We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and Friendly Staff”
Review of The Risboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Helpful and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

All the staff were very accomodating and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our daughter is a fussy eater, and the kitchen staff were lovely - making her what she wanted every night without any hassle. The parts of the hotel which have been refurbished are very nice and the other parts, I believe are being re-done on an ongoing process. The entertainment was very good and the in house singer was brilliant! We would like to wish the Risboro every success for the future.

Room Tip: Number 50!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank FranceFamily227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    193
    82
    46
    91
See reviews for
102
192
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Very disappointed! Rooms not clean. Squeaky floorboards so bad that everytime someone took step in room or landing meant it was quite noisy and irritating especially when trying to sleep. Had to buy pillows in local shops as i never seen pillows quite so flat. Very dated decor and furniture. Broken window in room. Carpets sticky and Food not great either. Other rooms the same having spoken to other guests. Pictures do not reflect our room. Shower broken. Tiles off the walls. Toilets sounded like a tractor starting up when flushed. Toilets in dining area were not clean either. Overall has to be the worst hotel ever stayed in. Really cannot believe the excellent reviews given or their rooms must be quite different to what we were given. Fawlty towers comes to mind.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Advice20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Your comments do not reflect the rest of the party you stayed with on your weekend stay with us, full of inaccurate comments, I,m sure you have stayed in far more luxurious hotels but then i,m also sure you did not pay £27.00 per night for a DINNER BED AND BREAKFAST! Your claims that the hotel is not clean are once again outrageous, and as for the squeaky floorboards this is something that comes with a 200 year old building as opposed to a paper and wood structure like the usual chain hotels which i would point out charge well over what you paid for room only ! As i always say, what a shame you choose anonymously to attack my business and home on the internet rather than voicing any issues while staying at the hotel!
I wish you well with your future holidaying and suggest you try 5 star accommodation if you require a higher standard, however you will need a considerably larger purse.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
rossendale
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

stayed on weekend break through newspaper ad.entrance via back door of hotel ,old matress outside ,very grubby entrance.No heating in the bedroom till the evening ,none in the morningsNo heating in the lounge .Food ok staff ok .Shower was red hot or red hot no .cold water coming through.Looked on line before we booked and the real thing was totally different.The entertainment wasnt everybodys cup of tea. Crystal Ball would be a bit ott for some,lady singer was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank triptales123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Had a great time at the Risboro this weekend with my hubby and our friends! Food great, hotel welcoming and staff were really friendly! Enjoyed 'Elvis' on friday and were entertained by Mark and the 'Singing Plasterer' on Saturday. They were really good singers yet didn't mind letting my husband get up and do a song either! Only downside...would have loved to meet Crystal but unfortunately she had been 'boxed' in for the evening! Even a rowdy wedding downstairs didn't ruin a really top weekend. Will definitely be returning soon!
Mandy [Salford!] x

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amanda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This was our first visit to the Risboro but it will not be our last, first impressions were good, a busy place and friendly staff we stayed two nights and would have had longer if we had known how friendly it really was and the food for us was first class with very helpful waiter (from Spain)
We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boater70Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Every return visit reveals steady improvement. This August Bank Holiday visit the breakfast had been turned into a self-service affair, improving the thru' flow for a quicker turnround. A new entertainer Mike 'skunk' improves the already excellent entertainment. Even the reception area has new attractions. Two African Grey parrots although one was feeling miffed after a trip to the vets for a wing clip. Mark & family continue to up the standard, even our room had been upgraded since our last visit. Keep up the good work, the improving rating proves that your efforts are beginning to appreciated.

Bob & Janet. (Warrington). (Barefoot Bob)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thesuccessfulfailure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

there were 39 of us from middlesbrough also there were 2 other busses there as well we had a brill time there the enteranment was first class food ok apart from fridays the meat was tough rooms clean staff second to none bed was abit to soft for me but after my fill at the bar who cares great singer who also is the odd job man tho in my apinion he should be on stage

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 23oscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
829 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunoon
Dunoon
#27 of 60 in Llandudno
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Property: The Risboro Hotel
Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Risboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing