We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2013 New Year Visit” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Risboro Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“2013 New Year Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Location good. The hotel has a large lounge area and dining area. The food was ok, breakfasts very good, evening meals less so, tinned fruit and frozen veg. The service was very good from the staff and they were friendly. The ballroom area below the restaurant was great, and the first night the entertainment was really good, but New Years Eve and New Years day did not match it so I wouldn't recommend it for your New Years celebrations, it was a bit flat, people wanted to party and dance, but the music was the wrong choice for a celebration, too many ballads and an Elvis impersonator. We were not told of the "Masked Ball" or "Fancy Dress" before we came. There is a communication problem with the hotel and its tour operators which needs addressing. The Spa is closed November to March 2013- take note if you have booked. The staff told us tour operators were advised in October - we were not told and I cannot see where the Risboro have advised guests on their website either. Our party's four bedrooms rooms were mixed. One had a smell about it and one in particular (room 28) was extremely poor, small with three beds crammed it, tiny bathroom with badly cracked sink and tiles missing off the wall next to the toilet. Two others were fine, they were the newer ones and were completely different. The hotel was full at New Year. If you get a room that has been refurbished, they are fine, my advice first is to check before you book with the hotel. I wasn't impressed with the cheap plastic cups provided as drinking glasses in the rooms, never seen that before. Had we paid for a cheap 3 day break we would not have expected luxury but this was a New Years special at over £300 each, and the lack of facilities, quality of some of the rooms and dreary new years entertainment made it a disappointment. If you go main season with the sun shining and a better room, go bed and breakfast and you can have a lovely time. What was very strange were the two parrots by reception and lizards in glass boxes in the lounge areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    182
    68
    42
    85
See reviews for
95
175
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Just returned from a coach trip to the risboro, our room was very small, the bathroom door was very hard to open, the tv was very poor and needs updating, heating was fine, bed ok, the window had to be held shut with a beer mat otherwise was banging all night, the hotel was very tired and in need of updating, food ok entertainment was good, very annoying and ignorant young man behind the bar on New Year's Eve. Extraordinary that in the lounge we were looking at tanks with lizards in them and 2 big cages with parrots in the reception not very hygenic at all, will not be going back

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Having recently returned home from a 4 day stay at the Risboro and for me and my husband our first time in Llandudno (booked through Travelstyle ) our opinions are that the hotel was in a quite good position not too far from the seafront. The room was quite comfortable and warm. There was a good choice of food and buffet breakfast. The entertainment was quite good. The waiters were very obliging and if you needed anything you only had to ask. Parts of the hotel needed a bit of updating and i believe they are in the process of doing that as they only took over the hotel in 2010. Would definitly stay there again. My answer to the people who insist on negative comments all the time is if you want 5 star luxury then you have to pay 5 star money. For what we paid i dont think there was much to moan about.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camper5nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

After seeing the reviews for this hotel l was a little apprehensive about staying there, l am very pleased to say the central heating was on full, the rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was fantastic,and the entertainment fabulous Sparkle Lee Hartree and Mark were gr8. Oh and the staff could not do enough for us. Will defo be returning

Room Tip: We stayed in room 67 with veiws of the great Orme
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Have just returned from this hotel, my husband and I were part of a coach party who spent 5 days at the Risboro. I cannot believe on reading the reviews that we were in the same hotel. We were in a room on the first floor and the window catches were either broken or missing, the bath panel was hanging off , we asked several times to have something done about it and were told they would see to it when B&Q were open. The bedroom window had one catch missing and the bathroom had no catches at all and was pulled together with what looked like draught excluder.The central heating in this hotel is switched off and 9.30 and dose not come back on until 3.30. My husband who is getting over a recent heart attach was so cold and when I complained we were offered a heater. Im sure in this weather central heating should not be rationed. This hotel mainly cater for coach parties of seniors and to expect them to be satisfied with no heating is just not on. The food was not too bad and the male waiting staff were very polite.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
What utter nonsense ! Our heating system comes on at 6.30 every morning and then switches between a timer throughout the day until 1130 at night. When you complained that you still felt cold you were offered a heater to enable you to control the temperature in your room yourself. Very little else could be done to help you in that respect. Of the 93 guests in the hotel at the time of your stay . you were the only guests complaining about not being warm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, cheshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have just returned today from a 3 day last minute break, whilst we did our Christmas shopping, without our family. We arrived at the hotel just after 4pm, we were handed the key to our room, it was a family room, very big and the bedding was spotless, so were the towels. The water was hot and our evening meal was great. There was entertainment on, but we stayed in the lounge and chilled watching telly. The following day our son rang to say they was visiting us for lunch, they ended up staying and they had the same type of room right opposite ours, our grandson age 3 thought it was great walking back and to, to visit us. They could not have been more helpful and the atmosphere was very friendly and they also have an hairdressers on site who accomadated me as I can never find the time, that was first class to. I will travel every 6 weeks to have my hair done now and probably stay over if they can fit us in. It's is exactly what it says it is - home from home, well done to all the staff. My grandson can't wait to come back and see rocky (the parrot). Good value for the price you pay.

Room Tip: All rooms are adequate, Don't expect it to be a 5* or you will be dissapointed, but it is friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoloWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Thanks to Mark,Marilyn,Mike et al for last weekend(23-26 Nov 2012) no complaints,we will definately be back next year!! All was fantastic! Rooms,food,service and especially the staff were brilliant,many thanks from the Buxton crew

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Property: The Risboro Hotel
Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing