We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer hotel than we were expecting”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights very recently. Great location and very clean. Checking in and out was easy. Food was pretty good for hotel food and the price of drinks was average. Bed was very comfy and bathroom really big. Only downside was it was too warm in my bedroom and too noisy when I opened the window (room out the back over the ait con unit)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Well thank you for taking the time to review, and pleased to read you found everything so good and even, better than expected.
One point that did detract, was the warm room, which could have been resolved, as all rooms have air conditioning so there's no need to open windows and hope if you do return, we will be happy to show you how to operate the bedroom controls.
Thank you for reviewing and look forward to welcoming you back to St George's.
All our best wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
There are newer reviews for St. George's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were on a Travel Editions Tour of north Wales and this was our base for 3 nights. It lives up to its 4 **** apart from the lift, which is way too small for a hotel of this size, only taking four people (without cases). Buffet breakfast was very good, and it was nice to be served at the counter rather than having to push and shove. Great to have your toast cooked rather than doing it yourself too. Dinner was served to us in a Group, but the choice was quite satisfactory. We had a room on the fourth floor (hence the lift comment) but the rooms have been engineered very well up there, so no problems. Did find the free wifi was a bit hit and miss up there though. Not likely to be going back to Llandudno, but would consider using this hotel if we did.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_in_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for your review and do hope you and the group enjoyed the beauty and attractions of North Wales and Llandudno.
Thank you for your kind comments and yes it would be better to have a larger lift, but the majority of times there are no real issues, obviously as you found, when a group arrives it would help if it was larger. Our wifi did have a ''glitch'' which am pleased to say is now resolved and still is free.
We hope in the future there maybe a chance of you returning and if so, will ensure there is a warm welcome at St George's.
Best wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel is recently decorated and so carries the benefits of looking good. On arrival the receptionist and 'porter' were deep in conversation which they continued until I interrupted them. Otherwise the staff we aware and courteous.

Breakfast was a wonderful selection of choices.

The room was smaller than expected given that I had been told it had a seating area. The bathroom was very small and poorly appointed with a rackety shower screen which constantly bumps the person taking a shower.

Our sea view was through dirty windows and gull-stained windowsills. Otherwise the hotel is very clean inside.

A nice hotel and expensive for what it delivers.

Room Tip: Bear in mind that front rooms have view of sea and there may be street lights glaring in and sea gul...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank id27226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Well thank you for reviewing and for your mixed comments.
It is nice to read that the considerable and extensive refurbishment and painting of St George's results in you thinking it ''looks good.''
We do note your arrival could have been better, but encouraged that you found our team polite and courteous, however would agree that a warm welcome is a lovely first impression, and will look to provide every time.
We are pleased to read,you found our breakfasts so enjoyable, however as for your room, we regret you were disappointed and would advise booking direct with Eve on Reservations who will always assist in finding the best room available.
We do of course have our windows regularly cleaned, however bad weather and yes seagulls can frustrate us no matter how hard we try, but appreciate you felt we provided, good standards of housekeeping.
As to finding better value, my suggestion would be to look on our website rather than a third party for any special offers or promotions.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We returned for our one year anniversary and the service was as fantastic as on our wedding day. The room was gorgeous with a massive bathroom, the meal by the window overlooking the front was delicious and the breakfast in bed was the icing on the cake. The best thing about the hotel is its staff as they are all friendly and willing to do anything to deliver good service. Natasha in particular helped to make our wedding wonderful and also our anniversary stay so thank-you very much. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SassariCharlieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Well first our very best wishes for your 1st. wedding anniversary and where has that year gone?
I would have to agree the best thing about St George's is the team, undoubtedly.
Thank you, for mentioning Natasha, who is invaluable to the hotel and our bridal couples, in making their weddings so special.
Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Enjoyed my stay at the hotel. We had a family room, two single beds and a sofa bed. Not enormous but a nice size room. The bathroom was a good size and clean except the mastic around the bath was discoloured. All the things were there that you expect from a hotel of this quality. The staff were very accommodating to our demands - more tea, milk, duvet and the complimentary water they supply etc. Llandudno was great for the kids, the beach was across the road, we went crabbing on the pier and played in the arcades. There are some nice walks from the hotel. We travelled by train which worked really well as the train station is really close to the hotel. There are a lot of restaurants and cafes. We kept going to Fortes for the ice cream. Do not feed the seagulls from the bedroom windows because you will have them banging on the window at 6am and putting their heads under the gap in the window and dragging bits outside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing and telling us about your memorable family holiday. It is so encouraging to read how as a family you enjoyed Llandudno and it's attractions so much, and of course, not forgetting, St George's.
Hope we will be welcoming you all back at the next opportunity.
Kindest Regards and Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel is definitely the best in Llandudno. I stayed here for one night with family for my Grandad's 88th birthday. The service from start to finish was outstanding. Staff were friendly, polite and showed great attention to detail with a personal touch without being intrusive. Sadly many of the major hotel chains lack these personal qualities which is why this hotel wins hands down.

The rooms a beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean, ours boasted a spectacular sea view. My Grandad was well looked after being given a complementary glass of sparkling wine and birthday cards from the staff that really made his day. A special mention to Valerie and the restaurant staff who were so friendly and looked after my Grandad so well. They are an asset to the hotel.

The hotel offers fine dining with delicious ingredients. We definitely hope to return in the near future. I would unreservedly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Llandudno or North Wales.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

A wonderful and kind review, thank you so much and so encouraging for the team, Valerie being especially pleased to be mentioned.
Special family occasions and such ''get together's '' mean a lot, and we are so pleased we contributed to the celebrations of Grandad's 88th......Well done Grandad !!
We hope we'll see you back for his next one...
With kind regards and best wishes to you all.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights with our 4 year old son who loved it. Family room good size and clean.

Great spot for the beach. Parking really difficult (general for llandudno) but managed to find somewhere.

Staff what should be expected of 4 star hotel but not personal.

We stayed bed and breakfast and both were of a good standard, though on 2nd morning they ran out of food for parts of the cooked breakfast (not something that should be expected !)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trainer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing, though not fully understanding some of the ratings given. Would have to say that the team, as shown by the hundreds of reviews are a friendly and enthusiastic team, and so really regret that personable aspect didn't come through for you.
We hope you will return to St George's and if so, promise you a warm welcome and enjoyable stay.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £111 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing