We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel on the beach”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel on the beach”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at the St Georges for one night. Firstly we arrived at 12.30pm and were exhausted as my daughter is on tour and the room wasnt ready. On arrival we were greeted at the entrance by about 7 people blocking the entrance smoking. This is not a great welcome particularly if you are allergic to cigarette smoke. There was a wedding at the Hotel so was really busy. I did ask to be put into a quiet room and they assured me that it was quiet. The room itself was lovely and the beds the most comfortable beds I have stayed in. Having said that for a twin room it was quite small but it had a really large bathroom and small passageway. I would be more inclined to make the bedroom larger. We had lunch in the tea room which was absolutely lovely and service there was impeccable. When we arrived back at the Hotel at about 10.30pm we were exhausted and there was a lot of noise coming from the wedding party. I was assured that we were in a quiet room and we were on the 3rd floor so wouldnt hear it. We this wasnt the case. We were above the conservatory and the noise was shocking. The quieter rooms Im sure would have been at the front of the Hotel. I did have to ring down to reception to ask how long the music would go on for and was told it would finish at midnight. Not great since we had been trying to sleep from 11pm. What I will say is that the Hotel is a lovely building with lovely staff but there could be more lifts, more space between breakfast tables (we were crammed in and having breakfast so close to other guests), having said that breakfast was fantastic. There are lots of things that could make this Hotel better, such as the reception. It is quite shabby. The lifts can only fit 4 people and are very basic. Not a lot of parking and if you do manage to park around the back there is no way into the Hotel from the back, you have to walk all the way back around. What I really liked about St Georges was the lovely tea room overlooking the sea. I would stay again but maybe next time request a room overlooking the sea and not the noisy conservatory and car park/back lane!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room at the front of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superskier87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Well a mix of comments, however being a glass half full person, have to mention your kind comments on a lovely room with the most comfortable beds and a lovely lunch with impeccable service, alongside enjoying a fantastic breakfast, makes me believe when hopefully you do return, as you say you may, you will experience the best of St George's.
Referring to your other points, smoking at the entrance is not the designated smoking area and there are signs stating no smoking however there are some smokers who are inconsiderate, and our team do try to monitor it but I do regret any issues that arose.
As for being disturbed by noise with regular events at St George's there is normally no issues as the pages of reviews do testify and 3 rd. floor rooms have usually no issue, but sorry you were disturbed and appreciate you seem to have had a tiring trip which this didn't help.
First time we have had a comment on more than one lift needed but would say it has been recently refurbished to the present regulations and recommendations.
Sometimes comments are down to opinions and I would say the reception in my opinion is certainly not shabby, all the foyer chairs are new less than a year old with the whole foyer having been repainted just before Christmas, we do try to maintain the whole hotel to a high standard and am pleased to say have a considerable amount of compliments.
Parking as by a couple of recent reviews is a difficulty in Llandudno we would advise our guests to use our assisted parking service provided by our concierge team who will advise on the best option available on your arrival, even better if you phone the hotel before coming, we will be only to happy to help. There is no access from the back car park as you point out, our Victorian predecessors did not unfortunately design their hotels for the convenience of the driver, however we have installed an intercom to reception to call for assistance with luggage and parking.
So please do contact me when next looking to return as I would wish to meet you and show you the best of St George's.
kind regards and best wishes
Tony Burns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    359
    112
    41
    32
See reviews for
282
642
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

A two night stopover with friends with fine dinning superb rooms and first class service.A true weekend to remember.Only faults I could find was that the bar prices where on the heavy side and parking can be a problem at peak timesThe breakfast was one of the best that I have had.Thankyou to all the staff who where very professional and extremly well mannered.I would certainly reccomend it to all

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aptrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
A lovely review thank you for placing it and hope you will be back again soon.
Our bar prices, which we do monitor are comparable to our competitors but we hope our service will always be better !
Till the next time and please do ask for me as I shall buy you a drink....
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Booked a king-size bed room with a balcony for a one-night stay, after doing quite a bit of research for a decent place to stay in Llandudno. We also had an arrive and revive package ie: light 2 course dinner included in the package.

St George's Hotel turned out to be pretty near excellent overall, but not quite. On arrival - by car, you can pull up just outside the hotel to unload bags etc. They do have a car park - but it was full most of the time we were there. Dont try double parking in it, as it may take you ages to get your car out again. After checking in - which was efficient - I eventually found a parking spot out on the street after driving round the block a couple of times. You can park on the street free from 5pm onwards till 10 the next morning.

Our room was on the first floor - and it was really spacious and well furnished. Slightly cold when we arrived, but the heating was highly efficient - so no problem. The room was very clean and bright. The bathroom was big - with really good bath and shower over. There were also nice robes in the bathroom. The bed was big and really comfortable. Unfortunately, the sheets did not entirely cover the mattress - so you could see it at the head of the bed. This could be not the right size sheets or just badly made up bed. No big deal, but I expect the bed to be made properly.

Our room had a great sea view - and a balcony. Unfortunately, we could not go out on the balcony as there was scaffolding up and a note on the door said no access due to renovation. This was a shame - and should have been noted prominently on the website when we made the booking. Anyway we were only there night - so would have had very limited use of the balcony. I understand that the scaffolding will be down later in March.

We had dinner in the Terrace Restaurant - which was quite lovely. Although on the limited choice menu, we still found this sufficient. Quality of food was excellent and the service very good.

Breakfast was served in the big Wedgwood Room. Good cereal and fruit selection. Hot food was on a buffet style service, with a member of staff behind. I had scrambled eggs and bacon - although it wasnt that good, and for the price we were paying I would have preferred some kind of personally prepared food - which was not offered by the waiting staff.

Overall, this hotel has excellent rooms - which would bring us back to stay there in what is a great town in North Wales.

Room Tip: Book a sea view king size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonoLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for reviewing and though pretty near excellent, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will look to return. However, as for the one or two points highlighted I would want to reply...
Parking can be difficult in Llandudno, St George's actually has one of the largest hotel car parks in the town and we do offer assisted parking so when next returning just contact James our Concierge and he will offer all the assistance and advice to minimize any such problems.
As for housekeeping we are pleased you found the room clean and bright but note the comment on the bed sheet and this is not the norm, so sorry and have of course, raised this with Dani our Housekeeper.
Now for the scaffolding, well this sadly is a necessary evil, to allow the full refurbishment of our Grade II listed building, however though inconvenient , there are no sea view or balcony charges being made. However I do note your point, on improving the details to our guests, but have to say what a stunning finish it will be on completion by the end of March.
Lovely to read how much you enjoyed dinner and as for breakfast when very busy, we serve the hot food buffet style which is quite customary, however the menus on each table do offer table service if so desired and I quite understand your preference.
Please when you next return, do ask for me, so I may personally welcome you back to the newly refurbished St George's.
kindest regards
Tony Burns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I would like to start by saying I always give my honest review wether its good or bad and I have to say once again I would give this hotel ten stars if I could, the food the staff and everything else that goes with this hotel is fantastic!
We stayed for the weekend for my birthday a couple of weeks ago and both me and the wife were very impressed the staff make you most welcome we only had bbed and breakfast but if the breakfast is anything to go by I am sure you would not be disappointed at the dinner!
Would deffinately go back lovely rooms clean and modern nothing was to much trouble thank you to all the staff it's a credit to the owners keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We had a rear view room but to be honest we did not spend to much time in our room but I am sure if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Such a great review and 'honestly' can say, that such words only give the team a big boost and are so appreciated. There is a real commitment by all the team at St George's, to maintain and keep improving the standards of quality and service for all our guests.
We hope we shall be welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at this elegant hotel with the family for my birthday at the end of February/beginning of March. I booked two double rooms and a single. All were well-appointed, large enough and comfortable. The staff were excellent - friendly and helpful. The only downside was the smallish car park, but this is a Victorian/Edwardian town, so car parking wasn't a high priority when the hotels were constructed. The restaurant served delicious meals - we didn't eat anywhere else. Full silver service and no paper napkins. Attention to detail was evident. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: None of us experienced noise or disturbance. Rooms on the north side look over the bay. The exterior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonFleet_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Firstly our best wishes and we are so pleased to read that you had a lovely birthday.
And how much you all enjoyed our food and service, we can only hope before your next birthday there will be an opportunity to welcome you back to St George's.
All our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed here in january while visiting family room great nice view of the orme. Food was great one of the best breakfast set ups i have experienced.afternoon tea fantastic and the evening meals the service of the staff was very profgesional and sincere

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dafpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for reviewing and it's excellent to know how much you appreciated the service and food.
We can only hope you decide to visit Llandudno and St George's in the future.
Thank you again and all our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend in Llandudno with my in-laws. We booked via Groupon and the hotel was absolutely first class and couldn't be faulted. It is a very welcoming hotel and the staff are excellent; very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. The food is also first class - we had two really fabulous meals. We would happily return - and hopefully will in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Such a great review thank you for taking the time to place it. Always so appreciate to know how welcoming and friendly you found the team here at St George's, your kind words do really encourage all of us and even more so, in knowing you will look to return in the not too distant future.
kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
903 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing