We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay.”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay.”
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights early august and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a classic sea view room, and were situated right on the front, overlooking the promenade.
The hotel was really nice and very clean, the bar/restaurant has great views of the bay, and the staff are really friendly and aim to please. We will definitely stay here again.
If I could change anything then I would introduce a fridge/mini bar to the rooms, and maybe alter the 'served' breakfast to self service.
If we could leave a 4.5 review then we would! Thanks for a great holiday...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D7LSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for posting a review and again do appreciate your kind comments on our friendly team and housekeeping standards.
As for a fridge or mini bar these are available in our suite rooms but we do have spare ones available, so do see our guest information folder in the bedrooms for all the necessary information.
And as for the served breakfast rather than self service this is only done when we have a hot buffet the idea of served is not one of 'rationing' but merely trying to provide an improved service, though we normally do try to offer the traditional plated breakfast.
We shall look forward to welcoming you back to St George's hopefully very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    356
    109
    41
    31
See reviews for
276
636
37
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was our first visit to this hotel but hopefully not our last! We spent two nights here to celebrate my sister's BIG birthday and have nothing but praise for the rooms and the staff. Dinner was included in the special offer and the food was superb. Staff at all levels were very friendly and helpful. Now looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy190764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Lovely to read your review and a Happy Birthday to your sister.It is so encouraging to know we made such a family event so memorable. Even more so to read you will be back soon.
Our very best wishes from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Got married at this hotel on 3rd aug, what an amazing day. Everything about this hotel is perfect. Every single staff member were helpful and polite and made our stay extra special. A big thanks to Paul the duty manager and James the Dj. Food excellent, rooms clean couldn't ask for anything else. We have stayed in this hotel 4 times now and have already booked our next visit.
Thanks again to all the staff that were involved in our special day and to Nikki for organising the wedding.....perfect!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lynzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Wonderful of you to post a review while on your honeymoon !!! All our warmest congratulations and best wishes and thank you for such kind comments.
I know Paul and James will be pleased and deserve to be mentioned in ''dispatches'', but as you say all the team do perform so well.
All our very best wishes for the future and we shall look forward to welcoming you back soon to St George's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, ON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed here early July with my Mom and Grandmother. We went with a special offer which included a two course dinner each night. The hotel was very charming, but the food was amazing! Definitely try the lamb and the curried salmon, both my favorites.

Very friendly staff and a great location to the pier and shopping areas.

Overall a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Bring your sleeping eye masks, it was very light until 10:30pm and was bright early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryseandAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
A lovely review thank you for posting, it is always encouraging to read such kind comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed the food so much.
We hope you will return soon and always look on our website or call Reservations for our best offers available.
All best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Touring Wales for nine days and this was without doubt the best hotel out of the four we stayed in. Four nights in a Premier en suite twin on the first floor with wonderful sea views, even through the rain. Room very clean and tidy with really comfortable beds and nice thick curtains. For some reason, which the staff couldn't give an explanation for, was a tv with inoperative teletext, that I found to be a real nuisance as I do like keeping up with the news in that manner.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel, prefering evening meals wherever we fealt. The breakfast couldnt be faulted and set us up for the day, well prepared and served up and with plenty of variety. Had a laugh each morning seeing one gentleman guest leave the restaurant with two bananas sticking out of his trouser pocket. The only real downside was that if we required a fridge in the room it would cost us £10 a day and even the provision of a radio would cost a further £7 were was unnecessary. Corkage would also have been charged if we had brought our own drinks to the room. Nevertheless if we visit LLandudno again we could find ourselves back at St Georges.

Room Tip: Avoid a room without a sea view or dont come to a seaside resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your review and kind comments it is encouraging you rated us so highly.
As to some of the points you raised our new flat screen TV's do not have teletext available but there are multiple channels and also the facility of a guest IT centre with internet access provides a great offering I am only sorry we disappointed.
As for fridges we do charge other than the suites, however radio channels are available from the TV.
Yes we do have corkage charges as do the majority of licensed premises, liquor sales are a major revenue source for the hotel and as such is a clear and sensible business practice.
However, these elements apart, you seem to have really enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back again we hope soon to St George's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just returned from our annual short break family holiday at St George's. We had a second floor suite, which was more than adequate accommodation for our family of two adults and two teenagers. Sea views to die for; fantastic en suite bathroom; fabulous housekeeping staff and standards of cleanliness; such a wonderful hotel. Breakfast is outstanding - there literally is something to meet everyone's tastes and needs. Evening Dinner in the Terrace Restaurant is a lovely experience, but would be even better if there could be a return to the previous policy of daily 'Market' special menu options.. All the staff are both friendly and professional at all levels. How often do you see the General Manager in a hotel of this size and calibre meeting and greeting and spending time with guests? Thank you, St George's for another memorable holiday. (Our youngest was two and a bit when we first stayed with you, and still wants to be back for more next year.)

Room Tip: First and Second floor suites with sea view are unbeatable. Family room on fourth floor is excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Such a lovely review which we all so appreciate. But yet again, how encouraging your kind words are for our team and certainly the mention for our housekeeping 'crew' who consistently achieve such great standards.
Finally we are so pleased you all love returning to St George's and we shall look forward to welcoming you back next year.
kindest regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed for two nights in July because my Niece was getting married in the hotel, and you could not have wished for a better place to hold a wedding. The hotel is spotless and the staff very helpful and courteous, the food in the hotel was great except for the wedding meal, it didnt suit us but others said it was good. The reception and evening do was down stairs and the function room was excellent, with a good dance floor and plenty of room. Access to out side for smokers was easy and it had a well stocked bar. If I was staying in Llandudno again this is the hotel I would use.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Lovely to read your kind words it was certainly a great wedding and the happy couple were so pleased with their day we hope it won't be too long before you and the family are back for another warm welcome and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
879 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing