We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had high expectations of this hotel and looked forward to stay here. The most disappointing was the bedroom we were given at the rear of the hotel, i asked for a sea view room in the "special requests" section when making the reservation on their own website! We were then moved to a small side view room.
However, the breakfast and service was very good set in elegant style. There is parking at the rear of the hotel. Location is perfect on the seafront.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AStylishTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

We are also 'disappointed' that in your review you have clearly decided to stay at St George's due to the many excellent reviews we have received. However on booking through our website you only booked a standard classic room, not a sea view room, though requested a sea view if available. As there wasn't, the room allocated is what was booked and we so regret you have rated your review on this basis.
However we are pleased and appreciate your kind words regarding the excellent service and breakfast.
As you have found all other aspects of your stay so good, I hope you will contact me direct when next returning to Llandudno, so I may assist in arrangements to secure that elusive sea view room.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

827 - 833 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very pleasant hotel with reasonable parking at rear although overnight parking from late afternoon until 9am is available outside. Good clean room and an excellent breakfast choice. Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarathonMan427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and hope if this was the first time in North Wales you have discovered it has a wealth of golf courses with Llandudno being the best base to discover them.
So we hope you have been tempted to return and we will look forward to welcome you back to St George's.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Have just returned from a 4 night stay here and eveything that has been said and more about this hotel is spot on.The staff were first class ,polite and very professional.Our room was a Premier king size with balcony and was worth every penny and would only get better as the weather improves .We had never visited Llandudno before and thought what a lovely place it was, not your usual seaside resort and this hotel only enhanced the visit ,it is probably the best of many hotels we have stayed in.Didn't get chance to complete a satisfaction form so a special mention for Stephen in the lounge who was warm and friendliy well done.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are worth the extra just for the views alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chunk36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

A lovely review and thank you for the validation of our previous reviews, it is so encouraging to know that we lived up to your expectations.
We are so pleased to read how you thought Llandudno is such a lovely resort, it is special and we hope it wont be too long, before you return once more.
Stephen is so pleased to be mentioned ''in dispatches'' and we have to say, he has deserved it but thank you for your recognition.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have stayed at the St George's a number of times now and visited for four days this April. Standards are still high and and the staff are friendly and helpful. So it is difficult to understand why it is not higher in the Trip Advisor listing.

We were lucky to be upgraded to a first floor room with a sea view and balcony, so had good views of the Great Orme and the bay. The rooms are comfortable and well serviced. Breakfast was excellent with a buffet and also the option of choosing from the freshly cooked menu (e.g. delicious kippers). Car parking around the hotel can be difficult but they have a permit system for the hotel's own car park which works well.

Overall, a great place to stay and we will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Such a review is so appreciated from one of our returning guests, as it highlights we can deliver consistently high standards from a friendly and efficient team, such encouraging words thank you.
As to the mystery of TA listing, well we can only keep providing the consistent high standards and friendly service and allow TA users to make their own discerning choice.
We hope it wont be too long before we are welcoming you back to St George's.
All our best wishes.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I have stayed at the George a number of times in the past, and have yet to find fault with it. It may be a four star hotel, but it's a relaxed four star. I usually stay here whilst working up in North Wales and always try to book this pace when I can. The rooms are lovely, the bathrooms area nice size and there are plenty of power points for such things as laptops, phone chargers etc in the rooms (which is a bonus compared to many other establishments at which I have stayed).

When staying at the George, I usually book it on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. The 3 course dinner (plus coffee at the end) is always lovely and is a relaxed affair. You don't get anyone standing on your shoulder waiting to take your empty plate so they can bring you your next course before the previous one has gone down!

Breakfast is also very nice, with enough choice to keep the most demanding customer, happy. I have stayed at quite a few hotels in the Llandudno area, and this, to my mind, is the nicest. If you're looking for a relaxing break, or just a one night stay where you want to wake up relaxed and refreshed, stay at the St George's - you owe it to yourself!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist57680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

May we say what a ''really nice'' review and in particular the words which were so much appreciated on how we were such a 'relaxed' four star.
Whether for business or leisure our team want to offer a warm welcome and a relaxed and enjoyable stay.
Thank you for your kind words we will look forward to welcoming you back soon to Llandudno and St George's.
Best wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We got married here September 2013 and staff and event organiser from start of wedding planning up until we left the hotel the day after our wedding couldnt do enough for us and our guests. Service second to none. Everywhere spotlessly clean. Food amazing! Our guests said the hog roast buffet was the best food theyd ever had! They really looked after us and the location is just beautiful. What the St.George lack in gardens like other venues they more than make up with having a beautiful beach right outside and the promenade terrace to look out onto the sea. Rooms are very spacious and with 3 very different rooms for a wedding ceremonys there is something for everyone. Would highly recommend for weddings or just weekends away and i am much looking forward to spending our first anniversary back there in september this year :) xx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamTaylor-Leighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

So very kind of you to review and so pleased we helped to make your day so memorable. Wedding days are so special, so personal and your kind words, demonstrate that we at St George's will do our very best to help create that special day.
With all our best wishes....See you in September.
Kind Regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in deluxe 4 poster room for our Anniversary 21 March for a weekend, All staff very friendly and attentive the room it self was clean and very roomy well worth the supplement the dinning was a lovely experience as was the breakfast overall a lovely stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank baker12957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Well firstly, Happy Anniversary Mr & Mrs. Baker, and thank you for reviewing for the very first time and so pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay.
We hope it will be before your next anniversary, that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to St George's and look after you again.
Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
986 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £87 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing