We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A promising hotel that turned to disappointment”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel recently. It was stylish, the staff were pleasant and the breakfast was very good . The hotel is in a good position. Our stay was spoilt by the unbearably hot room. The hotel says it has air com but we were told that even though the weather was mild for the time of year, the whole hotel was on a winter heat setting. We could do nothing to change it and couldn't sleep . As a result we were exhausted during the day which ruined our stay. We could not even open the window more than about 6''. I feel the cold quite easily usually. I wrote a letter to the hotel weeks ago and have sent four e-mails. They have not had a reply to any if them.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeykins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

First and most importantly I have contacted you directly through TA regarding no response from myself, this is not my way, and as quite clearly by my responses over the years, to these TA reviews I hold guests comments and feedback in such a high importance. I can only apologize, as honestly I have no record regrettably of your contact, so I can only assure you, if you reply, I shall directly and appropriately respond.
Just to clarify regarding the bedrooms and heating, which 99% of the time there is no issues. All bedroom's have radiators which have thermostats these can be turned off, when no heating is required. If the radiator thermostat is on and the room is still cold, there is the air con which can be used to heat the room as well, while in summer the air con is set for cooling.
I am pleased to consider that there were aspects of the stay you felt were good and hope we will be able to see you back at St George's.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

974 - 980 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

We enjoyed a one night stay with our youngest, 1 year old, with work. The staff really went out of their way to help with the baby which was greatly appreciated. The enormous bed was fantastic, really comfortable and the breakfast overlooking the sea was unforgettable. The croissants were the tastiest ever and the choice of fresh fruits, yogurts & cereals was so lovely we didn't feel the need to try the hot food option. I would recommend the St. George's, and despite a feeling of 'faded grandeur' at times (worn carpet in certain areas of the stairs), the general warm & friendly, relaxed atmosphere won me over.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Well thank you for the lovely review and kind words though I have to admit we will be constantly battling against ever ''fading away.'' There is a rolling and never ending programme at St George's to maintain the building and fabric to the standards we wish to offer our guests. After having had a full refurbishment in 2006 and an annual maintenance program ever since we still am, pleased to say, looking good, however, never to rest on our laurels. This year, the focus is the outside of the hotel, which is having substantial building works and being completely repainted due to be completed before Easter. As for the first floor stair carpet then we will be looking to replace in the Autumn.
It is lovely to know you enjoyed your stay and what made the difference is our team's ability to make a warm and friendly atmosphere while still delivering good service.
Hope to see you back soon at St George's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I had not visited this hotel since 1988, but it still remains a favorite.

Now in first class condition and with rooms of high quality, it could not have provided a more comfortable stay. EXCEPT;

Sadly, the bedroom pillows and the duvet smelt of "other people" and we should not have had to suffer that in such a high quality hotel.

In all other ares it was faultless and we'd visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan9908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you for all your very kind comments...''first class condition and high quality'' but the remark for any hotelier that the pilllow and duvet smelt of other people is shocking and you placed the comment on your comment card which I personally investigated.
First of all our pillows and duvet have protectors on them and our fresh laundered linen is as stated, however we have a rolling and frequent program of washing our pillows and duvets and on checking my housekeeper could confirm this was the case and can only assume this is the smell you meant.
Of all aspects of our service at St Georges, let the endless comments on our cleanliness go unquestioned at least. This is such a fundamental of which we are very proud, I hope you will return as mentioned and if so please contact me directly so I may personally welcome you back to St George's Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

High standard of service and cuisine. Fairly large classic but recently modernised hotel on the promenade. A capable and welcoming team here. The terrace overlooking the sea is an attractive option to the large dining room. Last occasion was a business dinner for a very large group. Whatever the size of your group or an individual visitor the service and attention seem to be consistently good. Close to home , so I am unable to assess bedrooms, though other reviews are very favourable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and just as much, if not more it is really appreciated, because you are from this beautiful area.
Our team do make the difference and your words will only encourage and make us aware of how not only good service consistently delivered is what keeps our guests returning.
Thank you and hope to see you soon back at St George's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed on Tuesday 12th February, work related. Hotel location is fantastic overlooking the sea and the hotel was very clean and decor was lovely and staff friendly. Breakfast was very nice and had a lovely stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariapCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

A lovely review thank you and we can only hope there will be an opportunity other than work, to visit, enjoy and to relax.
We do appreciate and am grateful, for you taking the time, to leave such kind comments and can only hope we shall be welcoming you back soon to St George's.
kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We just spent two nights at the St George on a Groupon voucher. We were very impressed with the professional staff, excellent food in the dining room and great location of the hotel. The front of the hotel was under renovation so there was scaffolding in front, but not a bother. Fortunately no work was going on during the weekend! There was some music from a local pub we could hear every time the bar door opened and closed, but that kind of thing is to be expected. I never leave home without earplugs so not a problem for me. Squeaky floorboards in the hallway on the third floor lend character :-). The car park in back is small but there is a valet. If all the spaces are full, they will double park and move the cars around as necessary to get your car in and out for you with a smile. And there is no cost for parking. We were overall very pleased.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for your kind review and encouraging words. We hope with the scaffolding coming down now and our wonderful new and fresh look, you will return with the great offers we have running through this summer. Just call Fiona on Reservations or look on our website, either way a warm welcome will be found from us all at St George's.
With all our best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stay for three nights from the 12th to the 15th of Feb. 2013. The hotel staff were very helpful and cheerful which was a nice change as some hotels we have been to the staff can be a little grumpy. The breakfast was excellent and cooked to order, nothing was to much trouble for the staff.
Only thing I could gripe about was that I was unaware that they had spa services, which I would have used, they need to advertise this better.
The hotel was clean throughout and warm, nice decor and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Such kind comments on our team who do make the difference and your words are so appreciated by all of us.
Do just have to explain that spa services are available within guests rooms, on appointment through Aspire a Hair and Beauty Salon associated with and close to the hotel.
We hope whenever next visiting North Wales you will return to St George's and can only assure you of the same warm welcome from all the team.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £91 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing