We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Christmas Treat at The George”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Kidwelly, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Christmas Treat at The George”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have just come back from having Christmas at The George and instantly must say what a delight the staff are at this hotel. They are professional and polite but not stuffy as can sometimes be associated with 4 star hotels. Nothing was too much trouble, how lovely in todays' society that we felt genuinly welcomed and looked after. Our room, we felt, although meticulously clean and furnished to a high standard, was a little on the cosy side, however, the bed was superbly comfortable and every amenity was available, including complimentary wine, chocolates and a his and hers gifts for us as it was Christmas. Lovely, thoughtful. We enjoyed the food and the evening pianists, especially the gentleman who played on Christmas Day night, brilliant, he was a master of his profession! Although we had a side room, we could still see views of the Great Orme and sea front. We treated ourselves to the Boxing Day panto of Sleeping Beauty at Venue Cymru and were still back in time for a good evening meal. We would have no hesitation at recommending The George to anyone and we hope to return again ourselves. Thank you to Tony Burns and his fine team for making our Christmas special.

Room Tip: If available and you can stretch to it, go for a sea view, first floor with a balcony, perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
First thank you for taking the trouble to post a review, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas, with us all at St George's.
It was lovely to meet you and even more so to read your kind words and we hope, there will be an opportunity in 2014 to welcome you back, to see us and St George's.
With all our very best wishes for 2014
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    356
    109
    41
    31
See reviews for
276
636
37
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff, location excellent,
Sea view room was awesome. Made the mistake of checking in somewhere, ended up walking out and checking into the St George- should have done this first as the price difference was only slightly more to stay in a great hotel than a crap one.

Room Tip: Start with a good hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Such a lovely and much appreciated review.
We are just so pleased we saved you from a bad experience while staying in Llandudno.
Thank you for taking the trouble to review it really does encourage the whole team.
Finally we hope, we may in the future, be welcoming you back to North Wales, Llandudno and St George's.
All our best wishes for 2014
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Once again we celebrated our special date with a superb meal in the Terrace Restaurant at St.George's Hotel. As on previous occasions, everything was spot on!
We had a wonderful warm welcome from all the staff and relaxed with a pre- dinner drink in the lounge before being seated on the Terrace. Our meal was excellent and we enjoyed every morsel of the delicious cuisine! Our compliments to the Chef!!!
So we would like to say a huge 'thank you' to the brilliant management and staff for creating such a wonderful evening! Also to give a special mention to Robert O.,Javier and Abby who went the 'extra mile' to ensure everything was just perfect - you are the best!!!
To anyone reading this review we would like to say you must come and try out this wonderful experience for yourself!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergioLlandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Well first of all Beat Wishes and so pleased we added to your memories of your Anniversary celebrations.
Thank you for your very kind words and certainly Robert and Abby are so pleased to have been mentioned in ''dispatches.'' It is a great team which makes all the difference.
Thank you again for reviewing and we would like to wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Great service at the restaurant but the bar service was just excellent. Bar staff was fast good and really lovely. Didn't have to wait at all to be served, manager is a genius to organise such a good team and service

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biala84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
It is great to know you so much enjoyed the evening, and your kind words will encourage and be appreciated by all the team at this busy time...even the genius will be pleased.
Merry Christmas and Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ystalyfera, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a delegate at the NASUWT Cymru conference. We had a very enjoyable stay in a very nice room which had a sea view and a balcony! Llandudno is very nice too. The staff were efficient and friendly and the hotel nicely decorated for Christmas. Excellent breakfast and evening meal, lunch somewhat disappointing with what looked like McDonald's chips to go with pasta dishes or chicken in a sauce? Would enjoy returning. Can't remember the number of the room to recommend but check for sea view and balcony. Throw off the runner at the bottom of the bed it feels like a dead body on your legs and the room is very hot. Otherwise enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annwyn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for placing a review and even though on a conference, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Just hope there will be another opportunity to return, perhaps for a little more relaxation.
Thanks and best wishes from all at St George's.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This Victorian built hotel is beautiful and understated. The rooms vary so much (went with colleagues for a business meeting and we all had a quick look at each other's rooms before we left) but each of them are tasteful and have all expected facilities. The only negatives were: the shower wasn't very powerful - but this could be due to high number of people showering at a similar time - and that the breakfast service staff weren't very quick (coffee took AGES to arrive!) but they were very polite, well kept and friendly.
The biggest pro, for a few colleagues and myself, were the reception staff (and porters) were very friendly and didn't mind helping with anything. And it was also through the evening reception staff that my colleagues and I learnt of (and had directions to) The Cottage Loaf - one of the nicest pubs I've been to and serving just beautiful food!
We all had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If you have a preferred style of room, do say - there is such variety of rooms available: from doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for reviewing and your kind comments, have especially mentioned reception and porters who genuinely appreciate your encouraging remarks.
We hope it wont be too long before welcoming you back to North Wales, Llandudno and St George's.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed for one night for an awards ceremony which included a 4 course meal. The room and bathroom were large and well appointed although the room could have done with a good dusting. The temperature gauge in the room was 32 degrees when we arrived and the room was stifling. We eventually managed to open the window but it only opens about 2" and it took a long time for the room to cool to an acceptable temperature. We were on the third floor and the Wi-Fi did not appear to reach as far as our room. We're sure the hotel will say that it's an old building with thick walls, but we are in the hospitality trade and have a succession of routers to beam the signal around our old Victorian building so in this day and age there is no excuse. If we had been staying here on business this would have been a real show stopper.
The meal was a real disappointment from a 4 star hotel. The first course of salmon was very nice but came with a tiny piece of bread and no extra bread was available. The second course was carrot and ginger soup - we only know this because it said so on the menu. The soup itself was bland and tasteless and again there was only one bread roll on offer. The main course was overcooked beef and vegetables with rubbery Yorkshire pudding. The sweet was the only course worth of 4 stars.
After the meal and before the entertainment started, we went back to the room only to find the lights had all fused. We to reception only to find a notice saying "Dial 0 for night porter". No indication of where we should dial from as there was no phone and it was too dark to find the phone in the bedroom. We eventually hailed a passing member of staff who found someone who could help. He came to the bedroom and flicked a switch on the fuse box so the lights works. However, he couldn't replace the bulb in the main light which he said would have to wait until the morning! As operators in the hospitality trade, we do not find this acceptable as we would have changed the bulb straight away.
Breakfast was a similar standard to the evening meal. There was the usual good selection of cereals and yogurts, but the cooked breakfast was truly dreadful. Tiny bland sausages, dried up black pudding and bacon and cold fried eggs.
We were looking forward to staying at this hotel as it always looks so impressive and has some amazing function rooms. However, we left feeling very disappointed at the poor quality food and a general feeling that it is not four star.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiftsgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
You title your review 'disappointing', and clearly for us it is disappointing that you didn't enjoy your stay. However, what is even more disappointing is that, as you keep mentioning you are in "the trade" and you then resort, only in placing your opinion on this public site, without raising these points directly with ourselves at the time, which as an 'operator in the trade' surely would have been more appropriate and supportive of a fellow local business.
So in response to your points raised, firstly the dusty room, the levels of cleanliness is rated on this site as very good to excellent and we are proud of our consistent standards achieved by our housekeeping team.
The window only opens actually 4 inches and surprising being in the 'trade' you are not aware of child safety latches restricting the opening of windows which is a strong recommendation from the Health and Safety Executive.
The temperature gauge is on the air conditioning panel and had clearly been set too high, the instructions are on the control.
Wifi is available on all floors as we do have a succession of routers installed, on checking there was wifi available on the 3 rd. floor, it is regrettable you seem to have had difficulty.
The awards dinner you attended we have only had from the organizers and many of the guests praise for the service and food. We are pleased to already have the same event booked for next year on the basis of how successful it has been. Please visit our website to read the blogs and tweets we have received from your fellow guests.
As to the fused light our Health and Safety Policy is to instruct our team during night porter hours not to use ladders, and I understand all other lights were working.
As to breakfast well we are sorry you were disappointed but as your review opinion on the dinner was such, this was to be regrettably expected.
Yes disappointing is right, but for for different reasons.
Yours sincerely
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
879 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing