We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but extremely commercial.”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2011

A very nice hotel and certainly can't fault the standard of cleaning etc. However I think that maybe the owners have become far too commercial in their efforts and any goodwill goes out the window.

We visited out of season and the hotel was nearly empty yet we were given a small room which overlooked a flat roof adorned with extractors, fans and seagull poo. We asked if we there were any other rooms available with any view at all, we were told yes but they are an extra £30. Ok I know they have rates for each type of room but at nearly £100 a night anyway, out of season, they could make an exception. "No" was the answer. We went for a walk that night and looked at the hotel and not one of the rooms overlooking the sea front had any lights on, presumably because they weren't occupied.

Reception service was sterile however compliments to the bar service as they were excellent and very friendly. Breakfast was great and again service here was nice with a good selection of food available.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to business reps using their charge cards rather than for a family visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalcolmTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Well thank you for your kind comments on being 'a very nice hotel' and you 'can't fault the standards'.
However to say we are far too commercial I really have to question your point.
As your booking I believe was made through a late reservation site and it was your choice to book a standard room, even though you were able to see there was availabilty and the price of a seaview room you chose to book the standard room at the lower cost.
Then having arrived at St George's and though alternative standard rooms were available and offered you asked for an upgraded seaview room and then we're surprised we quoted correctly and appropriately the additional charge. If no standard alternative rooms are available we always will offer a complimentary upgraded room.
The hotel was not empty as well over half the rooms were sold but our standard rooms are excellent all fully refurbished some do look out on the town and park and some the street and side. Our seaview rooms are understandably the most sought after rooms and as such we do look to achieve a higher price this is not over commercial just good understandable business.
We are always a business looking to maintain goodwill with our guests so as you seemed to think we are an excellent hotel please consider a return contact me directly for a complimentary seaview upgrade and a warm welcome and enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,259 - 1,265 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2011

We had our Sixth Form May Ball in the Wedgewood Suite and we were given the Isaiah Suite for drinks and the use of the Cadw Suite and Menai Suite for photographs. Everyone had a brilliant evening, the food was fantastic and the service was quick. We also had the in house DJ for the evening who put a lot of effort into making the night enjoyable for both teachers and students!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank AbbyNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Well thank you for taking the time to leave a review we are so pleased all of you had such a good time.
Have to say how well organized you were and so happy to return the compliment, very well done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stayed for the bank holiday weekend having not been for 7 years. Hotel refreshed fairly recently so ok and well placed on the sea front. Unfortunately we suffered theft from our room (4th floor) so be careful. The police officer who attended had been last weekend for a similar issue. Better security required and some room safes!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sdbsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

We are so very sorry that such an incident occurred and of course have reviewed our work practices and security accordingly.
Our room key system is a newly installed key card method. This is reported by the industry and police to be far more secure and low risk than the old traditional key and fob.
During the servicing of bedrooms the door is left open, only while the room assistant is present and during the servicing of the room. All our housekeeping team are more than aware of the importance of room security.
All master keycards are issued and recorded to trustworthy and reliable members of our team.
Having reviewed our practices and discussed further with the police there is nothing that we feel that needs to be changed but we will now in addition look to install guests safes in each room for added security.
We already provide facilities at reception for guests valuables and do advise all guests on this safe practice.
I have been the manager at St George's for over 16 years and can only recall 3 incidents of theft, 3 too many, however the low number I feel demonstrates the importance we put on our guest's security, and when there is a need to apportion blame than let that be on the thief.
We so appreciate how this totally detracted from what seemed to be a very successful and enjoyable weekend for your party and we are all only sorry it happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

all in all an excellent hotel apart from the problem we had with our bedroom which we discovered on the first morning 6.00am the boilers came on in the kitchen and the noise was dreadful! This noise carried on all day until they went off at 9.30/10.00pm and the silence was wonderful. They should have given us a reduction for this room, but instead when we asked to move to another room, they asked for an extra £8.00 a night for what they called a Premier room which was no bigger than the room we had, and the bathroom was smaller.

Room Tip: Dont book room 108 or those adjacent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank columbine44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

Thank you for the review and as always any matter which we believe we can review and improve on is important in our wish to keep providing a better guest experience.
Though the issue of noise is not common as can be shown in the lack of reviews on this, we have investigated your comments and have adjusted the fans and as such have been able to reduce the noise, so thank you for this contribution.
What is so encouraging was that you kindly indicated, that this apart you found St George's and the team ''excellent'' and for that we are grateful and do hope to see you once again at St George's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I chose the St Georges Hotel for my wedding venue and to stay there for a few days and I have to say the hotel was the best hotel i have stayed in for a long time, The staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was so comfortable and a great size, we have a room with a sea view which just topped it off.

Thank you to everyone there, I give the hotel 10 out of 10 a+++++++++++

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojolo_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review and many congratulations and best wishes from all at St George's.
What a special day and we are only so pleased we contributed to your happy memories of a wonderful ocassion.
We wish you both all future happiness in your life together

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We held a christening reception in the Menai Suite with 54 guests, the room, tables/cutlery/glasses, bar, drinks, food and service was absolutely first class. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, everyone who attended commented what an enjoyable day they had at St. Georges Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlr128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

It is great to read that the Menai and our team produced such an enjoyable day for celebrating Harry's christening.
The new Menai is becoming so popular and ideal for exclusive family events we are only so pleased you found it so, and you never know Harry might celebrate his 18th. there!!!
Thank you again and our best wishes from all at St George's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

If you want exceptional quality and service from people who care about your stay then the St. Georges will not disappoint. The location of this hotel couldn't be bettered, right on the sea front overlooking the promenade and pier. A short walk to the best that Llandudno offers.
All the staff gave us a very warm welcome and were extremely professional and interested in making our stay memorable. We stayed in a Premier Twin room overlooking the 'Great Orme'. Very spacious and comfortable with all the room facilities that you would expect from a 4 Star Hotel. Service at breakfast and dinner was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble.
This hotel really delivered quality and friendly service throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Good rooms Side facing Premier rooms on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stans002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Thank you for your kind review, such comments do mean a lot to the team who certainly do care about the service they provide and your enjoyment.
We so hope you will return soon and remember to look on our website for the best available offers and so we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Llandudno and St George's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
986 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £87 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing