We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”
Review of The Risboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
united kngdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“weekend away”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I have just had a weekend at the Risboro and to be honest I was really worried after reading the reviews.

Well what can I say??

Okay the hotel does need updating but to be honest I have stayed at several places in llandudno and they are all on the same theme, it is work in progress and I am sure it will be fab once complete.

Meals, they where fine and I feel it is a good idea to state what you want for dinner as you could be eating the same food for lunch and tea.

Staff, the staff are an asset to this hotel, lots of smiles and willing to listen to you, which is a POSITIVE, thanks to them, especially the lady who served us our meals this weekend table 19, we didnt get her name but she was lovely :-)

Pool area, my son enjoyed his swim, okay the decor is not perfect but the pool was clean and as stated it was nice and warm, he loved it thanks.

Room, we stayed in room 80 and it was clean and tidy, the only downfall was that it was at the back of the hotel and the kitchen area was below so when the kitchen was in use the fans where really loud, but as it was not to late when they stopped it was fine.

Evening entertainment, I did not go and see any entertainment as I was with my 14 year old son and was unsure if he would be allowed into the room, but to be honest what I heard from the lounge, it sounded lots of fun.

Would we visit again??? Off course we would, the hotel is in a fab location and the staff are amazing.

Cost, I feel that you are doing yourselves an injustice, I paid £140 for 2 nights for 2 people for, bed, breakfast and a 3 course evening meal. I have paid £130 for just bed and breakfast for the 2 nights and the staff and breakfast was awful and it was a hike to the beach.

Comment from my 14 year old son - he loved your animals and asked when do you think the eggs will hatch in the incubator????

Good luck with your renovations, your hotel is beautiful. We will visit again :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Many thanks for posting a review. Its good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

best regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    189
    81
    45
    89
See reviews for
102
189
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Arriving with my son, we stayed here for 3 nights. Great room, very clean and tidy and very polite and helpful staff. The evening meals were dissapointing following the returning of the main courses as we felt they wern't cooked correctly. The manager responded immediately with apology and no charge was made against the meal. We opted to eat out that night and he even reccomended a great local restaurant. Great response to the situation. The Breakfast each morning was very good and so was the choice of beverages available from the bar in the evenings. The hotel benefits from a leisure complex which along with the exterior decor of the hotel seemed to be the establishments only let down, after all appearence is everything as they say. The Swimming pool was lacking a hygenic footwash upon entry and the life ring that was on the floor in the corner was full of water and barely floated let alone offered any safety. The pool whilst clean in terms of water was in need of some TLC and a good deal of regenoration, but nothing that couldnt be addressed quite easily. The Sauna however seemed to just used for storage.

The hotel did benefit from coach trips thus making this a busy establishment, I did feel guests paying standard rates should have been looked after a touch better than the coach trips which are of course subsidised on numbers. This aside it was a pleasant stay and I would return as there has been a noticable improvement to this hotel simnce the new owners took over in recent years.

Advice to the hotel would be to Improve the leisure complex, make it more family safe and cleaner.

Get rid of the buckets with sand at the entrance where hundreds of cigarette stumps were every night and without being emptied. (Bar staff should also be behind the bar, not outside smoking with the rest!) Horrible sight and smell upon arrival at the main doors and not nice to walk through a smioking area on arrival. First impression again!

The front appearence, rendor and paint needing touch up.

Look after your independent guests a touch more than the budget trips, they are paying more for the same service effectively.

Final summary of the Risboro - On its way up if they address the small things. Definately getting better and despite the small issues raised above, a good stay on the whole. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious, comfy beds and nice and clean. Lift to all floors and entertainment most evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I,m sorry to hear that our meals were not to your tatse, but pleased to hear that you were happy with our response to your problem.

There is a constant refurb program going on within the hotel, but we like the rest of the country are always wishing we had more money to address things quicker.

I have taken on board your comments with regards to smokers, it is unfortunate that they have to smoke outside the hotel, a measure forced upon them by our government and not through their own choice. I have looked at the choices of area for people to smoke and pushing them to travel down the stairs to the back of the hotel seems unfair, they are no lesser people because they smoke and i think being forced to go outside is bad enough.

The front of the building is due to be repainted this year, as it was last year, a draw back from living so close to the sea and the Irish sea at that.

We hope that you will visit again and look forward to seeing you.

Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel is amazing the staff is very friendly and kind. They have a great swimming pool ... Its a really great place to stay in Llandudno. the hotel ia just off the town centre. But you can see the Cable Cars coming up and down by the hoilday. But as I say the staff and really friendly and make you stay great. Keep up the great work guys.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielWatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Came as a family of four (with 2 young children). Found hotel very clean & friendly. The decor needed a lot of updating, but it's the same everywhere in llandudno (so I've heard). Entertainment wasn't upto much for younger people but suited older. The furniture is very mis matched but not a real problem as it was clean. The food was good & great value for money. Pool was spotless & lovely & warm. the bath in the room had no plug & the water wasnt hot just Luke warm. Bedroom furniture & decor was very
Outdated especially the tv. Overall a good hotel which needs a lot of updating - but would return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kawest792002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just returned from a fabulous weekend break @ Risboro Hotel Llamdudno. excellent value , excellent staff.... excellent food . would not hesitate to book again if I were to travel up North. I have stayed in many hotels and yes! they may have been more luxurious than the Risboro. But I also had to pay a lot more for that Luxury.
our room was spotless and staff were helpful .
I will be back !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbaraRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Hotel location is good, staff are friendly and helpful. But, some of the rooms need an update. No shower in our room apart from one of the 'on tap shower sprays' is just not good enough for a modern hotel! We were golfing all day and having no shower was poor. Surely, getting a plumber to fit a mixer tap wouldn't be too much of an issue or cost

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supersixfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We have just returned from a five day mid week stay,it was very nice nithing was too much trouble for the staff,the food was very nice admitted the decor needs updating but the attention we received totally outweighed the decor.Would reccomend the hotel to anyone .

Room Tip: make sure you ask if there will be any steps to your room if you have difficulty with walking altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
819 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunoon
Dunoon
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#55 of 60 in Llandudno
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Property: The Risboro Hotel
Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Risboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing