We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our weekend away”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

we have just returned from a lovely short break spent at here. however, staff were excellent and could not be faulted, BUT... we did not feel the room price was justified. very nice comfortable beds, etc but rooms very basic and somewhat drab.alittle colour in some way to the decor would definately improve matters greatly. we have stayed in much cheaper hotels and bnbs where the rooms have been much brighter and nicer. also the breakfast buffet food was alittle on the lukewarm side. all in all though a lovely visit and would not hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: do not request a room on the 4th floor, as all attic rooms and not alot of space, hence the reason w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yates892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Fine we do note your points and overall pleased to know you will be looking forward to returning to St George's.
As for best value and price we would advise you contact Jordan our Reservation Manager who will assist in offering the best room for the best rate, while also informing you of any special offers and we do have a best rate guarantee policy.
Meanwhile know that we shall have a warm welcome and the best of St George's waiting for your return.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had reason to visit St George hotel for a function. As usual the food was very tasty and the service from the staff was beyond reproach especially from Valerie who makes everyone feel very welcome. When it comes to assistance they are most willing to help at all times. I did not stay at the hotel on this occasion however.

Room Tip: Well worth a visit when in Llandudno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

A lovely review and thank you for your kind words of encouragement. The team are excellent and work hard to produce such good service. Especially nice to see our Val mentioned, she will be thrilled and is such an asset to St George's.
We shall all look forward to seeing you back again at St George's and thank you again for taking the time to review.
With all our best wishes,
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed in June for one night in room with sea view. Room had good facilities with comfortable bed. Central location on sea front makes it ideal for sea front walking or the shops to the rear of the hotel. Staff are very helpful and welcoming which makes visiting a pleasant experience. We opted for an inclusive three course evening meal which was of a high standard with a sea view. Breakfast selection was of good quality with a wide choice of options.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Second floor a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honestreviewer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Such a good and encouraging review, thank you for placing it. We appreciate your kind words and hope it won't be too long before you return, so we may look after you again and for you to enjoy the best of St George's.
With kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had Champagne Afternoon Tea for two & it was perfect! The staff were extremely helpful & friendly. Stayed overnight in a very comfortable room. All very clean. Had dinner in the restaurant, and this was where the hotel came down to less than average! We both had the soup to start which was very nice indeed? The waiting staff were very good! We then looked forward to our main meal which was Sirloin Steak. We both though at first that the knives were not very sharp, but no, the steak was extremely tough! Couldn't eat it all! It wasn't just the one steak, but both our steaks!! That meal spoilt what otherwise would have been a most enjoyable stay! Hence the "average rating"!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susiewoo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay but also, so regret the disappointment you had with your steaks.
Have to say this is unusual and sadly the point wasn't passed on during your stay. All our meat is sourced locally and provides the high standards of quality we are known for, we are only sorry this detracted from what was clearly an enjoyable stay.
We do hope on next visiting Llandudno you will return to St George's and if so please contact me directly so I may assure you of a warm welcome and the best of St George's.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were booked into St George's as part of a tour so did not choose hotel, room or dinner. We were a bit worried about car parking from what we had read, but everything was well handled by the staff of the hotel. Our room was on the fourth floor, an attic room, I suppose, and contained everything we needed. Access was along a corridor with alcoves off, some of which were being used to store surplus furniture making it feel like a service area. We had to have a card swiped to secure the ability to order drinks from the bar after 11pm as, we were told, they accepted neither cash nor plastic after that time. We had dinner twice with our party, 3 courses, which were okay, but on the second night the preferred option of beef was in very short supply as, we were told, it was also being sold in the restaurant. Breakfast in the Wedgewood Room was excellent (the best breakfast we were offered on our holiday) and included figs and fresh fruit as well as the usual fried food and other goodies. The hotel was clean and the staff efficient and polite and the location was great with a lovely walk on the prom before breakfast. We have no idea how much we paid for the room or the food in the hotel so cannot comment as to value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

It is always nice to read that guests find we have a beautiful hotel and the service is good along with the best of breakfasts. We also note your other points in particular the authorisation of a credit/debit card, which is standard practice in the industry for guests wishing to charge items to their rooms. The reason no cash is taken after 11.00 pm is to operate a resident only bar, resulting in charges being made to rooms.
We hope there will be an opportunity for you to return to North Wales and if so please contact me directly so I may ensure the warmest of welcomes and the best of St George's.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I couldn't begin to tell you how much we loved our day at St Georges. They were able to fit my small wedding party in at quite short notice, they made us feel as like royalty. The table was beautiful with sea views and private just for us. Our waitress was wonderful and the food was amazing. If you want the perfect day and the best of extra special treatment then this is the place to go. What we got for the price we paid was unbelievable. Service was outstanding. Have already told everyone we know and couldn't recommend it enough. Thank you to all the staff that made our day special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Well firstly, Congratulations and Best Wishes from all of us at St George's.
Such a special day whether large or small, needs to feel special and we are only too pleased to know we contributed so much to your day and memories.
Again all our Best Wishes and Thank You.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have visited Llandudno many times to walk around the Great Orme and explore Conwy but we have never stayed. This time we were prepared and extensively researched online to find the best hotel and best prices, we came across their website and booked the 2 night stay with an upgrade to a Seaview room.
We were glad we did as the views were fantastic and we spent each morning sitting on the balcony with a coffee looking out across the bay.
Our room was spacious, modern and immaculate, we particularly appreciated the mineral water which was provided free, especially as it was so hot.
Dining in the restaurant was a treat and it was good to see they catered for my wife who is a coeliac, the restaurant staff went out of their way to look after us.
Llandudno always seams to get better every time we visit and from now on we will always try and stay or at least call in for a coffee every time we visit

Room Tip: Book direct with this own website and go for a Seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 198oliverr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

A lovely review, thank you for your kind words, which are so appreciated and encouraging to all the team. It genuinely does mean a lot, to read how much you have enjoyed your experience of staying at St George's, especially as such a regular visitor to Llandudno.
What is even more pleasing is that you will look to return or stay in the future.
With all our best wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
961 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £93 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing