We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“trip on the snowdon train” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Risboro Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
gwent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“trip on the snowdon train”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We booked the trip with leasuretime because of the trip up snowdon, we had never visited the risboro hotel before so i decided to read trip advisor and found that 99.9% of the reviews were correct!! very good hotel enjoyed the stay (all i can say to the negative reviews if you book the hilton you pay the hilton prices? you dont pay the risboro prices and still think you can get the hilton standards) you get what you pay for in the risboro and it is very good, yes if i was going to llandudno again i would book the risboro and i shall tell my friends to book their if they are up that way. idwal and gill clements

Room Tip: room 55 but this is a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welshyGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    182
    68
    42
    85
See reviews for
94
175
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

A party of 8 have just returned from a weekend at The Risboro Hotel. We had a wonderful time, staff were so polite and helpful, the rooms were kept lovely and clean, and the swimming pool was to die for. The food was very good quality and cooked to perfection. This hotel is just up the road from the promenade, excellent location. Well Done Risboro.

Room Tip: We all stayed in rooms 62(single) Rooms 62, 66, 70 Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montydo559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

i agree with some reviews about the smokers on the front steps,but it did not put me off what really annoyed me was the private party in the ballroom on the Saturday evening and the poor girl trying to entertain the hotel guest in the dining room and having to keep turning up her sound system up so we could hear her and not the disco going on below, we gave it up and went for a walk round Llandudno got back and went to bed only to be kept awake by the private party but up to Sat dinner(evening) we were having a good time, Mark you really should not have private parties when you have a hotel full of paying guests, as for the meals and rooms they were ok for the money we paid though Uk Breakaways we were there August 17/19 2012 would go again i think ?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186411June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

had another great weekend had my wife & daughter and her husband who were first timers and when with karen [ motor gob ] and her crowd kelly was good entertainment on the saturday night but could not get a seat for marks act on the friday night no room for are party left it to late to get downstairs but sat up in lounge with friends and had a good natter love the breakfast help your self put some wieght on keep up the good work mark & family

Room Tip: get there before the coachs do as its pandamonium getting sorted out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankbootle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kngdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I have just had a weekend at the Risboro and to be honest I was really worried after reading the reviews.

Well what can I say??

Okay the hotel does need updating but to be honest I have stayed at several places in llandudno and they are all on the same theme, it is work in progress and I am sure it will be fab once complete.

Meals, they where fine and I feel it is a good idea to state what you want for dinner as you could be eating the same food for lunch and tea.

Staff, the staff are an asset to this hotel, lots of smiles and willing to listen to you, which is a POSITIVE, thanks to them, especially the lady who served us our meals this weekend table 19, we didnt get her name but she was lovely :-)

Pool area, my son enjoyed his swim, okay the decor is not perfect but the pool was clean and as stated it was nice and warm, he loved it thanks.

Room, we stayed in room 80 and it was clean and tidy, the only downfall was that it was at the back of the hotel and the kitchen area was below so when the kitchen was in use the fans where really loud, but as it was not to late when they stopped it was fine.

Evening entertainment, I did not go and see any entertainment as I was with my 14 year old son and was unsure if he would be allowed into the room, but to be honest what I heard from the lounge, it sounded lots of fun.

Would we visit again??? Off course we would, the hotel is in a fab location and the staff are amazing.

Cost, I feel that you are doing yourselves an injustice, I paid £140 for 2 nights for 2 people for, bed, breakfast and a 3 course evening meal. I have paid £130 for just bed and breakfast for the 2 nights and the staff and breakfast was awful and it was a hike to the beach.

Comment from my 14 year old son - he loved your animals and asked when do you think the eggs will hatch in the incubator????

Good luck with your renovations, your hotel is beautiful. We will visit again :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Many thanks for posting a review. Its good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

best regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Arriving with my son, we stayed here for 3 nights. Great room, very clean and tidy and very polite and helpful staff. The evening meals were dissapointing following the returning of the main courses as we felt they wern't cooked correctly. The manager responded immediately with apology and no charge was made against the meal. We opted to eat out that night and he even reccomended a great local restaurant. Great response to the situation. The Breakfast each morning was very good and so was the choice of beverages available from the bar in the evenings. The hotel benefits from a leisure complex which along with the exterior decor of the hotel seemed to be the establishments only let down, after all appearence is everything as they say. The Swimming pool was lacking a hygenic footwash upon entry and the life ring that was on the floor in the corner was full of water and barely floated let alone offered any safety. The pool whilst clean in terms of water was in need of some TLC and a good deal of regenoration, but nothing that couldnt be addressed quite easily. The Sauna however seemed to just used for storage.

The hotel did benefit from coach trips thus making this a busy establishment, I did feel guests paying standard rates should have been looked after a touch better than the coach trips which are of course subsidised on numbers. This aside it was a pleasant stay and I would return as there has been a noticable improvement to this hotel simnce the new owners took over in recent years.

Advice to the hotel would be to Improve the leisure complex, make it more family safe and cleaner.

Get rid of the buckets with sand at the entrance where hundreds of cigarette stumps were every night and without being emptied. (Bar staff should also be behind the bar, not outside smoking with the rest!) Horrible sight and smell upon arrival at the main doors and not nice to walk through a smioking area on arrival. First impression again!

The front appearence, rendor and paint needing touch up.

Look after your independent guests a touch more than the budget trips, they are paying more for the same service effectively.

Final summary of the Risboro - On its way up if they address the small things. Definately getting better and despite the small issues raised above, a good stay on the whole. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious, comfy beds and nice and clean. Lift to all floors and entertainment most evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I,m sorry to hear that our meals were not to your tatse, but pleased to hear that you were happy with our response to your problem.

There is a constant refurb program going on within the hotel, but we like the rest of the country are always wishing we had more money to address things quicker.

I have taken on board your comments with regards to smokers, it is unfortunate that they have to smoke outside the hotel, a measure forced upon them by our government and not through their own choice. I have looked at the choices of area for people to smoke and pushing them to travel down the stairs to the back of the hotel seems unfair, they are no lesser people because they smoke and i think being forced to go outside is bad enough.

The front of the building is due to be repainted this year, as it was last year, a draw back from living so close to the sea and the Irish sea at that.

We hope that you will visit again and look forward to seeing you.

Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel is amazing the staff is very friendly and kind. They have a great swimming pool ... Its a really great place to stay in Llandudno. the hotel ia just off the town centre. But you can see the Cable Cars coming up and down by the hoilday. But as I say the staff and really friendly and make you stay great. Keep up the great work guys.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielWatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Property: The Risboro Hotel
Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing