We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Twixmas break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Risboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #45 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Twixmas break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

A great " Twixmas" break ! Just got back from a fabulous few days visit to Llandudno... a jewel in the Welsh crown. Our trip with Interchoice coach holidays was worth every penny.The hotel was a little "tired" in places but the lounges were extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated forChristmas/new year. The meals supplied were vedy good and plentiful and presented in a very clean and pleasant dining room. The beds were very comfortable. The Hotel Staff both extremely helpful and friendly. My first visit to this part of the UK but not my last. Hopefully we will return to this Hotel at some future date ...... can' wait !! Enjoyed our "charabanc" trip around the GreatOrme with John our driver/guide who was very informative and a really nice fellow. The tour on a 1958 Leyland tiger cub coach lasts approx 1hour and leaves from a spot very near the Pier. Well worth the £6 pp charge.... highly recommended. The entertainment in the Hotel was supplied by a duo consisting of male singer and drag artist was excellent...male singer had a good voice and very professional . The drag artist very funny without being crude.. thoroughly enjoyable. However the entertainer who provided the 'Elvis tribute' was self obsessed and absolutely dire.... could not sing, had a truly awful fake american accent and no personality or entertainment value at all.... and rude to his audience. I hope this Hotel listens to their guests and gives this "entertainer" the big e !!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 26. 1 double and 1 single beds. Next to the lift which was very convenient. Little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    184
    73
    44
    88
See reviews for
96
179
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We went on the 27th December for a Christmas 3 day break. Well there are positives and negativities regarding this hotel. This was to be a three day spa holiday which I booked in June, and so looking forward to it. First the hotel lied about the swimming pool being open, I had a phone conversation enquiring about the pool being open, they confirmed it would be. However to much disappointment it was not open and the reception lady could not understand why I was told it would be. The reception lady did try to get us into another hotel so that we could use there pool facilities but their pools were also shut. Secondly, yet another negative, after the pool situation had been uncovered the hotel had given us room 28. Now I am not one to complain but I could kick my self now I am at home, yes it is an horrendous room and If I had a dog I would not let it stay in there the bad review's are correct so don't get court out with this room it is filthy. For some strange reason the cleaners did not take away our dirty beer glasses from the night before and they also never gave us clean tea cups we had to wash them ourselves. HOWEVER the positive's are that the dining experience was amazing, the staff were just fantastic, the food was gorgeous and very hot and there was a good choice to choose from, The bar staff were brill and always remembered your drinks, they even offered to carry them to your table for you. The waiters were always chatty and polite, they told us loads of info and just good general chit chat. The ball room down stairs is brilliant, really well set up. The entertainment was good but that depends on your own taste, there is another room in which you can sit if you don't like the entertainment team. Over all - great food, service, entertainment, warm rooms and warm atmosphere such a great shame that our room let the overall stay and experience not to our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jhine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Had a great 5 day coach trip at the Risboro Hotel. Hotel staff are all excellent, very friendly and helpful. Both rooms allocated to our family were very good. We were in Room 7 which had a double and a single bed but was well laid out so that there was plenty of room to move around. Our bathroom was small with just room for a small shower cubicle, a toilet and handbasin. Showering in the morning meant you had to run the shower for several minutes but when the hot water came through there was plenty of it. The rooms were very warm, we even had to turn down the radiator in the bedroom. The bedding and towels were all white and spotlessly clean. The other family members were in Room 55 which had a double and two single beds but again had plenty of room.

Food in the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was self service and there was plenty of choice and all good quality. Evening meals were 3 course. The soups were all home-made and delicious. Main meals were served ready plated but the food was good and hot. The waiting staff were were quick and pleasant.

The hotel is in a very good location, on a quiet street but very close to the town center, the beaches and the Great Orme. There is a very nice 'Wetherspoons' pub about 200 yards away which is well worth a visit as it's in the old 'Palladium'.

The Lounge Bar in the hotel is a nice, comy seating area but the bar downstairs in the Ballroom has a much better selection of drinks, including Strongbow, Wrexham Lager and Brains Dark Beer. We only saw one nights entertainment but that was very good - Mike was an excellent singer and what can you say about 'Crystal Bawls' apart from Brilliant!!! She/he had us in stitches with nothing rude or crude in the act.

This is a family run hotel with friendly staff and is in the process of being developed, it's a 'work-in-progress' and I can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonksP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Booked this hotel for Turkey and Tinsel with another couple. Booked by phone and explained my partner was disabled and would need to bring electric scooter was told it was fine and was told they would give us a disabled room. On arrival there was no disabled access and we had to use one of the hotels wheelchairs to get may partner in via the rear and basement there were some steps here but my partner is able to manage to walk a very short distance and managed these, but not suitable for anyone who cannot get out of a wheelchair. Was told they do not have any disabled rooms, we were given a large room, which we were able to cope with. Once in the Hotel it is fully accessible for a wheelchair user, but there is no disabled toilet.
On arrival we were told there was going to be only 10 residents including our party of four, so there would be no entertainment. Not our idea of Turkey and Tinsel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and put them selves out to accommodate our needs The other members of our party had a problem with the lights in their room but this was quickly put right
Heating was only on first thing in the morning and for a short time early evening and with so few in the hotel it was very cold, but the staff did bring out fan heaters when we made request for some heating..
Breakfast was buffet style and not very hot, evening meals were nice but nothing special.
Mike a member of staff who usually does one night of entertainment and got friendly with the 10 of us entertained us with his singing on 2 nights and he was excellent.
Prior to paying our bill I told staff I was not prepared to pay the full payment, and asked them to inform management, when I returned to pay the revised bill had been reduced by a more than reasonable amount making our stay reasonable value.
Hotel in need of some refurbishment a tlc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B0wler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Visited on coach trip Fri to Mon......had great time.lovely food......entertainment was fantastic.....lovely family run hotel......really nice dining areas & seating areas. ..stayed in room 50.....nice big room. ....yes they are in middle updating hotel.....This was a turkey & tinsel weekend......smart xmas trees & really lovely touch Santa bringing gifts out for all guests. Will definitely go again. ....very good value for dinner bed & breakfast & entertainment Fri Sat & Sun night

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank roxisash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

had a fabulous time on Hilary's trip, cant wait to return, mark and his mother and staff very friendly.
excellent entertainment not laughed so much in a long time. def recommend, a home from home they cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. lovely swimming pool, excellent food, feels like 'I've made new friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maralyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I want to thank you all for a wonderful 3 nights turkey and tinsel, i took 32 people on a bus trip and everybody had a great time, entertainment brilliant, food was excellent, and i have never known such friendly staff, they couldn't do enough for us, i feel like i left friends behind, we will be back 18 april, bus is already full, have a lovely Christmas see you soon Hilary

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HILARY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 59 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Property: The Risboro Hotel
Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Risboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing