( feathered pillow that i am allergic too ) The waiting on staff were polite and friendly and worked very very hard to make sure meals were served efficiently infact they worked so hard they ran in and out of the kitchen non stop throughout meal times so at times it all felt quite rushed.
The breakfast meal was nice plenty of choice of cereals and a full breakfast also juice and coffee at request. Good choice at evening meal with a variety, meat, fish, vegetarian options and salads. Personally, the meals didnt always suit my taste and were quite basic with small portions but that doesnt mean the food was poor everyone said they enjoyed the meals ( i am just a fussy eater and prefer fresh veggies etc rather than frozen )
The entertainment was good if your into that kind of thing ( aimed mainly at the older generation ) but thats not a critism the majority of people on our holiday were elderly and they all seemed to have alot of fun and enjoy it which was really nice to see. The last nights entertainment was hillarious! alot of fun and everyone had a fantastic suprise! thankyou for that.
Cant comment on the pool facilities as unfortunately the boiler had broken so the water was cold but from what we saw it looked ok again maybe in the future a bit of an update needed.
I think the risboro has alot of potential and if you decide to stay there keep an open mind as i do believe there is renovation work happening or going to happen.
We had a great holiday and would stay there again especially if the slightly run down areas are upgraded, this is not a critism we did infact feel the risboro was our home for 5 days and if it was as bad as some have said on their reviews believe me i would have walked straight out and stayed somewhere else which i didnt feel the need to do.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missgigglychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are grateful for you honest appraisal of our hotel. We agree with you that there are areas of the hotel that need attention and assure you that there is a full program of refurbishment in place, however, that program is one that has to be carefully executed around the commitments of the hotel to are future bookings as obviously in order to make any improvement we have to continue to trade and earn the monies needed to be spent. Its great that you have seen and understood the situation here at the Risboro and once again we thank you for your review.


Very best regards

Mark Chenery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

A lovely hotel but the indoor pool could do with a good thorough clean.

The broken lights are full of green gunk,there was also a thick layer of the stuff at the bottom of the pool near the drain and also used bits of tissue,some covered in what looked like poo at the bottom of the shallow end.Not very nice when you end up with some used tissue in your mouth when swimming. The windows were also covered in moss and I was constantly removing fake plant leaves from out of the pool.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Notahappyswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2011
I,m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to our pool, however i can assure you that the excrement that you seem to think that was floating around in are pool most certainly was no such thing , in fact our pool is checked regularly by environmental health and to date has not once failed its inspection. We would agree that the pool room is due for a refurb,but the colour of the walls and the age of the seating on the pool is of little concern if you are in fact swimming in the water rather than worrying about the decor. We also would like to point out that the stain that you mention in the deep end is a discolouration to the tiles brought on by the chemicals that are used to ensure that our pool is 100% safe to swim in at all times. It is unclear by your review if you were in fact a guest at the hotel or indeed just a local user of the pool but all our certificates of biological testing are available to anybody who would like to check them. It is a shame that you found tissue floating in the pool but surly it would have been better to mention it to reception who could have sorted it out straight away rather that complain anonymously on the internet where very little could be done to rectify your problem. As for the floating artificial plants that you found floating in the pool, these are a direct result of people abusing the rules and regulation of the pool and choosing to throw footballs and the like at the decorative plants that are in fact some 14 feet above the pool itself. Once again we are sorry to hear that your visit was not enjoyable, but i do wish that people would complain about any problems while using our facilities or staying at the hotel.


Regads

Mark Chenery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#52 of 60 in Llandudno
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Property: The Risboro Hotel
Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Risboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing