We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Venue on the Bay”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We had our Wedding Reception at the St George's Hotel and I can honeslty say that it was a fantastic venue.

The Wedgwood suite was turned into an Autumnal wonderland with our theme with all the leafs and flowers. All our guests have commented what a wonderful hotel and venue it was.

The hog roast was amazing and cooked perfectly by the head chef and the staff serving the buffet were a credit to the management of the hotel.

Our room was on the first floor with a sea facing balcony which really made our evening sitting outside looking into the sea with the views of the Great and Little Ormes and the Pier all lit up. The bed was comfy, just what we wanted after a bsuy day!

Breakfast was good with all the fresh food, unfortunately due to an eye injury I could only muster a bowl of cereal!

The hotel and staff are a credit to the management of the hotel and I will be looking forward to return one day soon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cparkinson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2010

Thank you and really appreciate such a kind review, we are so pleased we were able to make it a day to remember.
Your kind remarks will be passed on to the team. However from all of us we offer you our very best wishes and hope we might see you on your 1st. Anniversary if not before.
Good Luck and all the very best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
There are newer reviews for St. George's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,226 - 1,232 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

A good old fashioned hotel with similar standards. Clean, well serviced, attentive helpfull staff throughout, comfortable reasonably spacious rooms with most essential facilities although the bathroom water supply was noisy and the shower pressure was low (top floor). Breakfast had a fair choice menu as did the Restaurant and the quality of food was good. On the down side there is a little daytime building work to one side of the hotel but this is largely unobtrusive and absent at weekend. Excellent location for both the beach and shopping centre.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodley-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review we do note your comment on the building work this is nearly complete and when finished it will be THE MENAI our new function suite with it's own terrace completely separate from the hotel, allowing our hotel guests to be undisturbed by a function events.
It is kind for you to comment that the work has been unobtrusive and not at weekends.
Finally we do pride ourselves in offering a warm and friendly yet attentive service and hope it won't be too long before we see you back at St George's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed at St George for our summer holidays this year with the kids as we had a very good experience from our stay during the previous year. The restaurant food was excellent and I must say praise to the fantastic service that was provided by the evening restaurant staff. They were very helpful and accomodating particularly with the needs of my young children. The reception staff were also extremely helpful and friendly.

During our stay, again I booked one of the suites in the hotel expecting the same type and quality of accomodation as we previously had occupied. Unfortunately I was very disapponted this particular suite that we were allocated (same price as previous one we had) had very small windows. Although it was sea facing you had to clib a chair in order to see the sea!! The level of cleanliness in the bathroom and in other rooms of the suite was unsatifactory for a 4 star standard hotel!! Everyday without fail I have brought to the attention of the housekeepers the need the bleach or cleam up the moldy stained grouting in the shower cubicle. Always I was told that this was going to be dealt with. However it was never dealt with even at the end of our week stay at the hotel. I even threathened to buy some bleach myself as I could not bear having a shower in that cubicle. Faiiling to get a response from the housekeeping team I also brought this to the attention of the reception staff but to no avail!! The furniture in the bedroom and the lounge was also very dusty and i suffred sverely form allegic reaction to it. I had to point out to the cleaners every other day areas that they have failed to cleaned from the previous day. I fully appreciate that cleaners have only a limited time to clean the rooms but I expect that there should be a minimum level of cleanliness that should be achieved in rooms that cost more and particularly in cases where children are part of the occupants in the room. In our expereince however of staying in other 4-5 star hotels this issue has never been a problem.


Llandudno is such a beautiful place with so much to offer for familes on holday. with most 4-5 star hotels that we have stayed in the uk with our children , more often they would have some provision for children entairtainment and facilities. Maybe the hotel managemnt could cosider some form of provision for families with you children and therefore attract a fairly well paying clientile. i I can cite at leat one top hotel and spa in north devon where we regularly go to, who seem to have make good profit from its exellent provision for families with young children.

I hope that the hotel management will be able to effectively deal with the issues that I have raised here, as me and my family would like to continue staying at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshFamily040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2010

It was good of you reviewing and saying how excellent our restaurant and reception staff are and how much you enjoyed your previous stay.
Regarding the issue of the bathroom I understand the shower needed regrouting and tiles replaced which has now been done however the handling of your concern was not done to our usual standard and for this I am sorry. The very thing you commented on being so excellent, the helpfullness and efficiency of staff this time fell short and as a matter of pride to us all, when as you say you will return you can be confident of having an enjoyable and comfortable stay.
Just also have to say, finally, we do note your comment on the children activities and this is to be discussed at our next managers meeting, however I would have to agree that Llandudno has so much to offer families and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We booked a mini break at St Georges as we were visiting Llandudno to attend the theatre.
We were given a warm welcome on arrival, and the premier room we booked was faultless, the furnishings, cleanliness and views were first class.
Both breakfast and lunch at the hotel was excellent, and service was very good.
The location of the hotel is perfect, central for all activities in Llandudno.
We finished our break with a hike to the top of the great Orme and a cable car back down.
We also had a couple of lovely dinners in two very different restaurants, two of a choice of many can I say.
Llandudno is a great resort and St Georges is a first rate hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielbrooks3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Thank you for such a lovely review it's so nice to read how much you not only enjoyed your stay at St George's but found Llandudno such a great resort.
We hope you will return soon, remember now to look at our website for the loyalty scheme and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Llandudno and St George's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I just want to post a quick but big thank you to Hotel St George for making my dads 70th birthday as seamless and faultless as it was. The manager and staff of the hotel were so brilliant, friendly and responsive. We also had a wonderful meal in the restaurant (the food was fantastic too) that night and again can't stress how lovely and helpful the staff were. An example to some other hotels of how things should be done. You only have to ask to ensure your expectations are met, as Hotel St George are keen to make everyones stay a memorable one. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomasSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2010

Well thank YOU for such appreciation and taking the time to do it.
We are so pleased your Father's 70th. went so well, and even more so that you will come back to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

we stay in llandudno 4 to 5 times per year for get away weekends at different b&bs,hotels ,but this was our 1st visit to the st georges what a place ,we were in room 302 a classic double which was excellent ,clean,up to date,large bathroom,and a view from the side.all the staff were excellent at all times,dinner,breakfast,fantastic lots of choice we were so impressed we booked for the new year break and loyality card,as my husband is on long term chemotherapy the location is very good and so is the view we felt very well looked after and cant wait to visit again well done to you all mrs&mr hough

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireTintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Always great and much appreciated to get such a review. More so that you visit Llandudno so regularly and have decided to join our Loyalty Scheme.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to celebrate the New Year at St George's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

My wife and I returned to the St George's for our third stay in early September. We are fairly well travelled in Europe and beyond, and always choose four and five star hotels for our trips. For us the St George's is everything we look for, and equals the level of service you might expect in a good European hotel.

The staff are helpful, polite and never appear as if anything is too much trouble for them. That goes right the way down through all levels. It is amazing that, despite the large number of guests they will encounter, members of staff manage to remember little details about you, your family or your previous stay, thus making you feel welcome and valued as guests.

The rooms are tastefully furnished in neutral tones, clean and well provisioned. We stayed in a sea view suite with balcony which provided a magnificent view of the promenade.

The Wedgewood dining room, where breakfast is served, is a beautiful room which enhances your experience of staying in a heritage property that is well looked after. Dinner in the terrace restaurant is an experince not to be missed. The food is lovingly prepared and presented in an unhurried and unfussy manner. The wine list is varied and reasonably priced.

Overall we have no hesitation in recommending this as an exceptional hotel that stands out among others in Llandudno.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilbrundsen2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

Thank you for reviewing it's always lovely to have such feedback from returning guests.
Our team is the main reason for the St George's success, and time and time again, this is the feedback given and we just appreciate so much, you taking the time to let us know.
Hope you look at taking up the loyalty scheme we are running as can be seen on our website, we just look forward to welcoming you back soon to St George's.
Thanks again and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £111 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing