We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my new favourite hotel”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“my new favourite hotel”
Reviewed 15 September 2009

This is my third trip to St Georges this year on business and I always try and stay here because the hotel is so easy to get to and very accessible to the A55.
As a business traveller they have everything I need to work, both in my room and the lounge area, the free Wi-Fi is most welcome. I must also congratulate you on your website which is great for checking late availability and finding out what is happening locally.
What has prompted me to write this review is the friendliness of the staff, they remember me, use my name and always ensure I have hyper alergenic pillows and note my early checkout request - a nice touch and it saves time when making the reservation.
My next visit is with my wife and baby daughter.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coololiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review, your kind comments are so appreciated by all the team. We take a considerable effort to present our website in the most interesting and informative way and would suggest you sign up for our 'blog' news, deals and updates.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the St Georges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    365
    116
    41
    31
See reviews for
288
653
39
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

The situation of this hotel could not be improved upon occupying, as it does, a corner site with many sea-facing rooms and being only 2 minutes walk from the busy town centre.

It has an excellent restaurant and the a la carte dinner menu offered a splendid choice of dishes which were always nicely presented. At twenty-five pounds for 2 courses and thirty pounds for 3, it is not overpriced, although it is possible to eat well for quite a bit less in a couple of nearby restaurants.

The mainly young staff, both local people and several from eastern European countries, did a splendid job. Service was polite, friendly and efficient and the staff to guest ratio was high. Occasionally the kitchen had difficulty matching the pace, but this did not happen too often and usually only when catering for coach parties.

Breakfasts were served in the attractive Wedgwood room, usually with juices and starters on the buffet and main courses served at table but ocassionally the entire breakfast was buffet-style. Cooked-to-order dishes were normally piping hot when served at table but on the few "all buffet days" the hot food was seldom that.

Housekeeping standards were particularly high throughout the hotel and bedrooms were no exception. Ours, which was a sea-facing room, was of a good size and fairly spacious, with adequate wardrobe and storage space. Trouser press, iron and ironing board were provided as were the all-important kettle, teapot, teas, coffee and biscuits.

And now to the bedroom windows, of which there were two. These were uPVC replacement windows whose design was probably required to match that of the original windows for planning purposes, as well as for aesthetical reasons, and this may explain why they did not open inwards for cleaning which, undoubtedly, will be a major operation. Be that as it may, these were the dirtiest hotel windows I have ever seen and it is no exaggeration to say that, in addition to the dirt, both were liberally coated with seagull droppings. Not only was it difficult to see through them, they were thoroughly unpleasant to look at and totally defeated the point of having a sea-facing room which cost quite a bit extra.

The rating I have given for cleanliness refers only to the interior of the hotel and these dirty windows must be taken into consideration when giving an overall rating which otherwise would have been high indeed. I would probably recommend this hotel to friends, but with reservations..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2009
Thank you for placing your review and we do appreciate all your kind comments.
However as for the windows you are correct in your assumption as for the need to comply with listed building consent and safety the windows don't open inwards and cleaning is done on a very regular basis by a cleaning contractor. The windows were cleaned the week before your stay however seafront, seagulls and storms can lead to such issues and on contacting reception we would have sorted the matter. Your kind comments only emphasise the excellent housekeeping and service we provide, and thank you for recommending the StGeorges and hope we shall welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-lyme, Staffs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We booked this hotel because it had the facilities we needed for the mother-in-law, who isn't so good on her feet. we had booked two double rooms direct with the hotel to make sure we got a walk in shower for mum. When we arrived at the hotel we were given the keys to the rooms and took mum up to her room to check everything was ok. When we got there we found the shower to be unsuitable for her as it had a high step up to it. We went back down to reception to ask if there were any other rooms available. The receptionist checked on the computer and found another room available so we went to have a look at that only to find that wasn't much better. In the end the receptionist said there would be an adapted room with a wet room available the next day for mum if she could manage for one night which we accepted. The reception staff and porters were excellent, they bent over backwards to help, especially as they were fully booked all weekend with weddings.
Both rooms were very nice and comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent with a good variety to choose from.
Overall we found the hotel very nice, the staff were pleasant and very helpful nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andyrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, MANAGEMENT at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2009
Thank you for placing a review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the bedroom with it's own wet room became available.
When next considering a return to Llandudno and St Georges do contact directly Fiona our Reservation Manager as she will be delighted to help organize your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We booked two nights bed and breakfast to celebrate my husband's birthday. We made a good choice!
Whilst the room and bathroom were not large, they were extremely clean and we appreciated the air conditioning.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the service impeccable.
We booked dinner on the first night and it was so good we decided to eat there for the second night also.
We enjoyed it so much we have booked again for a short break in November - can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellie050397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2009
Thank you for placing a review your kind comments are appreciated by all the team. St Georges underwent a complete refurbishment 2/3 years ago and it is still appreciated that the standards are recognised however more so for the level of service we try to provide.
Look forward to seeing you in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed here for two nights on a first night dinner plus breakfast package.It was really nice. The room was was overlooking the sea with a balcony.The bathroom looked new and was very clean.We had a bath and shower.The room was spacious and was very clean.We had our dinner overlooking the sea and the food was very good as were the staff.Breakfast was served in a lovely room and was buffet style but with waiter service.The staff were very helpfull at this hotel and friendly.The hotel is well placed being located on the seafront overlooking the bay, fanatstic.Give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spurgles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review it really is appreciated amongst the whole team who work hard to offer the warm welcome and service you experienced.
We hope you will return soon to St Georges and Llandudno the views are certainly beautiful from the balcony bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We were going to be celerbrating our 28th wedding anniversary and wanted to be beside the sea. We picked the hotel at the last minute. From the moment we stepped inside the hotel everythings was excellent. The staff are a credit to the hotel, so helpful, polite and nothing was to much trouble. We ate in the restaurant each evening and the food was exceptional. I became addicted to the shortbread that was served with our afternoon tea, Would recommend this hotel to anyone and guess where we intend to spend our 29th Wedding Anniversary, yes your right at the St George Hotel, Llandudno.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crabb523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2009
First of all congratulations on your 28th and thank you for deciding to celebrate with a stay at St Georges.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and do appreciate your kind comments. But hope it won't be a year before you are back with us but whenever will we make sure the welcome is just as warm.
Have to agree the shortbread is good isn't it?
On your return please look at our loyalty scheme with best rates available on our website. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

my girlfriend and i love this place!! we have stopped in the grand but the st georges is well worth the extra money !! been back twice and hoping to return again very soon... st georges... we love you!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james24011988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review, your comments are very much appreciated by the team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future, you may be interested in joining our Loyalty Scheme for best deals and offers all the details can be found on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing