We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend.”
Review of The Risboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a brilliant weekend we had a this hotel, food was home cooked, staff was so pleasant and helpful, entertainment was the best ever crystal you made our night never loffed so much looking forward to coming again next year on the ladies weekend. Would highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends once again thank you all. X

Room Tip: Our room was 172 no noise from entertainment, twin beds plus shower very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joan415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    186
    77
    44
    89
See reviews for
96
183
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandiacre, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Best entertainment we have had in last 5 years. Crystal was amazing and the singer was excellent too..Hotel not the plush Ritz but neither are the prices.....we were in room 16...it was very warm, clean no double bed but we pushed the 2 singles together... the shower was hot and there was tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and TV in the room too..The food was hot and lovely, well presented and the staff were so efficient at their jobs and nothing was too much trouble even though they were busy with 104 of us altogether but they served everyone as we sat down... this should be commended not overlooked ....its ideally situated as everything was in 5 minutes reach. We enjoyed it that much we have booked our ladies weekend at the Risboro for next year. We had that much fun we were only in our room about 4 hours to sleep what more do you want. Well done Mark and Gang...cant wait for our ladies weekend next October.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaroleR1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierley Hill, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just got back from our annual weekend, had a fab time with family and friends (106 of us in total)
Hotel very comfortable and clean, Staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Entertainment excellent and bar selection and offers of drinks during our stay. If you thinking of taking a group away this is the place to go. I am taking a group of ladies there on our annual ladies weekend next October as I know we will enjoy it 100%. Jenny Wallace (west midlands) group organiser with the help of my friends.

Room Tip: as long as beds are clean any room will do for me it all depends on every individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stopped at the risboro hotel never again bedroom dirty bathroom holes in the wall. Cobwebs in the corners bathroom taps all mouldy food very poor never had a hot meal fried eggs in the mornings yolks solid bacon half cooked fried bread. Hacksaw needed Windows filthy needs a good clean the hotel smells of age

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The only good thing about the hotel was the selection of food in the evening ...the room i had was cold and very tired looking the pillows on the bed well lets say what pillows i have thrown away better ones at home and the bathroom the toilet brush was dirty the flooring was coming away and was a lovely pink bath and toilet with the basin in the bedroom i was very disappointed with how much i paid as i could have gone down the road and paid a little more for a better hotel do not be fooled by the hotel photos as none of the rooms look like this

Room Tip: Do not choose room 57 bathroom was awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank allie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel is family owned and most definitely a work in progress so no, it's not up to the standard of a large chain hotel with wads of cash to throw in to a total refurb ..... but for me that sort of added (in some strange way) to the enjoyment of this hotel. Our bedroom was somewhat out-dated but it was nice and spotlessly clean so no complaints there. Staff were friendly and keen to please, food was basic but always nice and pipping hot so again no complaints.The Risboro is well placed for walking round Llandudno so location gets a thumbs up as well.

The entertainment - well this is where the hotel family come in to their own. What a seriously talented lot. They really make an effort for you to join in and have FUN ... and as for the hotels resident entertainment Queen, Crystal ...... well he/she had us in stitches with the Amy Winehouse routine plus Mark and the troupe really know how to sing and entertain.

The hotel was busy with the owners Hereford mob (yes, you know who you are lol). They took over the place with loud music, singing, pizza deliveries and X Factor watching ..... but who were also just BRILLIANT company, very friendly and who added to the relaxed family atmosphere of The Risboro.

This hotel had a wacky charm all of its own and we had a really brilliant, fun-filled few nights here. Don't be put off by the reviews, just arrive at this hotel with your sensible head on in that The Risboro doesn't pretend to be a chic boutique hotel and you can see for yourself that improvements are going on around you. Stick your fun head on for the evenings, go with the flow and you'll enjoy your stay enormously.

Mark and co ..... thanks for a good party weekend. Brilliant fun x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WelshFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

It was very disappointing , the rooms were not ready on our arrival and then once we checked in after we went else where for a drink as their bar was closed !!the room was very very tired and to top it not that clean !! When we asked for the room to be serviced to a decent standard the member of staff was extremely rude which was also extremely disappointing .The food was for what we paid ok the waiting staff were good.The entertainment was very poor. Would I stay here again NO.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nannaalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Property: The Risboro Hotel
Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Risboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing