We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Weekend”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Weekend”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked this hotel to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday and we had a fantastic time. Booked a sea facing room with balcony and it was superb. Fantastic views, lovely clean room and really comfy bed. Breakfast was perfection and service excellent. Sons had a twin room which was equally as nice. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a 1st class break.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a room with a balcony, the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieB804424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
A lovely review with such kind words and compliments.
However more importantly all our best wishes and congratulations on his 50th. and we are so pleased to have helped in making the celebration so memorable.
We hope we shall be welcoming you back soon to St George's.
Kindest regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    349
    107
    38
    30
See reviews for
272
627
35
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Mid-week break with my elderly mum. Very impressed. The room was clean and very comfortable. It was a bit hot but the air con soon sorted that. We booked half board and am so pleased we did. The food was truly excellent. The staff in this hotel really made it special. They were discreet, kind, smiling (not something you always find these days), efficient and very helpful. Whoever chooses and trains them should be very proud.

The main parts of the hotel are lovely and very well looked after. The car park was always full but easy to park on the front.

If I had a tiny grumble it would be that it seems all the twin rooms are at the back - not sure why we twinnies get the worst deal?. To be fair I didn't ask though as the room we had was fine. Maybe if I had they'd have moved us?

Unfortunately we found llandudno itself to be a big disappointment. Mum had happy memories of good holidays in years past but even she was bored with the town. The beach really needs sorting out and they need some more comfortable seats with shelter and/or shade on the front.

My recommendation... DO stay at this hotel but bring the car and drive out during the day. Bodnant Gardens were lovely and benllech beach on Anglesey was a fab find thanks to a friendly garage owner who told us about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxbhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
A lovely review thank you for placing it and you are absolutely right, we are proud of our team for their hard work and real friendliness to all our guests. Just to let you know we do have sea facing twin rooms the best thing is to contact Jordan our Reservation Manager who will be happy to assist.
We do regret you found Llandudno such a disappointment, though do agree regarding the beach however there is such a 'wave' of public campaigning we know this will be resolved. What is beyond doubt is that Llandudno being the perfect base to tour and visit the attractions of North Wales and Snowdonia.
Hope we shall be seeing you back soon to North Wales, Llandudno and St George's.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked a Classic Double Room and as we'd been travelling for a few hours with our new baby we checked in, dropped our luggage in the room, changed our baby and went straight out to meet friends and show off our new baby. It was only the following day that we saw the water damage under the window, the revolting grouting in the bathroom (horrified that this was after we had washed our precious baby in there), the curtains held up with a clothes pin!!! and general air of neglect of the room.

The public function areas have been restored beautifully and we can see why our friends booked the St George's for their daughters wedding. It's just a pity that this has not extended to other areas of the hotel. As a four-star hotel we had expected all rooms to be covered by the accolade. Sadly not, we were on the fourth floor which was stifling, our room did have air conditioning but this did not extend to the public areas on this floor, (generally used as a storage/dumping area for excess seating) I should know as I spent quite a time waiting for a new key fob to be produced as the one that we had did not work. After my partner was fobbed off at the reception desk (no pun intended) I ended up phoning the hotel for assistance and a porter was sent up who after trying the key informed us that is was not working, he then let us into the room so that I could feed and change our baby. The service was prompt, but the heat had upset our baby and we have to cool her down whilst waiting with some bottled water.

On this floor too there was an awful lot of bluebottles buzzing 'round even one is too many, not sure what the hotel can do about this, but this just added to the general euch of our stay.

I have been in contact with the hotel and was told that they were aware of the water damage as this had happened the week before through storm damage and water ingress. Why they then booked this room out is beyond me.

We usually stay at the Sefton Court on Church Walks and this is a truly lovely little hotel with first class personal service. The only reason we stayed at the St George's was due to us having a baby on the way when we received the wedding invitation. In hindsight we should have booked Sefton Court and booked taxis to ferry us to and from the St George's.

Beautiful looking hotel, but put a dampner on our first weekend away with our new baby, I was so looking forward to staying at this grand hotel and was so very disappointed. I believe that the room has been redecorated and the bathroom re-grouted. We will not be booking there again (even with the 50% discount offered by the GM).

Room Tip: Choose the Sefton Court or if you have extra money - perhaps the deluxe rooms are cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillsybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are sorry you were disappointed and have been in contact with you in regards to this. Let it be beyond doubt we do take real pride in our rooms and have as even by this review site an excellent record for housekeeping and maintenance. Whenever there is improvements to be done or repairs to action, we will. Clearly there were points that needed attention, which has now happened, sadly we weren't informed, and as you said it was only on the following day when you yourself noticed but still didn't raise any issue on check out. It is sad you wouldn't consider returning to St George's, as you have started using TA you can see how excellent we are rated and so hope you may reconsider, if so please contact me directly as I will ensure you receive the warmest of welcomes and the best of St George's.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel provided a much needed break at easter. It is right on the front with eady access to the promenade for walking. The car park is at the rear with no direct access so if raining you get wet !!! Lovely dinner which was also unusual. Rooms clean bed comfy. Booked through secret escapes which made it even better value. Handy for plenty of shopping as well.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mermaidsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your Easter with us. For future offers look on our website and hopefully we will be welcoming you back soon to St George's.
Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel in June this year, had a very pleasant room overlooking the car park , which was wonderfully quiet. I found the breakfast , and service faultess. The hotel asquality with excellent staff and service

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review and for your kind words that are so appreciated by all the team.
We hope there will be an opportunity for you to visit North Wales again and if so we hope we will be able to welcome you back to Llandudno and St George's.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I just wanted a short break with my son over half term by the sea.. We had a lovely room with a small sea view, which was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large, towels were soft and the shower was powerful. Breakfast was lovely and even though it was a buffet everything was hot and was regularly added to. Toast was fresh as it was served straight to the table. The staff were friendly and polite. Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
A simple and lovely review and so pleased we made it special for you and your son.
Thank you for taking the time to review and your words have been much appreciated by all the team.
We do hope there will be an opportunity soon, to welcome you both back to St George's, so we may look after you once again.
All our best wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights last week. Room was comfortable and looked onto the road at the side. Would have been much nicer if the windows had been cleaned but I suppose we are beside the sea. My disappointment was breakfast. It was not in the very nice restaurant at the front but in a large souless room at the back. Bit like an old ballroom. They had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon so I asked the waiter if I could have my eggs nice and runny and creamy, he then sid that the scrambled eggs were self service and showed me the pot of hard looking eggs that you could cut with a knife. I asked if he could speak to the chef and do some for me, the answer came back no. So decided to just eat continental. The fruit was all out of tins....been a long time since I had tinned mandarin oranges,. Sort your breakfast out please as you are not a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymous561951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Time to time reviews are posted which completely baffle me. TA being a public site allows opinions to be placed which we accept and only pleased that the vast majority of opinions are always excellent.
So with regards to this review we are pleased you found the room comfortable and note the points on the window, though they are regularly cleaned and as you state seafront positions can particularly suffer.
Our Terrace restaurant at the front benefits with the sea view however when we are particularly busy our main larger dining room, the Wedgwood is used to facilitate good service. Your opinion is the room is 'soulless.' Our and more importantly the vast majority of guests opinion sees the Wedgwood as a magnificent Grade II listed suite with a heavily encrusted plaster ceiling with newly refurbished panelling and carpets all highlighted, by imposing wall mirrors and glittering chandeliers. Of all the areas in St George's the Wedgwood is the most photographed, most talked about and most well known in North Wales.
However that is your opinion which we will take on board, when it comes though to your comment that all our fruit is tinned then this isn't an opinion, it's just wrong. Every breakfast buffet offers Fresh apples, oranges, bananas, grapes, strawberries, sliced fresh sweet melon, watermelon and pineapple and a mixed fresh fruit salad. we do serve tinned fruit as well, why, because it's popular, but not instead off, so we wish to make this clear to all readers of this review what a large selection of breakfast items is offered each and every morning.
There are breakfast menus on all tables offering a plated service for hot food if so desired with eggs cooked to order including poached, boiled, even Eggs Benedict and a choice of smoked fish.
If a waiter has said no to your request then this is wrong and needs to be addressed, however our team are known for trying to be helpful and friendly and only regret the impression that was left.
All guests and their feedback is important to us and on returning to Llandudno please contact me directly for as a team we would only wish to have an opportunity to welcome you back to St George's and ensure your stay was totally enjoyed.
Regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing