We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont go if you are celebrating and want entertaining”
Review of The Risboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dont go if you are celebrating and want entertaining”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

I went for my 50th birthday and thought I was going to have a good time because it was supposed to be a 60s weekend but it wasnt and on my birthday we had tea and end up going to our room all night the hotel is best suited for the elderly who want to have a quite time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luellajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us ! once we were made aware of your birthday we gave a card from the hotel, however we were not informed that it was a celebration and as for it being a 60's weekend i suggest you take that up with your tour operator as we definitely did not advertise it as a 60's weekend ! We provide top quality entertainment 5 nights a week far more than any other hotel in the area, we also boost any prize money up in order to make it worth winning as well as provide prizes and the such, however , its difficult to make people celebrate if they dont want to ! Perhaps if you had mentioned to the staff that it was your birthday or brought some friends along with you it would have been more the party you seemed to be seeking, instead of relying on the hotel to provide your celebration. The entertainment provided on Friday night was an Elvis Presley Tribute quite safely within the 60's bracket and due to low numbers provided by your tour operator there was no formal entertainment supplied on Saturday night. We are contractually obliged to provide ONE nights entertainment over a weekend break. Therefore we met our obligation. You are of course entitled to your opinion and it appears that Trip advisor is beyond reproach with regard to printing peoples PERSONAL opinions, lets just hope YOUR personal opinion does not damage my business or my families livelihood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    186
    77
    44
    89
See reviews for
96
183
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The Risboro was a good, comfortable, clean and pleasant place to stay. The food was good, always hot, and the staff were friendly. There is clearly an ongoing effort by the managers to improve the facility and iron out those little faults that any hotel can experience. None of the problems I found were worthy of complaint, although I would like to see more hotels, not just the Risboro, include a small refrigerator in their rooms. As a diabetic I need somewhere cool for my insulin and it's nice to be able to have a cool drink at hand when the bar isn't open.
As a disabled customer I was delighted to find that the Risboro has it's own mobility scooter for hire at an extremely reasonable rate. This added to the extremely pleasurable time we had in Llandudno and my wife and I are grateful for the effort Mark, his family and staff made to make our stay thoroughly enjoyable.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ishodgson2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

on arrival my friend went to the toilet in reception they smelt and were not clean, our beds were clean and towels looked new but the deco needs updating and the single bed needs replacing also the chest of drawers and wardrobe, the curtains did not fit the window properly and the bathroom door hinge was loose (which was fixed on been reported).

downstairs in the toilet the mirror was broken with a cardboard put in with a smiley face drawn on, the tiles on the wall were coming of and some of the ceiling tiles were missing.

on the positive side the food was good service was quick and with a smile, table cloths were clean.
these people have only taken over in May and Ithe previous owner has neglected what could be a lovely hotel, I hope that over the winter there will be lots of improvements.

good luck

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2010
Thank you for your review of our hotel - i,m sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel and i note your points with interest , its clear you have taken great time an effort in noticing that things are not all perfect and that there are a few things that need updating , a fact that we have never denied.
You go on to mention that alot of the problems are inherited problems that we are clearly trying to address, however Rome was not built in a day and the Roman empire was not receiving £29.00 PER PERSON PER NIGHT FOR DINNER BED AND BREAKFAST !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

my parents are still currently staying in the hotel and are having a fab time, and made that extra special by the staff and manager who went out of their way to make my mum and dads anniversary a date to remember. The flowers ordered by the hotel were honestly amazing.......thank you sooooo much. My parents booked this trip after having to cancel their 2 week holiday to greece due to my dad been rushed to hospital and been diagnosed with congestive heart failure where he stayed for a month, having stabilised he was given the all clear to take this break at the risboro which also landed on dates of their wedding anniversary. Not knowing what to do for for their special day ,i contacted the hotel......and they just took in their stride. Another big thank you, and a special thank you to mark.

Stayed September 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank sally1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

a gruop of family and freinds stayed 20/8/10 for weekend, hotel close by town promenade shops restaurants, bars, new owner mark and family very welcoming, hotel very cosy needs updating rooms but clean and, moderniseation on agenda, staff all lovely food good, entertainment very good, themed weekends in future i.e. rock and roll the blitz, mark the manager and owner very good singer and entertainer. looked after my sister karen who has some diffilcties, recommend for good time thanks mrs bucket.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haypame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2010
Thanks for you honest appraisal of our hotel. Both my family and i enjoyed hosting your weekend and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future especially Karen (gobatron) who made the entire weekend an absolute pleasure not only for us and your group, but everybody in the hotel.

Very best regards

Mark and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I am writing this on behalf of a group of ladies who stayed at this hotel recently. Firsty this is not a three star hotel, the decor in the entire hotel is very dated and the rooms are very basic and were probably decorated last in the 70's. All of our rooms had not been cleaned sufficiently, and our carpet had stains all over it. A window in another room was broken and staff did not do anything to rectify this. When we checked in we were not told about the unusual cleaning arrangements or about asking for another key when coming home late, in fact apart from a lady waitress there, the staff had no customer service skills. The food is also terrible, it was powdered or tinned or frozen and had little taste. The manager was very unprofessional when we brought up these issues and argued with us, taking little responsability for the issues at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varmento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2010
What a pity you choose to take this approach. You were apologised to for our error in locking you out of the hotel, however if you had read the hotel information book that was in your room you would have known that we ask anybody intending to stay out past midnight to simply ask at reception for a main door key. This has never been a problem before. I take it that the unprofessional manner that you claim i delt with your complaint stems from the fact that i pointed out to you that if you read the hotel information you would have been better informed and you claimed that you did not have a book in your room, a fact that your room mate duly corrected you on. You made no complaint to myself or my staff with regards to the food here, so there is little i could do to improve that aspect of your stay for you. As for your room not being clean, again you made no complaint about this while at the hotel apart from complaining that your room had not been serviced. Again i refered you to the book that you claimed not to have in your room which clearly states that if you require your room serviced then you simply have to put your "please service room" door hanger on the door as you leave your room, you unfortunately did not do this and thus your room was not serviced. A fact that you were apologised to yet again.

Once again, my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Best regards


Mark Chenery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

My mother and her friends stayed with you in July .It was her birthday on her arrival and from day one you and your staff made it a birthday and a holiday to remember. They all said the meals where first class.The hotel and bedrooms even though you have not been there long were clean and comfortable.Your staff were all so friendly and efficient.Good luck with everything and I know they cant wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatkinson40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohoh1968, Owner at The Risboro Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
WOW ! what a compliment ! Great to have spent the time with you and your comments make it all the more enjoyable.

Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes

Mark, family and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Property: The Risboro Hotel
Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Risboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing