We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A winter break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bryn Derwen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bryn Derwen
Ranked #50 of 152 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
209 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“A winter break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Visited Llandudno during the valentines weekend. Arrived tired and grumpy and left feeling rested and relaxed. Lovely rooms, great breakfasts and the coal fire was just what the dr ordered after battling the elements on Saturday. We usually visit during spring/summer autumn but we enjoyed the break so much that we may have to make a short winter break a regular addition to the calendar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twiggyrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynderwenLlandudno, Owner at Bryn Derwen, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for this review. We strive to meet all our guests expectations and hopefully even exceed them. When we receive positive feedback we know all our hard work is worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
87
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Lovely accommodation with beautiful period features. Very comfortable lounge with real fire, nice on a cold wet evening. Stayed for 2 nights with my mum during October half term.
Beds and pillows are very comfy, and the breakfast was fab; really good quality sausage and bacon, and the best and most lean black pudding I've ever had. Pretty sure we'll return if my mum can still manage the stairs! Thanks Debbie and Steve.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVFC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just returned after a lovely weekend, our first visit to this guest house, will definitely return, and would recommend to anyone. Excellent personal service from booking to check out. We stayed with a large party and Debbie and Steve could not have been more helpful. We saw a lot of the rooms and all were very different, very clean, well decorated and comfy. Lovely selection on hospitality tray, plenty of teas, coffee, biscuits and bottled water. Fabulous freshly cooked breakfast, with plenty of choice. Also a bonus in Llandudno, plenty of free parking in either their own car park or on the street in front of the Guest House. We all enjoyed a good meal in La Taverna restaurant which was recommended by Debbie and booked for us. Thanks Debbie and Steve. Hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynderwenLlandudno, Owner at Bryn Derwen, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Chris Debbie and I are so pleased that Morgan, yourself and the rest of your party enjoyed your stay at Bryn Derwen. We do try our best to ensure that we have as many little extras in the rooms as possible and we believe that having a bar within the lounge area also makes a difference. We hope to see you all again next year for the conference. Take care until then. Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to Bryn Derwen and again we had a wonderful room with all the special little extras of bottled water and chocolates, plenty of variety of tea and coffee and biscuits, lovely toiletries and very comfy beds what more could you want. Debbie and Steve the best hosts you could ask for, nothing too much trouble and a mine of information on where to visit and where to eat and drink. Bryn Derwen perfectly situated on a quiet street within easy reach of all Llandudno has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

we stayed at the hotel in August for 5 days. Debbie and Steve were very welcoming, the hotel was lovely, the rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. Chocolates on the bed every day ; great selection of tea and coffee in the room. The breakfast was fantastic and freshly cooked. Location excellent. Highly recommended, great service and reasonable price. Little gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambertruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynderwenLlandudno, Owner at Bryn Derwen, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Bryn Derwen. We welcome feedback and were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for a week from 3-10th August in Rooms 1 and 4 and had a great stay. On arrival we were treated to a very warm welcome by Debbie who brought us tea/coffee and warm Welsh cakes in the really light and airy lounge overlooking the garden, this was a lovely touch after our journey.

The B&B is really good and there is a lot of attention paid to little details that made our stay that bit more special, handmade chocolates and bottles of water provided every day in the room together with teas/coffee and biscuits.

Steve was hard at work each morning cooking the fantastic breakfasts. I don’t think we’ve ever had cooked breakfasts that taste so good.

The rooms were very comfortable, bright and clean and the location is good as it is only a short walk to the shops and the promenade. There are lots of things to do and see in the Llandudno/North Wales area and we would certainly like to explore this area further and would definitely stay at this B&B again, so a big thank you to Steve & Debbie.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynderwenLlandudno, Owner at Bryn Derwen, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on our guest house.
Steve & I are very pleased you all enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our care and attention to detail. We strive to exceed our guests expectations during their stay at Bryn Derwen.

Debbie & Steve Loughborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at the Bryn Derwen for 4 nights. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable with the added bonus of hand made chocolates every day. The location of the BD is just 5 minutes walk from the seafront of Llandudno in a quite street. The Great Orme Tram is only 2-3 minutes walk away as are lots of restaurants and pubs. Debbie and Steve were excellent hosts and looked after us really well with a special thanks to Debbie for arranging the delivery of some birthday flowers for my wife. The breakfasts are excellent and as mentioned in the previous review, the fresh fruits were my wife's favorite. If we are ever in Llandudno again we will certainly use the BD and highly recommend it as a place to stay. Thank you again Debbie and Steve.

Room Tip: We had a rear room away from the street so not sure if there is any street noise. The room had a par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipB417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynderwenLlandudno, Owner at Bryn Derwen, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Hi Phillip

So pleased tht you and Beverley enjoyed your stay with us we know this was your virst visit to North Wales.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay a bit special and hopefully we will see you both again some time in the future.

Stevfe and Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
0.4 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abbey House
Abbey House
#22 of 152 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosaire
Rosaire
#66 of 152 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adcote House
Adcote House
#4 of 152 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Derwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Derwen

Property: Bryn Derwen
Address: 34 Abbey Road | Llandudno Conwy, Llandudno LL30 2EE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Derwen 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a holiday home for a wealthy Victorian family in 1878 and sympathetically converted to retain all of the original character, every detail of the Bryn Derwen has been created to offer a relaxed and intimate atmosphere.An ornate pitch pine staircase leads to nine individually designed, spacious en suite bedrooms with all the facilities you would expect from a 5 Star Bed & Breakfast.You will find us on Abbey Road a quiet leafy tree lined avenue ideally situated on level ground at the foot of the Great Orme."Steve and Debbie have a well earned reputation for offering a friendly first class service with excellent standards of hospitality and pristine housekeeping which is why so many of their guests return year after year." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bryn Derwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Derwen Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing