We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent venue for a family celebration”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An excellent venue for a family celebration”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We booked the Mostyn room for a family anniversary dinner recently. The service and food was excellent and the room itself was the perfect venue for a private family dinner, especially as the hotel opened up the adjacent part of the promenade room overlooking the sea for our private use. A big thanks to the hotel staff for helping to make it a memorable occasion.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noz1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
So lovely of you to post such a kind review, and our very best wishes and congratulations on your anniversary.
I would have to agree and am surprised myself how popular the Mostyn Room is becoming for small intimate family celebrations for up to 14 diners, yet allows guests the privacy and facility of seaviews.
We do so appreciate your kind comments and as it also really encourages the team.
Thank you again, hope we see you back soon to St George's.
All our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    359
    112
    41
    31
See reviews for
282
642
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed St. Georges hotel expecting four star service sadly we had a bad experience.Our room number 111 was directly above a wedding party disco that went Boom Boom Boom until 11-45pm.We were not informed by reception staff when we booked in that there would be a noisy wedding party and were not offered a room away from the noise until 9 -45 pm when I complained at reception.The hotel staff must have been aware of noise problem with this room and should have allocate us a quiet room. The room was small and overlooked the roof of the disco room and for £155 per night was overpriced.When we were leaving and complained to the duty manager he gave us reduction on the final bill of £30 which did not compensate for that first night.

Room Tip: Check for wedding parties, they take over the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fourstar402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you for your comments and do clearly regret any disappointment resulting in noise from the event.
Firstly our policy is to allocate rooms to guests not to be inconvenienced by any event and if they are, offer alternative rooms which in your case happened.
I would only ask TA users to note there are little or no reviews on our page that clearly indicate issues with noise are minimal.
Your review does not make any comment on other aspects of your two night stay and I feel it would be more appropriate and greater courtesy to contact you directly in this matter.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

On our recent tour around Wales we stayed in several hotels. St George's was easily the best one we stayed in. I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel as an ideal base for seeing North Wales.
The hotel occupies a prominent spot on Llandudno promenade and is very handy for the town's shops restaurants and pubs, and also the tram and cable car to the Great Orme.
There was a great view from our large sea-view room across the promenade and out to sea. The room was large and well appointed. The bed was huge and comfortable. We had four chairs in the room, but still plenty of floor space. There's free wifi and wired internet access for guests. The room had a DVD player. The bathroom was small-ish but very nicely appointed too.
The dining room (proper) is lovely and airy and the breakfasts were great. On Saturday however the hotel were using the breakfast room for a wedding reception, and their reserve-breakfast-room was a bit cramped and dismal to be honest.
All the staff we encountered were efficient and pleasant.
The parking in Llandudno is plentiful, but a bit competitive. The hotel's car park is free but very busy and we only actually got in there once during our 4 days, but parking is free on the Prom outside between 4pm and 10am, so no problem really.
We'd definitely like to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Why would you stay in a sea-front hotel and not pay a bit extra for the sea-view? It's well wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
So very pleased to read how your tour of North Wales resulted in St George's coming out on top.
Your very kind comments are so appreciated by all the team, and do note the alternative breakfast room comment and shall investigate.
However what is great to read is your recommendation of St George's as an ideal base for seeing the many attractions of North Wales.
We hope to welcome you back again to St George's and further discoveries that North Wales has to offer.
best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have stayed at this hotel every Easter for the last 4 years and we find it a lovely hotel. The children staying at this hotel have a Easter egg waiting for them in the room. The food and customer service is first class. Were looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Lovely to receive your review and to know you so enjoy and regularly return to us for our Easter Break.
It is very kind of you to take the trouble to post and is most appreciated by us all.
We so look forward to welcoming you back next Easter, and tell the children the Easter Bunny will be here for sure.
kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N-u-L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here recently for a wedding, the food was v. tasty (both the wedding breakfast we ate and the breakfast in the morning!). I had lost my earrings from jumping around to the evening disco, and Christina was most helpful in locating one of them. The room was clean and tidy, and only had a shower, but for an overnight stay, this was ample. A nice feature was being given two keycards, that way if one of us had had enough and wanted to retire early, the other could then access the room without waking them ;) . All the wedding guests appeared to be well looked after, we certainly were from our perspective.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gingerlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review it is very much appreciated.
I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed the wedding, so much so as to lose your jewellery but now recovered.
We so hope there will be an opportunity for you to return soon to St George's for your own relaxation and enjoyment and bring all the jewels you want !!!
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshireset
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed one night db&b. Not a very friendly welcome - smile please!! Room OK, comfy bed, nice sea view. Only disappointment was dinner particularly the desserts. I think there were 8 or 9 choices for dessert, 5 or 6 which contained lemon (which I am allergic to!) and I don't like ice cream either. I was then left with a chocolate praline and it was nice. I did mention it to the waitress and she said she had never noticed the over-zealous use of lemon!! Breakfast good but service very slow - overall a nice hotel.

Room Tip: definitely sea view - the road at the front is not busy after about 9 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Excuse my delay in responding as I have been away on annual leave.
Well in some way a difficult review to respond to, as I judge you actually enjoyed your stay, however have noted the points raised, needing to be reviewed.
My only request would be ask you to contact me prior to your return, as I will be delighted to assure you of a warm welcome from all our friendly team, who are so consistently praised on TA and am pleased to tell you we have a new menu for October with your lemon aversion noted.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Booked a short break for myself, wife and young son (13yrs) before the school Summer holidays came to an end.. Fancied the idea of seaside combined with mountain walking. Hotel turned out to be a good find showing lots of Victorian splender. A top quality breakfast was provided every morning. The staff were well friendly and provided excellent service. Allexcept the lads bed which was not really suitable for the purpose.

It was our first time in Llandudno. We had half decent weather, plently of walking andsitting watching the world go by over a coffee and climbing Mount Snowdon (by train!). There were plenty of visitors but it wasn't overcrowded. Everyone got on. There were lots of activities for kids to be seen but not heard.

Nice little break, lovelly location

Room Tip: Try a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maskeen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
''A good find''... well now you've found us, we hope to welcome you back soon to St George's and Llandudno.
As for the bed , I must admit my son at 13 years old would have been better in a single divan and if you had mentioned, then we would certainly have done our best to provide a more substantial one than the z - bed which is suitable for younger children.
As it is your first time in Llandudno we hope it won't be your last, and just give reservations a call to ensure the best arrangements are made for your son.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing