We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Risboro Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
US$330
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cae Mor Hotel(Llandudno)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Clontarf Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Queens Hotel(Llandudno)
US$116
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hen-Dy(Llandudno)
US$121
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tynedale Hotel(Llandudno)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
US$82
US$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merrion Hotel(Llandudno)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
231
219
85
51
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
231
219
85
51
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrag artistfun weekendball rooma family run hotelfemale singerexcellent entertainmentfirst classevening mealbuffet breakfastentertainment every nightsecond to noneweekend breakcouldn't do enoughbit datedtea or coffeeexcellent value for moneyfriendly hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
515 - 520 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Firstly id like to say that judging from the mixed reviews on this hotel, im sure that there are some very nice rooms......somewhere in this hotel?!
We booked the room for a friends wedding approx 8wks ago, or so we thought, we rang up a week before to clarify something and were told we were not even booked in, it was the same guy who had "booked" us in before, he said we deffo not booked in, but would now book us in, so the following day we rang again to check and we had yet again NOT been booked in, so my partner insisted on paying for the room this time! We did get a reduction on the room on checking out as an awful lot of guests had been let down by the same person!!
On arrival, the room was very dated, bedding was clean and nicely presented though, on closer inspection the room was rather dirty, terrible stains on the carpet, and the bathroom.....we had 2 tone suite from the 70s, extremely dated, but never the less functionable. In the hallways, there were random dirty matresses left proped against the wall, and against the lift doors, on checking out the roof terrace, we found a mouldy high chair blocking our route, tools,stacked chairs etc, outside there was a couple of upturned loungers, filthy and unuseable!
The pool area was disgusting, i cant even describe what was at the bottom of the pool around the grid area, looked like algae/moss!!! We were looking forward to a swim but gave it a wide birth!
We only ate breakfast at this hotel, buffet style, all you wanted, on the whole food was ok, vast selection from fresh prunes, cereal to full english and porridge, and at a very reasonable time (7.30-9.00).
Bar was great, tv area was great, plenty of seating and very light and airey!
The hotel is very well situated with ample parking at the rear!!

Room Tip: insist on paying when you book, ring early in day as bar staff answer at night and as he said "he is not a receptionist"!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loopyloll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We only stayed here because we were here for a wedding. The outside is peeling and unappealing, I would have been happy to turn around at that point.
The welcome from the young man checking us in wasn't warm, it wan't rude, but could have been better. The furniture in the longue/bar is mis matched with mis matched arm covers. The lift with graffti in and very old. The carpet through the corridor is mis matched.
The rooms. We weren't able to have a family room, so were given to singles opposite each other. The room I shared with my daughter was small, but functional. The dressing table draw was missing a bottom, the ceiling had a large water stain on it, the window was propt open by a pink flannel, other wise it wouldn't stay open, it was also mouldy around the edges.
The bathroom, was horrible, dispite the biege 40 year old suite, the sealant was black with mould, the shower pointed out, not down and couldn't be adjusted, so all the water went on the floor as the screen didn't do anything.
We were given 2 tiny towels, a hand towel and a mini hand towel - no proper bath towel, small bar of soap and a white plastic cup. No shampoo, no shower gel, no shower cap and the tiles were skummy and had not been cleaned in the corners for a long time. The shower screen was filthy and mouldy.
When I went to get an iron I was told there were no ironing boards but I could knock on number 83 and ask them, Sorry - that's their job to chase an ironing board for me.
My husbands room had 3 iron marks on the carpet, so I'm sure they would want to encourage ironing board use.
The room looked out over a courtyard, clearing near the kitchen as we could hear the extracter fan very clearly, so clearly infact that when it started up at 7.30am on the Sunday morning it woke my daughter, who can normally can sleep through an earth quake. I tried the pillow test on the pillows in the room - the one where you place your hand under the pillow and if the pillow flops down either side of your hand it should be thrown away because it is full of skin etc, one was limper than wet toilet paper
The bar wasn't open until 4pm on a Saturday and we weren't the only ones who were asking when it would be open.
The wedding buffet food was, dated as well - first time I have seen vol-au-vents in 15 years, but plenty of it.
We took a trip down to the swimming pool, squeezing past 3 mattress left out in the back corridor chairs and high chairs, this was the only way down to the pool, we didn't try the pool, we didn't have time, but it looked ok from the quick glance I saw.
I didn't see the roof terrace but I'm sure I wouldn't have been impressed.
Breakfast: The ceiling was water marked and bowing. Food was OK, service: waitress asked me how many for tea, I turned to ask my daughter if she would like one and the watress had walked off, but did bring tea.
When we came to check out the lady that served us was surly, she took my card and put it into the machine under the desk, out of my view - this should not be done, how do I know it wasn't put into a cloning machine first?????
I can't believe in this day and age that the website has not been updated since 2010 - it isn't difficult to do this. This hotel could be so much more, but it does need an awful lot of TLC to get it there.

Room Tip: Try another hotel?
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheMrsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

we stayed at this hotel for a wedding it was an appauling hotel ,very dirty stains on carpets,bedding ripped,beds very lumpy and dipped in middle.windows dirty and full of mold.
the worse was the eletic wirers hanging and and taped up with insolation tape.
when i came to switch light above mirror i got an eletric shock not nice at all.
there brouchure is very dated and misleading says 5 star hotel, as swimming pool which had been refurbished on seeing it ,it was filthy around the side of pool full of black marks,tissues,and at deepend u could see loads of grime/dirt at bottom. Also said on brochure roof top terrace and to be refurbed in 2010. if that had been done id eat my hat.
on goin into lift the lift was full ov grafetti on the doors.
went into dinning room for b/fast while standing in queue the ceiling was leaking with water i put a bowl under to catch the water,dripping right near the eletrics (health and safety issues)i would ov thought,also cutlery was dirty to. .spoke with owners about eletric shock and there responce was why didnt u come and tell us when it happened wot in my nighty at 2.30am in morning.
the owners like u to tell them if anythin was wrong but do not say sorry were not remorseful to the fact id had a shock there customer skills were terrible all they were interested in was getting there money.
i intend to take this matter further when i fined the right person.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

If you contact me directly I will gladly put you in touch with someone who can help you with your intentions to take the matter further. However, I am the owner who you claim to have spoken to, a,though I was not in he county on the morning you checked out let alone the hotel, but I do have the written report from my staff and another witness statement from a guest with regard to your appalling treatment of my receptionist . I'm please to hear that despite their friends the bride and groom enjoyed their wedding, are perfectly happy with the venue but not so please about their choice of friends. I have no idea what you have been reading but our Brochure says nothing about been 5 star in fact mentions no star rating what so ever, another fabrication! There was a leak in the dining room, which was caused by a child leaving a bathroom tap running in the room above the dining room while his parents "slept off" the night before. As for our swimming pool, we have and are happy to supply the weekly health Certs from Conwy Council to anyone wishing to view them.
With reference to your alleged electric shock, your informed my staff that you received a shock when turning the light on in the bathroom. Since my staff refused to reduce your already 40% reduced bill your "accident" appears to have changed location, furthermore , following your claim of electric shock all the hotel has been checked by a fully qualified electrician, the someone who was offered to you when you made your dubious claim and no fault can be found, but he does state in his report that a shock from a non conductive element is highly unluckily .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

food was great except for mustard mash staff were brilliant so friendly and helpfull bathrooms let the place done very old and not very clean must be 30 years old

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank special l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Just taken the 5 days I won at Xmas. So good we stayed for 8 days.... Hotel clean wholesome food the STAFF??? you will never find a better crowd wherever you go, they really cannot do enough for you. We are definitely going back for my birthday in August, the bar is pretty good as well!!!!!......We've certainly found a Jewel in the crown of fantastic Hoteliers. Thankyou Mark, Chris, Maz, Wils, Carlos, Rebecca, even little Oscar & his mummy. I must not forget Pat & 50year old Kathy???????? Love u All Sylvia & Pat... xxx

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews