We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of The Risboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 19 August 2008

I recently spent a wonderful 4 days at the Risboro Hotel.
Mother,Father, myself(37) and daughter(2).I am ashamed to say this is the first time I have had a holiday in this country and was a bit apprehensive but was so impressed with the service this hotel provided that I am booking for next year and taking my niece with me.

This hotel is not the most modern but my room had been recently decorated and was clean and very spacious.Coffee/tea and milk replaced in room every day,also clean towels provided every day.

A highchair was provided for my daughter and placed in a conveinent area of the dining room as my father is disabled and using walking sticks the table was very well chosen and had obviously been thought about.All meals were hot and very tasty and if you need anything else the staff were only to happy to help.

The swimming pool was an added bonus.It was very,very clean and lovely and warm.I cannot comment on the gym as I did not use it but on a return visit I would check it out.

Finally I would just like to comment on how friendly,helpful and welcoming all members of staff were.They all made a fuss of my daughter and any teething problems this hotel does have will some be overcome with such a great team.

  • Liked — Location and staff in hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cazadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    192
    82
    46
    91
See reviews for
102
192
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
s.yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

no probs with the hotel,our room was very clean the food was good(plenty of it too)the bar staff was a bit abrupt and the maid service for the bedrooms wasnt too good but overall we did enjoy our stay.

  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank valbateman06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2008

we loved our stay at this hotel everything was wonderful the food was fab verey friendly people we are going back next year we also read the reviews thay were not at all what some people had said about this hotel we had a great time thanks to all the staff and miss boffy ( alberts daughter )

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank dingals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Having seen recent reviews I was a little concerned as I was taking a party of 24 golfers.
I needn't have worried.
The hotel is under new management and does require updating but Rome wasn't built in a day !
We had 16 rooms and no one had any issues with the rooms or cleanliness. A leaking pipe was resolved immediately by moving to a new (larger) room.
Breakfast was above average but the staff are what makes this hotel as they are excellent.
Overall this hotel is ideally located, excellent value for money and has great people
When the refurbishments are completed this will be a jewel

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastYorksGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We have stayed at the Risboro for the past 5 years, and it had been going downhill, the owners were running it into the ground as they wanted to sell it and be rid of it.
Fortunately, this year, it had been taken over, and the new management and staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The swimming pool was actually heated for the first time since we started coming (it was very warm!)
Money is now being invested in the hotel and much needed improvements are being made.
They could do with adding a few more menu options though (we were given a choice of meat or fish only served with potatoes and vegetables)
Entertainment was provided on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights, and a great time was had by all (our youngest family member was 3 and the oldest 84!)
Looking forward to returning next year!

From the Pugh, Price and Brooks families

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyofWags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

I stayed for two nights ( food included) the Risboro hotel (clement avenue/Llandudno ) in October 2007

The hotel was not clean, gym was shut, damp patches on the walls, holes in the walls, very poor carpets ( threadbare & ill fitting)

The food served on the second night was not cooked properly and could not be eaten

Our first room had not been cleaned and the second room was not clean and had broken mirrors

If you like antique tvs (30 years old) with no remote controls stay here

No self service at breakfast - had to tell the staff everything you wanted from cereals to cold toast - on the second morning everything was either warm or cold - nothing hot

Must be the worst hotel I hve ever stayed at

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
29 Thank jen028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidno, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2007
Having recently purchased this Hotel it was my unfortunate task to accept a booking from a group of line dancers. The group had initially booked with the previous owners and paid a £500 deposit which they pocketed leaving us no trace of the booking. We then re-arranged our bookings to accomodate them (what a mistake) from the outset the organisers of this party treated my family and staff with total contempt. I found this totally confusing until i approatched them on departure with our BILL. I was then informed by the organiser that unless we made a substantial reduction in the amount they would report me to the health authority and other bodies of complaint. I informed them that i would not submit to Blackmail and unless my Bill was paid in full I would inform the Police. They paid the bill uttering threats and general profanity.
The following week we had visits from various bodies Health included all of which went away happy with our runniong of the Hotel.
I was then informed by the previous manager who I contacted that this group had pulled the same stunt the previous year but he had capitulated and reduced their bill by 50%.
Many of the Guests apologised to myself, family and staff for the behaviour of the organisors saying what a great time they had. A factor borne out by the genorous tips given to staff.
I have documented evidence to prove my claims and if anyone wishes to see it please contact the Hotel.
Having been a Hotelier for10 years this booking was the worst I have had to deal with.
Colin Shingler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

Had stayed at the hotel many years ago when the original owners managed the premises and enjoyed the visit, service and facilities. One or two subsequent visits after the premises had been taken over by a different concern were not too pleasant in terms of service and staff courtesy. The hotel has now changed ownership once more and on my recent visits in July and August 2007 found the new owners to be very friendly and approachable. There are teething problems of course but am confident that the new owners will make every effort to restore the qualities and standards which were evident on my first visit. Like most hotels parts of the internal decoration need a facelift but the location, nicely situated between the main promenade and West shore is convenient and the swimming pool and gymnasium facilities, if properly maintained, are a definite plus.

  • Liked — Swimming Pool
  • Disliked — Nothing particularly
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank swimfan099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidno, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2007
Thank you who ever wrote this for what I regard an honest appraisal of the situation.

Colin Shingler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
828 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunoon
Dunoon
#27 of 60 in Llandudno
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Property: The Risboro Hotel
Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Risboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing