We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh Dear” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Risboro Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Great Altcar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Recently went to the Risboro hotel in Llandudno for a short break,the staff, great, the entertainment, great, the food and service was very good indeed, but oh my the rooms, talk about needing a bit of TLC is an understatement, but still an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Sorry no tips, I think they are all on a par.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 2Sittard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    183
    68
    42
    86
See reviews for
95
175
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from a weekend away at the Risboro what a disappointment. Hotel was booked as it has a pool but lo and behold pool was out of action asked three different members of staff when it was likely to be reopened had different answers each time - this week - next week - just before easter,!!!!. Was not told before or during booking that it would have been closed for the time we were there. If we had of been told would have booked elsewhere. Some bathrooms have been refurbished but whoever was putting up the mirrors must have been very tall, take your own box to be able to see. Room had not been hovered when we arrived bits still on floor. Also beware that the hotel allows dogs to stay which is not to everyones cup of tea especially when they are barking in the guests rooms whenever anyone walks down the corridor. Owners were in the bar and all we has was yap yap yap not good when you are trying to sleep. Counted 4 dogs this weekend. This is not the first time that we as a party have stayed at the establishment but unfortunately the standards have dropped drastically and we will not be paying a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

went to Llandudno for the first time booked this hotel on the net was a very good price.the hotel is 5 mins fron prom and main shopping street.the food was nice and very hot..the room was ok .nice large bar lounge there.was a singer on sat night he was very good .has a indoor swimming pool but closed till april as out of season.the staff were polite.and friendly.i would stay here again. good value

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel but attended 2 nights of entertainment there on 21st & 22nd Feb.
Staff were all friendly pleasant and helpful, the entertainment on both nights was excellent and good food on the Saturday.
An action packed fun weekend that offered excellent value for money and the proprietor, Mark was friendly and entertaining. He had obviously put in a lot effort to accommodate this weekend, opening up 6 weeks early to do so in order to raise money for a good cause.
Some people would complain at having nothing to complain about! The bad reviews are ridiculous!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank socialite2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned from an action packed weekend at the risboro with a group of 42 friends, the hotel was excellent and all the staff were helpful, our organiser Keith had arranged loads of entertainment during the whole weekend and all the staff worked really hard helping & entertaining us, good food, good service quick & efficent what more could you ask for !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel for the entertainment on Friday and Saturday evenings. It was jam packed with fun. Friday saw a Fashion show, drag act, burlesuque troupe, 51shades of Grey fashion show, fun mini casino, a singer and a dance! What a lot for your money! Saturday, started with dinner, followed by a Murder Mystery act, then a duet caberet and dancing. Funds were raised for a local charity too. Staff were friendly and helpfull. The owner (drag artist on Friday and dishy cabaret star on Saturday) was there the whole time overseeing everything. Well done Risboro we will be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Poodleward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Good News......
A Charity fund raising weekend was organised at this Hotel by a social group Friday to Sunday.
The hotel is in the progress of making it more appealing with new décor.
We had a very entertaining weekend. The owner was the compere on both nights when there was a fashion show, singer and disco (Friday) and a Murder Mystery Dinner Dance on the Saturday in the ballroom.
The owner sang duet with the female singer.....both were excellent! This was followed by a disco and the floor was never empty of dancers all evening.
Bad News......
Yes the hotel is tired and needs updating in places, but the owners are slowly working their way through this.
When we arrived we were told we had to pay cash as the card machine was not working, which shocked us as we just had enough cash between us to pay. Never had to do that before!!!
We were disappointed that the swimming pool was out of use.
The food was Ok!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 33 on the first floor which is at the front /side of the hotel and quiet. Room 26...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Property: The Risboro Hotel
Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing