We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large but friendly hotel, great breakfast, variable rooms”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Large but friendly hotel, great breakfast, variable rooms”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We booked 2 superior rooms at this hotel for a weekend. Our adult daughter was given a good room on the 4th floor, large with lovely views. We were given a very small room (116 - I think) with a window either side of the room, both closely adjacent to buildings, which meant it was also extremely dark. I asked whether there was any alternative and we were offered a standard room on the fourth floor near our daughter. In the end we swopped rooms: the standard room was fine for one person (403) and we were third time lucky (407). I told reception on leaving that our original room should not be classed as superior. All the rooms are extremely well furnished and the bathrooms compact but excellent. Breakfast was a feast. There is a good lounge with around 6 tables over looking the promenade. We always managed to get one of these and it was lovely. All the staff were great.

Room Tip: Avoid 116 and make sure that the room has some kind of outlook, even if not a sea view. The fourth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acca_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thank you for reviewing and we do appreciate your kind comments.
As to the variety of our rooms such is the case with Victorian Hotels for them to vary in size and design.
However all rooms are refurbished and maintained to the same standards, and as happened in your case we do our very best to offer alternative rooms if so requested and available.
Room 116 is certainly not our largest room but with a sofa and tables in the room it certainly by no means is limited, of course rooms with views are the prefered and more favourable.
It was so encouraging to read how you all enjoyed the hotel and we hope we shall be welcoming you back soon to Llandudno and St George's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    365
    115
    41
    31
See reviews for
288
652
39
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bolton england
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

good quality well run hotel ,good food always hot and well prepared,good location for a stroll on sea front,,,,will be back

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin.eastam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Your review is very much appreciated and we hope it won't be too long before you return, whether for business or a simple break away.
Best wishes and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I stayed here with a group that I was leading who were enjoying a break in Wales. I had a very pleasant room partially overlooking the sea. The hotel is bang on the sea front and right in the heart of things.
The breakfasts were excellent. We dined separatley as we were a group - so had a more limited choice, however it was fine. The service was good if Val was around, but there were one or two inexperienced waiters and waitresses that need to hone their skills.
One negative is the parking, which is inadequate for such a large hotel You have to double park and leave you car keys at reception in case they need to move your car.
I also find this trend of putting mattress covers on the bed - which have some sort of plasticised material in them very uncomfortable. I am sure they do it in case of " accidents", however they make for a very sweaty night's sleep and I always remove it from the beds I sleep in! ( Same with pillow covers too!)
These things aside - an enjoyable 5 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view , or one at the side on St Georges Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moxxy-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you for reviewing however do allow me to respond to some of your points raised.
Our car park though one of the largest in Llandudno like all in the town does not fully cater for the size of hotel, those inconsiderate Victorians !! However, we do our best to manage our park and offer all assistance that is possible to facilitate the best arrangementsfor our guests, which I hope is what you experienced.
As for the mattress and pillow covers I can only strongly support our policy to use them, providing far higher standards in cleanliness and in my opinion comfort.
As for some of our newest and younger members of the team they are settling in well, working alongside our experienced and valued colleagues proving an excellent addition to St George's.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Myself and my husband had our wedding breakfast and evening reception at the hotel in their new Menai Suite at the beginning of September. It was absolutley fantastic, from the food, the service and the room itself it was everything we could have wished for. We booked the wedding about a year earlier and Natasha the wedding / events co-ordinator helped and guided us right throughout the year and provided us with that arm of support and trust that you would want and hope for from a wedding coordinator - she really was fab! Thank you. I'd also like to thank Katie for making the evening reception run so smoothly.
I'd recommend the hotel to anybody getting married and I think now that the hotel has more of a modern alternative to the classic large room upstairs, it will appeal to more and more weddings.
All of our guests had a super time and commented on how good the food was (which is always a worry at weddings)....the staff were very friendly and always had a smile on their face.
Thanks again :-)

Room Tip: A room with a view wins every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Well I have to first offer, our warmest congratulations to you and Stephen.
Your very kind and generous comments mean so much to us all, in that we were able, to make your day so very special.
I know Natasha is so pleased by your kind remarks and she certainly does make a difference being there to guide and give support in all aspects of such a special day.
The whole team are so encouraged by your review knowing that they all made a difference, thank you again for this review.
So from all the team may we offer our very best wishes for your future happiness together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My wife & I were members of a party of around 36 - mainly older - people visiting Gardens, Castles and Trains near Llandudno, all staying at St George's Hotel. We had opted for a sea-view room and were treated to some fantastic sunrises over the Little Orme.

Hotel Staff treated us with an easy familiarity "special", not the nuisances that we may have been at times! Nothing was too much trouble and, when I left some of my luggage behind a message about it was waiting on the answerphone before we reached home.

Our 2nd floor room was a bit too warm for our taste but this was easily overcome by opening the windows as far as they would go - not a lot - so the optional air conditioning was needed. No, the radiator valves were closed so that wasn't the cause. That was probably just our own preference for a slightly cooler bedroom.

The food was all of excellent quality but the already-plated evening meals led to some waste on my part; 4 types of potato plus at least 2 other vegetables proved beyond my considerable eating capacity! Breakfasts meant that we needed very little when out and about at mid-day! The choices of fruits, yoghourts, cereals and full Welsh (English?) cooked
assortment was really something to behold.

The morning call service was an extra that we hadn't requested - at 0710 on 3 successive mornings we were teated to a screech from a gull who chose our window sill as his perch.

Will we return? Try and stop us! Even if it is only to visit Great Orme and Bodnant Gardens in the spring. Mind you, Snowdon was a great disappointment because of the mist, rain and uncomfortable train ride! But we'l even try that again - or we might opt for a helicopter flight from Caernarvon.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are really worth their extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_traveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for a very kind review and it was wonderful to know, how very much you enjoyed your visit to North Wales and St George's.
Your comments are passed onto the team who will be so encouraged by your kind words. Though I would agree 4 types of potatoes seems a bit "ott"
Finally we shall look forward to your return in Spring, to explore more attractions in this lovely part of the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We spent a mid-September week at the St. George's in Llandudno. As expected, the hotel had a Victorian ambience, and the rooms were kitted out appropriately. The room was very clean, sufficiently roomy, with the proper necessities. Even with two weddings, a birthday party, and coach tour guests, no sound penetrated the 4th Floor room and there was adequate seating in the restaurant, sitting rooms, and lovely lounge overlooking the seaside promenade. The hotel staff was very professional and attentive. Car park is small, but the reception will let you double-park in it and leave your key with the concierge, so you won't have problems with ticketing or booting. You may wish to ensure that wake-up calls are logged into the reception desk computer, as you cannot enter calls yourself and word-of-mouth to the reception failed on two occasions. During our stay, the hotel catered to an older clientele, as (apparently) does Llandudno. So, the area is quiet, which was fine by us. Restaurant choices in town are not that many. Very disappointing Chinese fare, but good Indian, Persian, and Mediterranean. Finally, don't be alarmed if you hear a Panzer army clanking down the street beside the hotel. The Lifeboat Service routinely practices alerts, launches and recoveries from the beach adjacent to the hotel. The boat is transported to and from via tracked vehicle and trailer. Actually, quite interesting to watch....

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyandKevin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
A lovely review, thank you. On a couple of points we wish we had picked up on, early morning calls can be set up from the room details in the guest information book in your bedroom, however you had asked reception and this should have been actioned.
As for local restaurants there are many good ones locally and reception or concierge will be delighted to assist and recommend.
The Lifeboat launching is quite a sight and sound, though we doubt whether it will be for much longer as there are plans to move the station to the promenade by Craig y Don.
Finally we hope there will be an opportunity for a further visit to North Wales and of course St George's. Till then our best wishes and warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

James was very helpful in finding us an excellent guide at short notice for a tour of North Wales. We returned from our day out with my husband suffering from a swollen knee. The staff was great, and especially Noel, who brought an ice pack for the knee. We felt well taken care of.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hentzels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review. It is pleasing to know we made you feel so well looked after, and that you enjoyed the guided tour organized by James our Concierge.
We hope there maybe an opportunity in the future to revisit North Wales and of course St Georges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#3 of 60 in Llandudno
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing