We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Risboro Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently, and we couldnt have got a nicer reception, as a large family party of 18 we can be intimidating, but staff were courteous, friendly and couldnt do enough for us or the other guests that were staying at the hotel. A++++++++++Service.
The food was lovely and the beds were comfy,yes the rooms are basic but it is in an ideal location, close to the Pier and the shopping centre.
The pool is an added bonus to this hotel and the children and adults alike enjoyed this facility. There is no lifeguard on duty at any time but you are informed of this on arrival.
Mark and the staff are wonderful and havent been given the praise they deserve, in past comments, Mark also puts on an adult cabaret which you can either go to in the ballroom if not there is the lounge bar you can sit in.
We Will Be Returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Icemaiden10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I will pass your comments on to my staff team, i,m sure it will give them an always needed boost in moral. They thrive on being told that they are actually quite nice people as opposed to the monsters some people seem to think they are.


Very best Wishes


Mark Chenery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    183
    68
    42
    86
See reviews for
95
175
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Firstly, let me state that the people leaving negative feedback need to GET A GRIP!
It is easy to criticize on here especially if you haven't got the balls to do it in person. You pay for what you get!!! yes it is not the ritz but it IS very comfortable, welcoming and adequate. The service more than makes up for the decor. The comment about the receptionist hiding your card out of view with the possibility of cloning is laughable! obviously this party of people who have left negative feedback are feeding off each other and being the vindictive individuals they are - wanting to cause needless trouble for this hotel and staff. The negative leavers obviously have not highlight the positive points about this establishment.

We were a party of 19, food was wholesome (and plenty of it) our welcome was very hospitable, and rooms were spacious - some dated but still clean... had towels which was a bonus. Pool was clean (in fact we seen it getting cleaned) and very relaxing - kids had a great time, the whole hotel gave very relaxed atmosphere and the staff went over and beyond helpful, they were very personable and nothing was too much trouble - you would not get this in the ritz!.

I would prefer a hotel like this to spend its money on training its staff to be the most hospitable I have encountered, than on changing a lift door!!! This hotel is very old and lets be honest, it would take a lot of money to get it up to 5* luxury, but the mismatched bar furniture is actually quite endearing. Its the little touches that count like not being rushed out of our room, being allowed to check in early if the room was available and my elderly parents being allowed to stay for a brew after we had checked out. My niece was also upgraded Free Of Charge as it was her birthday. From the offset we were treated spectacularly.

Staying here made our break excellent and I would like to thank Mark and his staff, and would like to tell them not to be disheartened by criticizing cheapskates on here that complain just to get money knocked off without conviction, and who want to stir up trouble and put themselves on a pedestal by causing a scene to lovely staff so as to over inflate their already inflated ego!. WE WILL BE RETURNING!!!!!

Room Tip: honeymoon suite was nice, we also stayed on 2nd floor which was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thanks for your review, We very much appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing ALL of you again.

Regards


Mark Chenery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Was a great hotel for the family. Warm friendly staff. Comfortable bar and dining room. Pool was clean,warm and just the right size. Rooms were large, clean basic but what you would expect from a hotel built around that era. Will definately visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Its great to see you recognise us for what we are, and honest family run hotel who try to make everybody staying with us as welcome and as comfortable as is possible.

Best Wishes


Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congleton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

this is one of the hardest reviews ever ,because we are the bride and groom from congleton ,who chose the risboro hotel for our wedding .rather than argue we will tell you our views ,about 16 months ago we had a dream of getting married in llandudno ,as llandudno has everything ,we did look as several places before here we chose the risboro because it had everything we wanted ,a civil wedding licence a private function room ,when we first enquired we met up with a lady called marrilon maz for short?she was very polite well mannered ,certainly not rude or miserable and knew exactly what we wanted. the months flew by ,until the big day 2 June 2012,on our day the room they chose for us was perfect .the night time party was also spot on, food was perfect enough to feed a army we had about 60 guests . the rooms were good ,spacious ,breakfast was a help yourself buffet style again perfect in fact at the price they charged for rooms its hard to see how people complain.i have probably stayed in llandudno over a hundred times this hotel is one of the best. the swimming pool which we used was also better than our local council run pool which has endless amounts of taxpayers money thrown at it because councils are good at that .the frontage of the hotel is fine ,you can view pictures on my facebook. darrenmolloy ,all staff we dealt with were very polite and could not do enough for you.people seem to forget if you have a problem ???then ask as staff aren't mind readers would i use this hotel again the answer is most certinaly yes perfect stay with no problems with nice staff ,big thank you to mark, maz and all the staff involved for our big day especially the lovely risboro girls who we met in the Chinese restaurant the emperor and who could not forget the laugh that steph has got once again big thanks to mark and maz for making it possible darren and lucinda

Room Tip: if you looking for a wedding then take a look it will not disappoint you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank congylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Darren, many thanks for taking the tine to post your review. Its heart warming to find people that appreciate the hard work that has gone into making the improvements that have already been done and the ongoing improvement. We were very pleased to host your big day and as i know you have been told many times from all my staff we very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Very Best Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

I'm afraid I have to agree with many of the negative comments regarding this hotel. The decor is very outdated and fixtures and fittings are old and shabby. Carpets left lots to be desired, and were dangerously threadbare leading downstairs to the pool, where I encountered the 3 mattresses and chairs stacked up in the stairwell. If you want basic, that is what you'll get, but unfortunately the price doesn't match what is on offer. The unfriendly lady who checked me out also hid my card under the counter when taking payment. Not a smile. No conversation or "have a safe journey". What a shame, when the friendliness of the staff has been commented on so positively by others. I think the managers comments regarding the friends of the wedding couple referred to in other posts, is disgraceful, and disrespectful to the wedding couple. However, I think it speaks in volumes about the hotel in general and the attitude of the staff there. If you want basic, that is what you'll get, but unfortunately the price doesn't match what is on offer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Middlewich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

attended my best friend wedding this saturday as maid of honour found the staff to be so friendly all were running around doing as much as they could for the couple on there big day and were soo nice to me. My room was lovely slept like a log so not too sure by the other comments food an service was brilliant only had to ask an got what i wanted i didn't have any concerns. Will be goin back in july best weeknd in ages an from the bride she sends her love and thanks xxx

Emma Jenkins,

see u all soon :)

Room Tip: specify your requirements if you dont inform or ask how can they provide be more precise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank emma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I really liked this hotel the room were clean and tidy the STAFF couldn't done enough for you and they were every helpful with setting up for the wedding. The food was nice and when i next go away i am going to book myself into this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Property: The Risboro Hotel
Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing