We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find - can't wait to go back”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great find - can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We're often looking for a place to 'runaway' to for a cheeky weekend away and I think we've found a new favourite.
There is nothing I can fault about the St George - the welcome was warm and the service was friendly. We had a great lunch on arrival on Saturday and the staff were knowledgable and enthusiatic about the menu. Dinner was a real treat - better food then we've had in top rated restaurants in London. Beautifully presented and melt in the mouth combinations.
Our room was gorgeous - huge bed, crisp linen, separate lounge and balcony overlooking the bay.
We went out for the day on Sunday and on our return the room had been serviced immaculately [and I am very fussy about the cleanliness of my bathroom !!!]
I've used Trip Advisor on many many occasions for other peoples opinions and reviews prior to making a booking but this the first time I've felt confident enough to pass on my own opinions of what is truely a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanieLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2009
Thank you for placing a review your kind comments are much appreciated and passed on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to StGeorges and suggest you sign up for our loyalty membership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    359
    112
    41
    31
See reviews for
282
642
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Just returned from a 4 night stay in this hotel and it really is worth spending that little extra of your hard earned cash for some 4 star luxury.
The staff, starting with Fiona in reservations and the young ladies on the front desk along with the restuarant staff could not be faulted and all of them had a smile which isnt that common in other hotels.
Also why not do as I did and go for the Executive Suite which really made for a fantastic stay.
The location is excellent and this must be the best hotel in LLandudno, if there is a better one then please let me know.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Having now stayed at a selection of Llandudno hotels & guest houses I always like to try a new one! I always fancied a weekend here so hubby & I stayed recently for our wedding anniversary.
On arrival we were met by a pleasant young lady called Sam on reception who was very helpful, especially as we arrived quite late in the evening whilst a busy function was ongoing in the Wedgwood Room .Sam was most helpful, telephoning to check that we were in time to eat in the Terrace bar and assisting us with parking.
Once checked in we found that our rooms were more than adequate, large bedroom with everything we needed, seperate sitting room (which in the end we never used at all!) and nice clean large bathroom with seperate bath & shower.
We ate from the bar menu on this first evening, good food was served quickly by nice friendly helpful staff, we had expected a wait due to the large function but it didnt interfere with us in anyway at all.
We had morning papers delivered promptly and found an iron and ironing board tucked neatly away in a wardrobe, tea tray (took a bit of finding!) in a cupboard and a fridge in case you needed one. I cant fault the rooms or the standards here. We had a 3rd floor front facing room.
Breakfast the first morning was in the terraced bar area overlooking the sea front, served in person with friendly smiles, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast the second morning was buffet style in the large function room, not quite as pleasing as the sea view but good for people watching! We had plenty to eat, hubby was pleased with his breakfast and more of anything was fetched quickly and pleasantly by the staff.
The shops were within minutes of walking from the hotel.
We really rather enjoyed ourselves here!!
The only blip was that we were overcharged nearly £60 on our bill for somebody elses meals and drinks.....we didnt notice until after the bill had been paid but as we checked the invoice in the hotel foyer we were able to point this out to the receptionist straight away, it took her a few minutes to check her paperwork and then refund our card with the food amount, we also pointed out the drinks bill and then that too was refunded. We never put anything on our room account, preferring to pay as we go along...the only exception being two daily papers! The refund was done quite professionally and she did confirm an error had been made, this was the only blot on an otherwise perfect weekend and I would have given a full rating other than for this point.
All in all a very pleasing hotel and I would stay again.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
4 Thank lovethesoundofthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

This was to be a short mid-Winter Break in a hotel we did not know - bit risky? Well the weather was absolutely wonderful and our sea front rooms at St George's Hotel looked out over the magical bay of Llandudno bathed in winter sunshine. The rooms were excellent in most respects - especially the bathroom; we probably were the first to stay in them since a very good refurbishment - and the hotel warm and welcoming. Breakfast - with personal rather than self-service - was really great, served in the sea view dining room. Even though it was busy we were served immediately and replenishment volunteered. Very sorry to leave - both the hotel and Llandudno!

  • Liked — Warmth and efficiency of hotel
  • Disliked — Slightly slow though very friendly reception
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DWHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorges2, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2009
Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind comments.
It is always so appreciated to receive such a response and your comment on likely being the first to stay in our refurbished rooms was very encouraging as in actual fact the refurbishment happened nearly 3 years ago but our constant maintenance and the highest housekeeping standards have maintained this new look.
We were delighted to read you were so struck by the beauty and charm of Llandudno and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

My boyfriend and I chose the hotel because it looked great from the outside and the four poster bedroom seemed perfect for us as we wanted a nice relaxing long weekend in the area. I had read previous reviews and to be honest I was a little apprehensive about what it would be like (I had read something about some of the staff being cold and the hotel not being very suitable for younger couples...). Well I must say I have never had such a perfect stay in a hotel in all my life!
All staff members were friendly and very welcoming. The room was fantastic, best jacuzzi bath ever and we even had a balcony. We were also pleased to see that even though we'd been told the room wasn't see view, we could actually see the sea anyway! We had planned to have dinner in the hotel restaurant (terrace) once and then try other places in the area but we ended up staying there two nights instead because the food was so good! We both agreed it was the best lamb we had ever tasted and the presentation was definitely 5 star rating! The waiters made us feel like the most important people there. We had the same great experience each morning at breakfast. The hotel was pretty busy too which was surprising for the time of year, with guests of all ages. I honestly could not find one single fault, as much as I tried!
A big thank you to all the hotel staff for making our first weekend away so special.

  • Liked — Restaurant and hotel room
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AChia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, Tyne & Wear, England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

We stayed at the St George's in September, the purpose of our stay was to visit family that had recently re-located to Llandudno.

The hotel is in a prefect location, right on the seafront. We were greeted by friendly staff wherever we were in the hotel but the downside has to be the size of our room.

We booked a seaview room, which had the most wonderful view of the beach and it's pier but it was very small for the price we paid. On the plus side the bathroom was huge! The decor was very modern and the whole of the hotel was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was wonderful, we enjoyed waitress service on our first morning but as the hotel was busy on our second day we had to queue for breakfast from the buffet. I dislike having to ask for items, I would much rather serve myself! The area of the restaurant that housed the buffet was also a little cramped. The queue for the hot food was in front of the cold food so people were constantly shuffling about to let people in/out.

Paking is also poor at this hotel. It is good that parking is free but there are just not enough spaces. We were boxed in when we came to leave but a member of staff quickly and efficiently removed the other vehicle.

Overall, this is a lovely hotel and cannot be faulted for it's location, staff and service but both the cost of drinks and the rooms are a little on the pricey side.

  • Liked — Location/decor/staff
  • Disliked — Drinks are expensive
Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandancer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Excellent hotel, lovely room with sea view, very clean and staff very helpful. Plenty to eat at breakfast with good choice. Only niggles we had was slowness of check-in and slowness of check-out which can be frustrating. We would definitely stay heare again if we go to Llandudno. Llandudno is a very enjoyable resort with plenty to do in the vicinity. Conwy castle is an excellent experience and well worth a visit. Tavern of the Town good boozer. We had a meal in an Italian called Romeos, very average, had a long wait for table and food a bit bland. First night evening meal in St George's, came with deal, was very good. I would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — slowness of check out
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review and all your kind remarks which will be passed on to the team.
We do believe we are offering an excellent service but it is all the better when appreciated
Our apologies for the incorrect charge but am pleased to read it was dealt with professionally.
If you are going to return do consider joining our Loyalty membership details of which are on our website offering special rates and discounts for returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing