We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and staff with a couldnt care less attitude”
Review of The Risboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 27 April 2010

This was my first time as a solo traveller on a line dance weekend and from the outset this hotel looks fairly okay from the outside but once inside them doors it is a different story, having being allocated my room i decided to clean it as it had not been cleaned for some time by the looks of it , my bed was so old in fact it had a hole in the base and was so dirty hardly slept all night because as soon as you turned over it made a creaking noise, the dado rail and carpets were filthy, my tea cup and tea pot were stuck to the dirty tray where tea had previously been spilt, i went out and bought new clean cups so i could have a drink, the bathroom was a joke shower was so hot it almost scalded me there was hardly anyroom to turn around in the cubicle, the floor was filthy had not been cleaned for a while so glad i had taken flash wipes with me, as for the toilet tissue well that would make you think you was in a public loo with the type of dispenser that they had, the staff were thin on the ground, bar staff had a dont care attitude about them in fact one of them was so dam rude i wouldnt buy a drink from him, carlos had more time for the waitress than he did the customers he was supposed to be attending to, Food well what can i say breakfast was okay was offered a choice of cereal and cooked breakfast but quality was poor, our main meal was total carnage not enough variety nor even enough vegetables to serve everybody on our table and was not offered any extra seems they had spanned out enough just to feed us poor quality meat was used and all vegetables were mixed and served together whether you liked them or not tough, staff in the Restaurant though was very good we had a french waiter who was very friendly and had taken the time to at least talk to us unlike the owners who never once showed their faces would i recommend . are you joking if you are thinking of staying here then take cleaning cloths and hand gel because this hotel lacks any of these, I had heard that just before we left on the Sunday that the owners had sold this hotel how true that is i will never know for i will not return to that hotel again once was enough to put me off for a lifetime pity really because Llandudno is such a lovely place but his experiance let the place down

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank satanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2010

Not disabled friendly, 12 steps to get into hotel many broken. Owners dog in front of entrance and no mess was cleared up. Rooms dingy ,curtains rotten hanging in holes, bathroom unclean, beds hard as rock and uncomfortable, food very very poor standard and quality, staff scruffy and unclean, owner dressed in trainers tracksuit bottoms had not chaged all week, bar prices were extortionate, cheaper to go out for a drink. Entertainment poor and was very keen to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LowestoftGipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

what a great hotel, needs a little updating here and there, but nothing drastic.
fantastic location, with a great pool and nice gym, food well cooked and presented, managment and all staff very polite.
travelled with sunrise direct holiday and will do so again.
so a warning to Colin and Carlos i will be back

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newcambstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

after reading all these reveiws i had thought twice about my trip to the risboro, but thought i would make my own assumptions about the hotel.
On my arrival to the hotel on the monday i was greeted by the receptionist who was VERY helpful. We were very early to check into our rooms so were told to come back later that day as another coach load had just left. When arriving back we entererd our room which i must say was lovely. clean, nice decor and everything we needed for our short trip.

i must give credit to the risboro, during these hard economical times. everybody helping out where needed. i think most of these comments are personal opinions of cleanliness.
the prices they charge are exactly what you need when going through a credit crunch and are fantastic value for money.

if you want 5 star standard go to a 5 star hotel and pay their prices. but if on a budget and just need a break i would recomend this hotel. make your own assumptions guys but be very surprised !!

will definatly be staying here again.

well done RISBORO xx

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dottymaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Another stay in the Risboro. Very nice. However .... stayed in number 72 and was a bit disappointed. There was a roar when you flushed the toilet and, as you walked away, it roared again! Rained the first night and it sounded like there was a waterfall outside! However, beds were clean and comfortable and lots of coffee and tea. Was very cosy, though! It was announced the next morning that there was nowhere to move anyone, as the hotel was full - so no point in complaining.

The second night, it didn't rain and had a lovely night's sleep! Woke up early, however, as extractor fans came on when breakfast was being prepared - smelled my piece of toast at 8.00, even though we weren't fed until 9.00am - it was a bit soggy! Breakfast, in general, though, was really tasty - apart from soggy toast! Staff were spot on, as usual, and very friendly. Evening meals were really good.

"Elvis" was very good and we enjoyed him immensely - just as good as last time. Commented last time that Carl was Hmm... have to say, he was really good this time - played all the right songs! Lots of people dancing and enjoying the music.

The Three Wise Men were, as always, exceptional. We do appreciate all their hard work.

What a great weekend.

Thanks also to the staff at the Risboro and the owners for a lovely weekend. This hotel does provide value for money - bar prices, accommodation etc.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We unfortunately joined some friends on coach tour to this establishment, scruffy mouldy old rooms, dirty bathrooms, unmade beds and inedible food. Left early and were never happier to get home and have a good wash. Who knows what lives in those sheets?

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraceyLuLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

after reading the fickle reviews on this hotel with various one's even saying what the owners car was made us want to go elsewhere but we gave it a go anyway...I'm so glad we did because from the moment we arrved to the moment we left it was nothing but a pleasure ...With the helpfull staff and the clean rooms it was a lovely stay.....meals good ...entertainment good.....location good....what more do you need......Thankyou !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kezz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
Dunoon
Dunoon
#28 of 60 in Llandudno
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
970 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £25 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Risboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing