We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic weekend”
Review of The Risboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic weekend”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

we have just returned from spending the weekend at the risboro one of the best ever it was the first time here but we would certainly go back staff very friendly and helpful food good everything was served hot and of good standard entertainment fantastic elvis tribute brillant and a good all round entertainer kelly on saturday sang a good variety and mark or if you prefer crystal well what can i say you are such a star you made the weekend for us you were born to be on the stage can not wait to come back to see more of your costumes we might even get you to dress as lady ga ga thanks to all concerned from margaret and her award winning dance group rooms 6;7;9;11;15;55 16/july 2012

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margieann1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I,m pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and we very much look forward to seeing you again. I will pass your remarks on to both Elvis and Kelly as a little appreciation never hurt anyone, i,m sure they will be chuffed to hear that they were so well received.

Very best wishes

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    193
    82
    46
    92
See reviews for
102
193
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Great breakfast but poor evening meals,the hotel is well dated in need of decoration, poor management skills as we had a dispute with the night management , there solution was to kick all our party out ,two days early ,that said I must say Carlos. You are a star.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BAZZA8469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Your claims regarding the management are absurd. ONE member of your party was asked to leave quite simply because of their foul disgusting language that coupled with their threatening physical attempts to undermine a member of my staff. The decision for the rest of your party to leave was indeed made by yourselves. Our action regarding this matter was fully supported by your tour operator. I wonder if the same language would have been used had your wives been present !!! i very much doubt it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The Risboro Hotel is the worst accommodation I have stayed it dose not seem to have had any sort of renovation since the early 70s when the blue bathroom suite with no shower was fitted into the bathroom of the room that we stayed in, there was no mat for the bathroom floor but any spilt water soon escaped through the holes and cracks in the floor covering. The lounge was in a terrible state of repair with wallpaper hanging of the ceilings and broken windows which were held together with sticky tape which I was told by coach party rep had been like that for 2 years. Now lets move on to the food which on the two occasions I braved was anything but enjoyable and the liver,bacon and sausage stew was inedible with no trace of liver or bacon so I was not quite sure what was on the plate but I have to add that the breakfast good but I was put off even eating this when I went through the back door and saw the broken soil pipe, open manhole and the used drain rods within close proximity of the open kitchen door and were there throughout our stay. None of this review is sour grapes and I have photographic evidence of all my claims against the environment of this hotel.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Its a shame you fail to mention that the broken soil pipe that caused you so much concern was in fact being worked on by conwy council and is no where near the room in which our food is prepared! There are 63 rooms within the hotel and your review points out that NO improvement has been made whet so ever. A completely false claim unless of course you were given access to the entire collection of hotel rooms which i very much doubt. As for you comments about the food during your stay, it is increasingly difficult to cater for all tastes but again you fail to mention that the hotel catered for 110 guests all arriving within 2 hours of each other and non of them having pre-ordered a meal. I would refer all readers to the reviews posted below by people staying at the hotel at the same time as you, as its clear that they did no have the same experience! As a coaching hotel we are constantly criticized by guests who pay very little and require more and more. I,m sorry that you stay with us was not to your taste, however i would suggest that in future you should try holidaying at the Ritz, but i,m sure you want find that will will get dinner bed and breakfast, entertainment 2 bars etc. for 27.50 per person per-night !!!!!!

Regards

Mark Chenery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very remiss of me, I return from a weekend away & always forget to report in. We have been visiting the Risboro on a semi regular basis for a few years now (Including the last two New Years Eve), in fact we are now on our third set of owners. The Risboro is a cheap & cheerful hotel, always has been, always will be. Some people expect 5star accomodation, meals & service for a 2star price, not realistic. We have always found the staff to be extremely helpful & prepared to go the extra mile for the patrons but you can't please everybody (particularly the professional whingers who are only happy when they have something to complain about.) Can't & wouldn't dream of criticizing the meals, they are always good size portions,well prepared. Upgrading is a work in progress & under Mark and his family the improvements have come on leaps & bounds over the last couple of years. Atmosphere & entertainment is first class at the Risboro particularly Orion as Elvis & Mark. Keep up the good work. See you all August bank holiday.
Bob & Janet, Warrington.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thesuccessfulfailure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We recently had a weekend stay at the Risboro and we had a great time. Ok, it's not the Ritz but we didn't pay Ritz prices! And yes, it may still be a llitle frayed round the edges but I undestand the family have only owned this hotel for about 3 years and are in the process of renovating but that takes time and lots and lots of money! The staff were great, all worked very hard. And if you are greeted without a huge smile at reception in the morning it well well be that the same staff had been up until 5am the night before ensuring the guests had a great stay. So spare a thought for them. The star of this hotel is the owner - Mark aka Crystal. How he does the act he does seven nights a week I'll never know - he is a gem. I wish Mark and his family every sucess for the future and will be returning soon

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessie819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thanks for posting your review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us. I will pass your comments on to my staff team who are always grateful to hear that they are being appreciated.

Best wishes

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just picked this weekend break out of the paper with no idea what we would find...We had a ball!!!
The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good, the entertainment was fantastic.
We were made to feel very welcome by everyone.
For the price you won't find better and we will certainly be back.
Many Thanks
The Boyles and The Southwells

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you to thee Risboro again in the future.

Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Just looking through some of the other reviews and "yes" the hotel is basic and is in need of updating but cheap and cheerful. The hotel was being painted during our stay and we were told by staff members that a modernisation programme was in place ... Rome wasn't built in a day! The rooms were comfy and serviced every day. What I would say to the negative commenters, and in the hotel's defence, was that food was good, ample and always a choice. There will always be fussy eaters but looking at the size of some of 'em, can't believe they're that fussy?! I saw, on plenty of occasions, changes of menus for these fussy eaters. Breakfast was buffet style with every taste catered for. The staff were marvellous. Nothing was too much trouble, excellent rapor (sp?) with all of the oldies. Saw, again on more than one occasion, staff members assisting or offering to assist with the needs of the elderley. I would recommend it wholeheartedly, mum had a fab time entertained by "Crystal Bawls" and haven't heard her laugh so much in ages, it was a tonic. Kind, warm hearted owners and staff alike. William was lovely (reminded me of my own son!). On an end note, I'm no lawyer but think the comments by "T S of Oxford" are libelous and am not in the least bit surprised his/her account is not accepting incoming messages :-) Julie, Jackie and mumsie, Elsie xxx

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltonmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunoon
Dunoon
#27 of 60 in Llandudno
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Property: The Risboro Hotel
Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Risboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing