We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly awful - not entirely sure why”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2008

My friend and I stayed in a number of different hotels in Llandudno and Conwy, so we were able to directly compare the experience of each venue.

I booked a superior twin sea view as our mid-range, mid-price option. St. George's was easily the biggest disappointment.

On arrival the staff were indifferent and clinical rather than welcoming. Our experience (repeatedly) was that they would answer the phone or deal with other 'priority' problems while guests were waiting at the desk.

The only way I can describe our first impression of the hotel atmosphere is that it felt like a high-class, efficient, affluent and well run home for the gently bewildered - even down to the faint smell of carbolic and wee.

The room was clean, modern, well decorated and maintained. It had sea views and excellent aircon, although the twin beds were just 2 or 3 inches apart and very 'slidey' - essentially a twin for "very good friends"...

The bathroom extractor sounded like a 747 taking off and had to be deactivated, as it was on a timer triggered every time you turned on the light to go to the loo, which was frequently (see food comments below).

The restaurant started well with a nice atmosphere and pleasant seating arrangements and views, but was full on our first night, so book in advance if you stay here. Reception recommended we go to a nice Indian restaurant instead. It was closed.

Our 'in house' meal the second day was an object lesson in fail from start to finish. Every service contained at least one mistake (e.g wrong wine, wrong main). My steak was undercooked and presented with a side dish of inedible chips (transparent wobbly tubes that you could literally wring drips of grease from). The pate starter was clearly pre-prepared, and had been for some time - although that was the least of its problems since it was wrapped in what was essentially a block of raw lard.

We moved on to the bar, where the beer was flat and the complimentary nibbles bendy ("but they were fresh yesterday and we keep them in a box!"). We did not expect Michelin-star food or service, but for the price we did expect some intelligence in the design and care in execution of the food.

Not one of the staff asked if we were enjoing our meal, or even apologised for any of the errors either when we walked out of the restaurant, or when we checked out a day early (we felt £175/night was excessive).

We had a particularly poor experience, but I did get the impression that other (perhaps more elderly) guests were quite happy - so maybe it was just us!

In summary, I'm afraid we felt unloved and ripped off.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank STregaronH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorges2, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2008

Your comments are certainly mixed to respond to your points with regards to our team being indifferent and clinical or not apologising then I can only say on guests feedback [see recent] the main points highlighted is our concern for guest care and attention I am genuinely sad you experienced different as the success of StGeorges is founded on the high levels of guest care.
Thank you for your kind comments on the recent investment in providing a ''modern high class and well maintained hotel''
Our restaurant has as you say a wonderful atmosphere and lovely views unfortunately on the first night we were so busy but we do offer an extensive bar menu in our seaview lounge.
As for your meal all dishes including starters are prepared to order. The parfait was wrapped with a herb and mustard butter a classic presentation for such a dish I am sorry you did not enjoy as for the main course I have discussed your comments with my chef and regret you were disappointed.
StGeorges has gained and maintained an AA rosette for our food and as a very successful hotel the cornerstone of our success is our guests appreciation of our food and is held in the highest of importance.
Having checked with my bars manager there were no issues with the beer that evening but am sorry you were disappointed.
Finally your comments which reflect ageism and a degree of rudeness I have no wish to comment on other than we wish at StGeorges to provide a warm welcome for 'all' guests in our fully refurbished and friendly hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,407 - 1,413 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night break at this hotel. We knew there had been a kitchen fire and that the full restaurant menu was not available,but we deceided to try the terrrace menu only because it was difficult eating elsewhere because we had my elderly disabled mother with us.
We booked a table for 7.30pm and at 8.30pm we and many other diners had still not had main courses. The menu was very limited ranging from roast to sandwiches.The staff continually apologised to the point of embarrasment, blaming the mood of the chef. Anyway we got through the evening.
The second night and a different chef and restaurant manager proved no problems at all.
Saturday July 12th arrived and fish and chips and two roast beef dinners again created an hours wait with yet more and more apologises from staff.
At the same time there was a wedding going on and a coach party who all seemed to get their meals on time. It would appear that independent holiday makers came bottom of the pile.
The bar we are instructed is table service, but this just does not work. We witnessed on many occaisions people walking out because of long waits. Orders are left on the bar and not served by staff and you end up fetching the drinks yourself.
At the time of the wedding ,table service went out of the window and people just went up and got their own drinks causing great confusion.
Breakfast on Sunday was one long queue,This could have been avoided by seperating the juices,cereals and fruit form the hot buffet.
Then check-out was a disaster due to 2 nights being charged at one rate and one night at another, the receptionist could not understand my query and told me to wait while she sorted it out I asked to see a manager but this was ignored and her colleague had to sort the bill out which she did quite satisfactorily.
We have stayed at this hotel before when it was a Macdonald hotel, and at that time completely warranted its 4****.But no way does it warrant them now.
Mangagement does not seem to exist, I have never heard so many people apologise in one place over a short period , but perhaps they only want wedding custom at a cost of over £10,000 as overheard the next morning.
We have stayed in many hotels home and abroad and we have never felt so strongly as to comment on tripadvisor before.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank Julia57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorges2, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2008

We are very sorry your experience at StGEORGES was not as good as previous visits. We had contacted you prior to arriving to inform you that StGeorges had suffered a major fire in it's main kitchen which resulted in us being only able to offer a limited menu and your booking was changed to a Bed and Breakfast arrangement.
The first two nights bar a slight delay seem fine, considering the difficulties, I therefore regret the inconveniences and delay on your last night.
I cannot though regret that my staff were apologising. We now have a brand new Kitchen in operation probably the BEST in North Wales it certainly was a very difficult time for the team but they were so marvelous in showing their concern, to all our guests for any, which at times there were, problems which may have detracted from their stay.
I would ask that you contact me direct, so I may assure you with our kitchen back in operation we do warrant, if not more so the 4 AA stars and rosette for our food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

Thanks to some recent renovation the hotel has regained most of its splendour but with some nice modern touches. The rooms are spacious and clean with some fantastic views if you're facing the front. the staff are really helpful and the food good. Maybe a little overpriced considering it is a north Wales resort and pretty much populated by retired holidaymakers as is the case in this part of the world so hardly lively, but plenty of places on the doorstep to entertain. Worth a stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rhyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorges2, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2008

Thank you for taking the time to make a review we do appreciate your kind comments and have passed them on to the team. We are proud of our new St Georges and do try to deliver great service. As for your comment on value try booking next time direct through our own website as we guarantee our best rates available. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

we stayed at the St Georges Hotel over the may day bank holiday weekend.
This is the hotel to stay if visiting Llandudno, the room we stayed in was excellent and had great views, it was very clean , well equipped and modern as was the main hotel .
Its right on the sea front and a very short distance away from the shopping street.
We did not experience any problems at all during our stay.
Fantastic ,would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorges2, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2008

Again would wish to thank you and it is so appreciated to receive such kind comments.
We do hope to welcome you back to StGeorges soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

Just back from a weekend at this lovely hotel. It is a fine Victorian building which has been completely refurbished to a very high standard. It made such a refreshing change to stay in an old UK hotel that did NOT look shabby, and like it had seen better days. We had sea facing rooms on the second floor and they were super. Clean and spotless, with a sparkling bathroom. New sash windows which didn't rattle and were not covered in layers of peeling paint, like so many older seaside hotels. Very tastefully furnished and well appointed.
The staff were so incredibley helpful and "on the ball", without being intrusive. We had a lovely couple of evening meals in the terrace restaurant overlooking the sea. The food was excellent.
It may seem a rather expensive hotel, but you definitely get what you pay for, and I would rather stay somewhere like this, with high standards, for 2 nights, than somewhere inferior and cheaper for a week!
We shall certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Wizzie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorges2, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2008

Thank you for your kind comments it is so appreciated when the investment made in the hotel is so acknowledged but even more so on the team's performance. We will look forward to welcoming you back to St Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

Stayed one night (Saturday), DB&B, in a fourth floor, non-Sea View "classic" double. Room was smallish but clean and in excellent condition. Public areas were very nice too. Had a lovely dinner in the sea-view terrace restaurant and enjoyed coffee and cake there during the day. Staff in the restaurant were friendly, helpful and efficient. Hotel was in an excellent location - right on the promenade.
Breakfast was typical for a big hotel - good quality food but suffering slightly from sitting under hot buffet lights. We got to breakfast early on Sunday morning, but by mid-sitting there were long queues at the relatively small buffet table.
Only major downer was the shower - it looked like a power shower, but it was far from it! It was the weakest dribble we have ever seen - if you lifted the shower head too high the water actually stopped altogether. We phoned reception to ask if there was a problem, but were told that it was always like this when lots of guests were showering at the same time! (We tried the shower later when the breakfast room was full and it was just as bad.)
The only other disappointment was the lack of parking. Their website says "Parking is available on site". We feel this is somewhat misleading as it implies there will be no problem getting a space. In fact, SOME parking is available on site but not nearly enough for when they are fully booked. Street parking is free (or very cheap) but on a busy Saturday afternoon it took us over 30 minutes of driving around to find a space.
Overall - a very nice hotel with great staff, good food and recently refurbished rooms, only let down by a couple of niggles.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Carpet_Frogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2008

thank you for all your kind comments as for the shower issue with our full refurbishment a new hot water system was also installed there have been a few gremlins and only this week the contractor has surveyed to make modifications to ensure there will be no further issues.
Our normal standard of breakfast service is plated only in particular circumstances does a buffet style operate however there still should be no lowering of standards.
As for parking it is difficult in Llandudno however we are fortunate in having one of the largest hotel car parks in the town for 36 cars there of course is varied parking available on the promenade and side streets, paid or with restricted time and an ncp park 2 minutes away. I would advise when next visiting to park by our main entrance check in with reception who will offer assistance with luggage and advice on parking.
Finally thank you again for kind comments we look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

We have just returned from a perfect 2 day stay at this fabulous hotel. Thank you to Trip Advisor - it was some of the reviews on here and some photos that persuaded us to give it a go!

What can we say? The hotel is a grand old lady but inside has been renovated to very high standard, The bedroom was a classic sea front double and rather 'cosy' (or compact) but beautifully furnished with a superb view of the bay. We had the added benefit of air con and generally the room was very quiet. The only noise we heard at all from people in rooms around was first thing this morning but that was not the fault of the hotel but the people above us who obviously were oblivious to the fact that they were not the only people in Wales!

On our first night we ate in the Wedgwood Room not the Terrace Restaurant. We were a little surprised but the room is fantastic and as the Manager has replied in the last post the food and service were excellent. We ate there for breakfast as well and each time have no complaints. Last night we ate in the Terrace Restaurant and it was perfect. We were on half board but only had to pay an additional £3 per person for our a la carte last night.

We decided to eat in the Terrace Restaurant for lunch yesterday and had great 'lite bites' - a huge salad and a jacket potato. It sounds basic but believe us, it was not and we ended up with rather more than a snack. I would say the prices were good for a 4 star hotel - about £5.90 for the jacket but this came with ample filling, a large salad and crisps. I'm sure we've paid that at a Brewers Fayre! With it came a fantastic view of the bay.

We also had a drink in the lounge bar - very relaxing and again 4 star prices. At the end of the day in any 4 star hotel you pay 4 star prices for drinks! I think hubby paid about £3.20 for a pint of larger and I had a 175ml of decent rose for about £5.

The staff - great. I think a lot were Eastern European but have to say that though, at first they were a litte 'unsure' , after a bit of banter from us,some smiles, thankyous and compliments re the food etc they really became so very friendly and 'lightened up'. I do sometimes think that guests forget that staff are human and not robots! We were only there from Friday evening to Sunday morning but felt right at home in a very short time.

As for Llandudno - simply perfect. We were lucky and had great weather - sunny skies all day. It is a beautiful part of Britain and can't be beaten.

Have to laugh about the age arguement - we are in our mid 40s but dont consider ourselves 'conservative' or 'old'. Age is in the mind not the appearance - have been in 'young' hotels and people there needed a personality transplant or a sense of humour. All of the guests this weekend when we were had time for a chat, a laugh, a passing 'hello' and apart from the people above us this morning were polite people out for a good time in beautiful surroundings.

Must admit, from other reviews you will see that we love old hotels like the Palace in Buxton and Imperial in Blackpool. Must admit, this hotel gave them a run for their money and if the owners of Paramount look at this they could pick up some tips about making their accommodation a really top notch 4 star!

It was also very nice to see that all of the furnishings were 'home grown' - the cutlery from Sheffied, the bathroom from Twyfords in Hanley and the crockery from Churchills Stoke on Trent. It sounds daft but as we come from the Potteries it is nice to see a hotel supporting British companies in this way! (Even though the waiter caught us checking out the stamp on the plates and thought we were mad! Its a 'Potteries' thing and anyone reading this from Stoke on Trent will have been there and done it too!)

As you can tell we simply loved our break - thank you to everyone at St George's - we have another hotel to add to our list of favourites!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Presto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2008

Thank you for your very kind comments which have been passed to all the team. We do try to offer an efficient but friendly service and are very proud of our newly refurbished hotel. We hope it won't be too long before we welcome you back to St Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
987 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £87 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing