We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice change”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2008

I stayed at the St George after it was recommended to me. I was in two minds as Llandudno to me is more for the older generation. We went ahead and booked and we were plesantly surprised when we arrived to a tastefully decorated modern feeling hotel, my expectations were flower pattern curtains but there were none in sight!!! We had one of the suites overlooking the promenade, we did have a little balcony which was great, and the room was fantastic.

We did eat in the restaurant, which I must say is breathtaking, it is called the Wedgewood Suite, and you will see why, it is simply stunning. The food was excellent, I even went for a dessert, this is not the norm for me!!

I would say that our weather was not fantastic, but you can't have everything, it als gave a good excuse to lounge around in the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank foodpassion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorges2, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2008

Thank you for your kind review we are very proud of our ''new'' hotel though StGeorges is over 150 years old we feel the contemporary style is so attractive while still keeping the wonderful features, as you mentioned our stunning Wedgwood room.
Your kind comments will be passed to our team thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,378 - 1,384 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2008

Myself ,mother and sister had three nights at the George Staff were great -always friendly Had a lovely room overlooking the sea -which was spacious and very clean We were on a Dinner bed and breakfast basis and would definately recommend the food at this hotel - We will definately return V Jones

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonesPowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2008

Thank you for your review we do appreciate all feedback and of course will pass your kind comments on to the team and look forward to welcoming you back to StGeorges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We made a late booking online and got an amazing deal, Dinner, Bed & Breakfast in a sea front suite for a very reasonable price. Hotel has a perfect location on the sea front.

The check was quick (no porters to help though) and we were in our suite on the 3rd floor in no time. The rooms are large and well furnished. The bed is a superking, and if we could have seen out of the high windows, would have been a perfect view on waking, looking at the sea and the pier. The bathroom was huge, no tripping over one another in this one, enormous towels, bathrobes and slippers.

The food in the restaurant is delicious and beautifully presented. We had the frois gras and mackerel, lamb and steak and Crème Brulee. We took a leisurely 3 hours as there was a wedding reception going on and the guests had taken over the majority of the public rooms and bar.

Breakfast is buffet style in the Wedgwood room and again was delicious. Plenty of cereal/pastries/fruit and wide choice of fresh cooked hot options.

I definitely recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorges2, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2008

Thank you for all your kind comments and time in leaving a review.
Your appreciation of our 'best rate guarantee' supports our belief that the best value should be through our own website.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to StGeorges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

My friend and I stayed in a number of different hotels in Llandudno and Conwy, so we were able to directly compare the experience of each venue.

I booked a superior twin sea view as our mid-range, mid-price option. St. George's was easily the biggest disappointment.

On arrival the staff were indifferent and clinical rather than welcoming. Our experience (repeatedly) was that they would answer the phone or deal with other 'priority' problems while guests were waiting at the desk.

The only way I can describe our first impression of the hotel atmosphere is that it felt like a high-class, efficient, affluent and well run home for the gently bewildered - even down to the faint smell of carbolic and wee.

The room was clean, modern, well decorated and maintained. It had sea views and excellent aircon, although the twin beds were just 2 or 3 inches apart and very 'slidey' - essentially a twin for "very good friends"...

The bathroom extractor sounded like a 747 taking off and had to be deactivated, as it was on a timer triggered every time you turned on the light to go to the loo, which was frequently (see food comments below).

The restaurant started well with a nice atmosphere and pleasant seating arrangements and views, but was full on our first night, so book in advance if you stay here. Reception recommended we go to a nice Indian restaurant instead. It was closed.

Our 'in house' meal the second day was an object lesson in fail from start to finish. Every service contained at least one mistake (e.g wrong wine, wrong main). My steak was undercooked and presented with a side dish of inedible chips (transparent wobbly tubes that you could literally wring drips of grease from). The pate starter was clearly pre-prepared, and had been for some time - although that was the least of its problems since it was wrapped in what was essentially a block of raw lard.

We moved on to the bar, where the beer was flat and the complimentary nibbles bendy ("but they were fresh yesterday and we keep them in a box!"). We did not expect Michelin-star food or service, but for the price we did expect some intelligence in the design and care in execution of the food.

Not one of the staff asked if we were enjoing our meal, or even apologised for any of the errors either when we walked out of the restaurant, or when we checked out a day early (we felt £175/night was excessive).

We had a particularly poor experience, but I did get the impression that other (perhaps more elderly) guests were quite happy - so maybe it was just us!

In summary, I'm afraid we felt unloved and ripped off.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank STregaronH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorges2, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2008

Your comments are certainly mixed to respond to your points with regards to our team being indifferent and clinical or not apologising then I can only say on guests feedback [see recent] the main points highlighted is our concern for guest care and attention I am genuinely sad you experienced different as the success of StGeorges is founded on the high levels of guest care.
Thank you for your kind comments on the recent investment in providing a ''modern high class and well maintained hotel''
Our restaurant has as you say a wonderful atmosphere and lovely views unfortunately on the first night we were so busy but we do offer an extensive bar menu in our seaview lounge.
As for your meal all dishes including starters are prepared to order. The parfait was wrapped with a herb and mustard butter a classic presentation for such a dish I am sorry you did not enjoy as for the main course I have discussed your comments with my chef and regret you were disappointed.
StGeorges has gained and maintained an AA rosette for our food and as a very successful hotel the cornerstone of our success is our guests appreciation of our food and is held in the highest of importance.
Having checked with my bars manager there were no issues with the beer that evening but am sorry you were disappointed.
Finally your comments which reflect ageism and a degree of rudeness I have no wish to comment on other than we wish at StGeorges to provide a warm welcome for 'all' guests in our fully refurbished and friendly hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night break at this hotel. We knew there had been a kitchen fire and that the full restaurant menu was not available,but we deceided to try the terrrace menu only because it was difficult eating elsewhere because we had my elderly disabled mother with us.
We booked a table for 7.30pm and at 8.30pm we and many other diners had still not had main courses. The menu was very limited ranging from roast to sandwiches.The staff continually apologised to the point of embarrasment, blaming the mood of the chef. Anyway we got through the evening.
The second night and a different chef and restaurant manager proved no problems at all.
Saturday July 12th arrived and fish and chips and two roast beef dinners again created an hours wait with yet more and more apologises from staff.
At the same time there was a wedding going on and a coach party who all seemed to get their meals on time. It would appear that independent holiday makers came bottom of the pile.
The bar we are instructed is table service, but this just does not work. We witnessed on many occaisions people walking out because of long waits. Orders are left on the bar and not served by staff and you end up fetching the drinks yourself.
At the time of the wedding ,table service went out of the window and people just went up and got their own drinks causing great confusion.
Breakfast on Sunday was one long queue,This could have been avoided by seperating the juices,cereals and fruit form the hot buffet.
Then check-out was a disaster due to 2 nights being charged at one rate and one night at another, the receptionist could not understand my query and told me to wait while she sorted it out I asked to see a manager but this was ignored and her colleague had to sort the bill out which she did quite satisfactorily.
We have stayed at this hotel before when it was a Macdonald hotel, and at that time completely warranted its 4****.But no way does it warrant them now.
Mangagement does not seem to exist, I have never heard so many people apologise in one place over a short period , but perhaps they only want wedding custom at a cost of over £10,000 as overheard the next morning.
We have stayed in many hotels home and abroad and we have never felt so strongly as to comment on tripadvisor before.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank Julia57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorges2, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2008

We are very sorry your experience at StGEORGES was not as good as previous visits. We had contacted you prior to arriving to inform you that StGeorges had suffered a major fire in it's main kitchen which resulted in us being only able to offer a limited menu and your booking was changed to a Bed and Breakfast arrangement.
The first two nights bar a slight delay seem fine, considering the difficulties, I therefore regret the inconveniences and delay on your last night.
I cannot though regret that my staff were apologising. We now have a brand new Kitchen in operation probably the BEST in North Wales it certainly was a very difficult time for the team but they were so marvelous in showing their concern, to all our guests for any, which at times there were, problems which may have detracted from their stay.
I would ask that you contact me direct, so I may assure you with our kitchen back in operation we do warrant, if not more so the 4 AA stars and rosette for our food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

Thanks to some recent renovation the hotel has regained most of its splendour but with some nice modern touches. The rooms are spacious and clean with some fantastic views if you're facing the front. the staff are really helpful and the food good. Maybe a little overpriced considering it is a north Wales resort and pretty much populated by retired holidaymakers as is the case in this part of the world so hardly lively, but plenty of places on the doorstep to entertain. Worth a stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rhyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorges2, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2008

Thank you for taking the time to make a review we do appreciate your kind comments and have passed them on to the team. We are proud of our new St Georges and do try to deliver great service. As for your comment on value try booking next time direct through our own website as we guarantee our best rates available. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

we stayed at the St Georges Hotel over the may day bank holiday weekend.
This is the hotel to stay if visiting Llandudno, the room we stayed in was excellent and had great views, it was very clean , well equipped and modern as was the main hotel .
Its right on the sea front and a very short distance away from the shopping street.
We did not experience any problems at all during our stay.
Fantastic ,would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorges2, manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2008

Again would wish to thank you and it is so appreciated to receive such kind comments.
We do hope to welcome you back to StGeorges soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
975 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £90 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing