We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly one of the best hotels in North Wales, if not the UK!”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel is definitely the best in Llandudno. I stayed here for one night with family for my Grandad's 88th birthday. The service from start to finish was outstanding. Staff were friendly, polite and showed great attention to detail with a personal touch without being intrusive. Sadly many of the major hotel chains lack these personal qualities which is why this hotel wins hands down.

The rooms a beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean, ours boasted a spectacular sea view. My Grandad was well looked after being given a complementary glass of sparkling wine and birthday cards from the staff that really made his day. A special mention to Valerie and the restaurant staff who were so friendly and looked after my Grandad so well. They are an asset to the hotel.

The hotel offers fine dining with delicious ingredients. We definitely hope to return in the near future. I would unreservedly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Llandudno or North Wales.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

A wonderful and kind review, thank you so much and so encouraging for the team, Valerie being especially pleased to be mentioned.
Special family occasions and such ''get together's '' mean a lot, and we are so pleased we contributed to the celebrations of Grandad's 88th......Well done Grandad !!
We hope we'll see you back for his next one...
With kind regards and best wishes to you all.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights with our 4 year old son who loved it. Family room good size and clean.

Great spot for the beach. Parking really difficult (general for llandudno) but managed to find somewhere.

Staff what should be expected of 4 star hotel but not personal.

We stayed bed and breakfast and both were of a good standard, though on 2nd morning they ran out of food for parts of the cooked breakfast (not something that should be expected !)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trainer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing, though not fully understanding some of the ratings given. Would have to say that the team, as shown by the hundreds of reviews are a friendly and enthusiastic team, and so really regret that personable aspect didn't come through for you.
We hope you will return to St George's and if so, promise you a warm welcome and enjoyable stay.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

only stayed here for a sort time just loved the place, must come back one day
free car park too, only down side some knob head scraped my car while staying there, the staff tried there best with there cctv to i define the culprit with no result, but this not the hotels fault, apart from that we had an enjoyable stay here

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Well thank you for reviewing and we are so pleased you ''loved'' St George's.
It was so unfortunate regarding the car scrape, though the car park has cctv coverage it can be difficult at times to have a positive result.
Hopefully though we will see you back at St George's and James, our concierge will arrange specially, improved parking arrangements, so please contact me directly when the time comes.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed over bank holiday weekend and all in all had a pleasant stay. The greet was average at reception but should have been better. No offer of help was forthcoming to carry luggage. The room was clean and freshly serviced. The breakfast was first class and as good as any I have had. The restaurant staff were helpful and attentive. The hotel was at capacity but I guess this was to be expected on a bank holiday weekend.
Parking is at a premium with a limited number of spaces. The concierge do their best to assist the parking with a smile. The floors and landings look a little tired in places and they would benefit from an update and new carpets. The bar meals in the terrace restaurant were of good value and nicely served by the staff.
Overall, would stay again but that final finishing touch expected in a 4 star hotel was missing.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Well we do appreciate you will look to 'stay again.' and thank you for your balanced comments, we do look to offer assistance with luggage, including as you experienced, with our concierge all assistance, as well, with parking.
Of the 7 corridors and 5 landings, a rolling, never ending program of redecoration, is being carried out, with half completed, always the more difficult to work through the busy summer months,however I hope you did notice the amazing improvement there has been with the external painting now completed.
We hope and feel sure, on your return visit you will see the best of St George's.
All our best wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very nice hotel, and lovely to have a sea view balcony. Comfy beds. Breakfasts good. Evening meal main courses excellent, but starters served very cold. Afternoon cream tea not very special. Staff pleasant. Very helpful man took our luggage to our car in the car park. Hotel is close to shops as well as sea front.
I phoned to discuss what room would be suitable as we wanted a sea view balcony, but my 87 year old mother is a poor walker and uses a wheelchair so I needed to be sure the room was accessible. I was assured that the room was fully accessible so booked it 2 or 3 months in advance. When we arrived at our room there were about 4 steps. Reception said there were no other sea view balcony rooms available, but the man with the luggage turned up and offered to fit a ramp on the stairs, which he then did. This solved the problem except that I have painful hands so could have done without the heaving up and down of the wheelchair and mother! It spoilt my trip really.
On the notice board outside the hotel we saw that there was a pianist on one of our evenings. We turned up at the appointed time but there was no pianist. We asked reception to look into it and it turned out he had left a couple of weeks previously and there was no replacement. A bit of a disappointment.
I would return to this hotel, but I would double or triple check that I was getting the right room!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueandallan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Well thank you for your kind comments on our lovely hotel and team however do really wish to say how we understand that the 2 steps on the corridor are a difficulty, clearly for anyone using that room with access difficulties, just so pleased, we managed to resolve the issue, in part by fitting the ramp. We have also made the note regarding allocating that room to wheelchair users.
The pianist was no longer able to perform and we were sourcing an alternative, but do regret if you were disappointed.
We are so pleased you would be returning and our reservations team will assist with the proper room allocation for your needs.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This was a real surprise, great venue inside a traditional 4 star hotel. Staff very friendly a little more training needed but extremely polite. Drinks a bit haphazard cocktails not good.
Meal a mixed bag well presented but lacked taste. By the speed of the courses the Caesar salad had
Been made much earlier. I had king prawn linguine but they missed adding some taste to the meal. Portions small but adequate.
Generally the restaurante ambience and entertainment was fantasic. Despite the average meal we had a thoroughly enjoyable night.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

So you have experienced our new ''pop-up'' restaurant Senses, this was actually only the second night of opening and we are thrilled with the success so far. You had a ''thoroughly enjoyable evening'' as did the many other fellow diners that evening. Sadly you felt the rating should only be average for value and service, it is with genuine regret and disappointment by all our enthusiastic team this was your opinion, fortunately we are heartened by the many comments that it was a great evening for food, service and entertainment and at amazing value. We do hope you will return and we can show you why it makes sense.
Best wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I myself,my wife and two daughters aged 11&12 yrs old ,spent two days[29/07-02/08] a family room,very comfortable,staff are excellent very helpful,very polite,cannot fault it,breakfast was excellent,bedrooms clean,comfortable,perfect,will certainly be going back ,expensive yes,but well worth it,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvcapstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for such nice comments and we are so pleased you and your family, so enjoyed your stay at St George's. We do hope to welcome you all back in the future to Llandudno and St George's.
Kind regards and Best Wishes.
Tony Burns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £91 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing