We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed mid April and had booked a standard room. It overlooked the back of the hotel, but there again with so much to do and see, we only changed and slept in the room. We took luncheon in the conservatory style bar, with views across the bay - fantastic options on a varied menu. The staff were attentive, the room was clean with a large bathroom and easily accessable for disabled access due to the adequate lift and ramp access. The car parking was an issue, however the staff on reception looked after our car keys and by the end of day 2 we had a space in the car park. Breakfast was a buffet style, but served by attentive staff, and many thanks to the Duty Manager (Paul? sorry I forget) who did sort out the small issue we had with speed and grace. Next time we will book a room with a view, for when the sun shone, it is a breathtaking scenic bay.

Room Tip: Think it would be good advice to request a sea view, and /or a superior room but as we weren't i...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HambletonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you for reviewing and your many kind words which is so pleasing to read and to know that you will be returning, when as you say to make the most of the fantastic views of Llandudno Bay from St George's.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
There are newer reviews for St. George's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch here....Red carpet as you entered hotel, decor lovely,toilets spotless....we were having a light lunch which consisted of 2 rounds of sandwiches ...2 large wines ...pint of beer coffee and scone...and would say we got good value for money ...the waitress who served us who I reckon was polish very helpful ...we spent a hour in the hotel which was more than welcoming after a cold walk along the promenade.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank robert09Newmilns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

So good to read that we made such a good first impression and thank you for your kind words.
We can only hope the next time you visit you may even stay longer.
All best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I visited this hotel with my husband and it lived up to its expectations and more!

The Room was great, we had booked a Kingsize room and so expected a decent sized room but when we opened the door we were the 3rd floor up on the corner so we had 2 views and could look out to the sea - the sea breeze was amazing but secure windows gave you the choice!

There was a large screen plasma TV, DVD player, Sofa and coffee table and a lovely sized bathroom and the bed ...I think Emperor size was very comfortable but you could get lost in it!

The staff were very friendly and busy, they had a wedding on when we were there on the Saturday and another function in another room in the evening but all seemed well organised and the staff were happy to help other guests with suggestions/ recommendations and general knowledge.

Breakfast was delicious, great array of fruit, yogurts, pastries, good quality cooked breakfasts and selection of choice...lots of egg options too!

Room Tip: corner of hotel room (road/ main entrance on one side and sea on the other) Several floors so should...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJoL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such nice comments which all the team do appreciate and give so much encouragement.
We can only hope we shall be welcoming you back soon to St George's and another memorable visit.
All our best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights.The hotel is an imposing building with a sea-front location towards the 'pier end' of the bay.
Only a standard room was available so I suppose I shouldn't have been surprised at the view of the rear car park from our bedroom window! However the room was comfortable enough (although the bed was a bit short) and the ensuite bathroom was spacious. There was a destinct lack of storage space for clothing in the room.
The hotel's public rooms were just about 4* standard but with very slightly jaded decoration in some areas. We ate at the hotel's restaurant on one evening and found the food and wine to be pretty good without any of it being exceptional.
The service in the bar was slow and the drink prices on the high side.
Service at breakfast was very slow and from mostly disinterested staff members. The standard of the breakfast food and drinks was prettty good with a reasonable selection.
I found that many of the service staff seemed to have a poor understanding of the English language.
Not only was I surprised to have to pay for our stay' up-front' when checking in, but disappointed that when checking-out and paying for extras, that a couple of small unknown extras seemed to have been included.
A bit of fine tuning could make this hotel very good instead of just quite good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmotlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Could be better..well we shall always try to be.
Just on one point allow me to explain in that there was no payment taken on check in. We simply request, as standard practice to pre-authorize your payment card and this enables you to charge extras to your room account. As for any 'unknown extras' please contact me directly so I may investigate this further.
All the team are warm and friendly and I am unaware of any of our team serving our guests who have a poor understanding of English, and the vast number of reviews express what a marvelous team they are.
We do regret any aspects that detracted from your enjoyment however hope there will be an opportunity to welcome you back to St George's and an enjoyable stay.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Very nice position and very friendly and helpful staff, mostly from Lancashire I think.
The room we had was a bit bijoux but had two three foot beds which were very comfortable.
Excellent newly refurbed bathroom.
Welsh breakfast indistinguishable from English but very good with decent coffee.
Only downsides were creaky floorboards, the door to the corridor fitted very approximately, problematical parking (although the staff seemed to cope well when double parking was necessary) and a four man lift.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms even smaller and with four foot six double beds we were told, no good for large Mr So...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soothsayeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you for this review but my my, it's put the cat amongst the seagulls, I must say. !!
Your review title I presume comes from our name St George's, however we are proud of our Welsh history which we display in the foyer for the benefit of our guests to understand the small part St George's played in the making of this beautiful part of Wales over the last 160 years.
As to our team it is a wonderful eclectic mix but what is important, is your conclusion that our team are a very friendly and helpful bunch.
Our breakfast is a Welsh breakfast we wouldn't, and couldn't call it anything else, with local sausages, bacon and eggs, with local jams and honeys. Thank you for saying how good it was, probably because it was local...
Regarding your Room Tip: Sea view rooms are sold as Standard or Premier, similar to our Side and Town views. The best Room Tip: Is to contact our Reservation Team who allocates your room to ensure you have the room you want.
We hope we will again have the opportunity of offering you a warm Welsh Welcome when next visiting Wales, Llandudno and St George's.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just spent three nights here and couldn't fault it. Lovely room very clean even the outside of the hotel has been painted beautifully. Excellent staff and a great breakfast! Had to park on the road outside but this wasn't a problem and only £1.50 a day.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

We were so pleased to read how much it meant to you and how you found your stay so memorable. It is a great accolade for the team and so very much appreciated by us all, that your stay was the very 'best'.
We thank you for your suggestions and will always look to improve and hope there will be an opportunity to welcome you back to St George's and Llandudno.
With all our very best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights over Easter for a family wedding and we were really impressed with the hotel and town - I have previously thought Llandudno was just for oldies! Breakfast were really good with a wide choice of cold buffet and hot items from the kitchen. Snacks were available throughout the day and were great. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and our room was a good size with a clean bathroom. The hotel is on the main prom with great views.

The only negative comment about the hotel is that the rooms were rather warm...no they were stiffling but you eventually got used to it. Also previous guests must have feed the seagulls as several insistant seagulls landed on our window ledge several times a day, making a racket, in search of food. Throwing a pillow at the window or making a loud noise usually got rid of them.

Would recommend this hotel to people of all ages, its perfect for a relaxing break and in a great location in the town.

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea view
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristiana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Such a lovely review and more so with your kind comments on St George's and Llandudno and would have to agree, that there is something here for all ages, as well as being in a wonderful location.
As for the seagulls, well perhaps as an idea should I take up falconry!!! however we do ask our guests not to feed them. At least you end by saying, what a perfect relaxing break you had, so we hope it won't be too soon before another visit to Llandudno and St George's.
best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £111 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing