We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food!”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, ON
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic Food!”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed here early July with my Mom and Grandmother. We went with a special offer which included a two course dinner each night. The hotel was very charming, but the food was amazing! Definitely try the lamb and the curried salmon, both my favorites.

Very friendly staff and a great location to the pier and shopping areas.

Overall a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Bring your sleeping eye masks, it was very light until 10:30pm and was bright early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryseandAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
A lovely review thank you for posting, it is always encouraging to read such kind comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed the food so much.
We hope you will return soon and always look on our website or call Reservations for our best offers available.
All best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    359
    112
    41
    32
See reviews for
282
642
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Touring Wales for nine days and this was without doubt the best hotel out of the four we stayed in. Four nights in a Premier en suite twin on the first floor with wonderful sea views, even through the rain. Room very clean and tidy with really comfortable beds and nice thick curtains. For some reason, which the staff couldn't give an explanation for, was a tv with inoperative teletext, that I found to be a real nuisance as I do like keeping up with the news in that manner.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel, prefering evening meals wherever we fealt. The breakfast couldnt be faulted and set us up for the day, well prepared and served up and with plenty of variety. Had a laugh each morning seeing one gentleman guest leave the restaurant with two bananas sticking out of his trouser pocket. The only real downside was that if we required a fridge in the room it would cost us £10 a day and even the provision of a radio would cost a further £7 were was unnecessary. Corkage would also have been charged if we had brought our own drinks to the room. Nevertheless if we visit LLandudno again we could find ourselves back at St Georges.

Room Tip: Avoid a room without a sea view or dont come to a seaside resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your review and kind comments it is encouraging you rated us so highly.
As to some of the points you raised our new flat screen TV's do not have teletext available but there are multiple channels and also the facility of a guest IT centre with internet access provides a great offering I am only sorry we disappointed.
As for fridges we do charge other than the suites, however radio channels are available from the TV.
Yes we do have corkage charges as do the majority of licensed premises, liquor sales are a major revenue source for the hotel and as such is a clear and sensible business practice.
However, these elements apart, you seem to have really enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back again we hope soon to St George's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just returned from our annual short break family holiday at St George's. We had a second floor suite, which was more than adequate accommodation for our family of two adults and two teenagers. Sea views to die for; fantastic en suite bathroom; fabulous housekeeping staff and standards of cleanliness; such a wonderful hotel. Breakfast is outstanding - there literally is something to meet everyone's tastes and needs. Evening Dinner in the Terrace Restaurant is a lovely experience, but would be even better if there could be a return to the previous policy of daily 'Market' special menu options.. All the staff are both friendly and professional at all levels. How often do you see the General Manager in a hotel of this size and calibre meeting and greeting and spending time with guests? Thank you, St George's for another memorable holiday. (Our youngest was two and a bit when we first stayed with you, and still wants to be back for more next year.)

Room Tip: First and Second floor suites with sea view are unbeatable. Family room on fourth floor is excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Such a lovely review which we all so appreciate. But yet again, how encouraging your kind words are for our team and certainly the mention for our housekeeping 'crew' who consistently achieve such great standards.
Finally we are so pleased you all love returning to St George's and we shall look forward to welcoming you back next year.
kindest regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed for two nights in July because my Niece was getting married in the hotel, and you could not have wished for a better place to hold a wedding. The hotel is spotless and the staff very helpful and courteous, the food in the hotel was great except for the wedding meal, it didnt suit us but others said it was good. The reception and evening do was down stairs and the function room was excellent, with a good dance floor and plenty of room. Access to out side for smokers was easy and it had a well stocked bar. If I was staying in Llandudno again this is the hotel I would use.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Lovely to read your kind words it was certainly a great wedding and the happy couple were so pleased with their day we hope it won't be too long before you and the family are back for another warm welcome and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have just come back from a long weekend at St George's Hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and we were particularly impressed by the helpfulness of the staff, from the restaurant to the cleaners. I was a little apprehensive, when I learnt our room was on the top floor but I needn't have worried. The room was lovely, spacious and clean. I have never seen such a big bed! The views from the window of the Great Orme (admitedly you had to stand to see them) were a bonus. We could see the steep road going up the Orme, that we later walked! The food in the restaurant was well cooked and presented. The staff did not rush us and we could take our time over the meal and enjoy the spectacular sea views. It was a little confusing about vegetables that were being served with meals but that was my only niggle. There was plenty of choice at breakfast. I prefer a continental breakfast and my husband a cooked breakfast and both options were equally good.

I hadn't been to Llandudno for 30 years but I was pleasantly surprised. The resort on the whole was very clean and looked to be cared for. The promenade is probably one of its biggest assets. I felt we were "abroad" as after dinner we could stroll along the prom, along with other holiday makers. Of course we were very lucky with the weather. The whole area is ideal for sightseeing and we enjoyed trips up the Great Orme where we had coffee sitting outside an Alpine lodge overlooking a ski slope and toboggan run, I definitely felt I was abroad then. Other trips well worth while were to Conwy and Snowdonia National Park.

It was a very enjoyable special weekend for us and I would certainly come back to the St Georges Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roni723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
A lovely review thank you for taking the time to post many kind comments, especially regarding the team it is much appreciated.
What I particularly like about your review is the clear surprise and enjoyment you have had in coming back to Llandudno and North Wales and so enjoying the many attractions we have in this area.
Finally the best part, is saying how you felt like you were abroad...well come back soon, you won't need your passport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was our first visit to Wales and what a way to start our holiday. We have stayed in many good quality hotels at home and abroad in our lifetime and can honestly stay this hotel was one of the best. There was not anything we could say negatively about this hotel. Our room was very clean and had everything you could want or need. Location excellent. We had dinner in the Restaurant overlooking the bay, the food was excellent, waitress service excellent - even tho we both thought we were seeing double with the identical twins serving us! Reception staff polite and helpful - in fact, whoever we came into contact with staff wise were the same. Breakfast choice was vast and once again nothing too much trouble for any member of staff. The hotel Manager and his team have got everything so right a big big thank you to you all. Our only sadness was that our itinerary prevented us from staying any longer but you can be assured we shall be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
We are so very pleased your first visit to Wales has been so positive and enjoyable.
Thank you for your kind comments and we do have a great team though I still get mixed up with Julie and Amy who are such an asset to St George's.
We can only hope we see you back soon to St George's and for your next visit to Wales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halton, Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Excellent location, very helpful and pleasant staff in all areas.
All aspects of the bedroom were excellent - very comfortable bed and roomy bathroom.
Couldn't open the window but the air conditioning was good.
The only downside was the dinner which I thought was overpriced for the dainty quantities served. My 6'6, 17 stone rugby playing son would have been appalled. Apart from that the service and quality was very good and the bar snacks and breakfast were terrific.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Well a lovely review thank you for taking the time to post, it is really appreciated.
As for our portions, well mentioned in one of my recent responses, we are introducing menus which are wider and more varied and unquestionably even your big boy will be just as pleased. What I am pleased to read though, is how much you found, in all the meals including dinner, that the quality and service was terrific.
We all hope to welcome you back soon to St George's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
903 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing