We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maggie”
Review of The Risboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from this hotel. The staff was lovely, the entertainment was brilliant could not fault this. At first glance the place looks clean but on a closer look it's grubby. It's seems to be run on a shoe string the food was ok but basic but you only get what you pay for. They also have coach's in which makes it very busy

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
10  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

no pool - no Wi-Fi ok so these things happen, but on the plus side the food was good would say above average for this class of hotel, the entertainment was very good Thursday night was brilliant but be warned you do need a broad mind.
the bad bits well the hotel does need a major overhaul, strip all the walls and repaper and paint would make a big difference.
saying all that I would still go back again as the food and entertainment were well worth the price paid and the staff were always polite and up for a laugh.

Room Tip: from talking to other customers some rooms have had a make over but I can not tell you which ones th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Absolutely disgusting, filthy, food terrible, showers blocked and not working properly, swimming pool closed, told off coach driver ,,they are running it on a shoe string, NOT MY PROBLEM ,never ever go back,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jimmy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Recently went to the Risboro hotel in Llandudno for a short break,the staff, great, the entertainment, great, the food and service was very good indeed, but oh my the rooms, talk about needing a bit of TLC is an understatement, but still an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Sorry no tips, I think they are all on a par.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 2Sittard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from a weekend away at the Risboro what a disappointment. Hotel was booked as it has a pool but lo and behold pool was out of action asked three different members of staff when it was likely to be reopened had different answers each time - this week - next week - just before easter,!!!!. Was not told before or during booking that it would have been closed for the time we were there. If we had of been told would have booked elsewhere. Some bathrooms have been refurbished but whoever was putting up the mirrors must have been very tall, take your own box to be able to see. Room had not been hovered when we arrived bits still on floor. Also beware that the hotel allows dogs to stay which is not to everyones cup of tea especially when they are barking in the guests rooms whenever anyone walks down the corridor. Owners were in the bar and all we has was yap yap yap not good when you are trying to sleep. Counted 4 dogs this weekend. This is not the first time that we as a party have stayed at the establishment but unfortunately the standards have dropped drastically and we will not be paying a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

went to Llandudno for the first time booked this hotel on the net was a very good price.the hotel is 5 mins fron prom and main shopping street.the food was nice and very hot..the room was ok .nice large bar lounge there.was a singer on sat night he was very good .has a indoor swimming pool but closed till april as out of season.the staff were polite.and friendly.i would stay here again. good value

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel but attended 2 nights of entertainment there on 21st & 22nd Feb.
Staff were all friendly pleasant and helpful, the entertainment on both nights was excellent and good food on the Saturday.
An action packed fun weekend that offered excellent value for money and the proprietor, Mark was friendly and entertaining. He had obviously put in a lot effort to accommodate this weekend, opening up 6 weeks early to do so in order to raise money for a good cause.
Some people would complain at having nothing to complain about! The bad reviews are ridiculous!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Eleri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
Dunoon
Dunoon
#28 of 60 in Llandudno
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £25 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Risboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing