We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem of a guesthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilterns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chilterns
Ranked #15 of 150 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Il Gzira, Malta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of a guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Excellent customer service. Great location for town centre and attractions. Pat and Stuart the hosts were very welcoming and helpful with recommended restaurants and places to visit, great attention to detail in every way, good options for breakfast and cooked to perfection. Would definately come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
164
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Spent two nights at Stuart and Pats lovely home. Very clean and comfortable, friendly hosts, facilities in rooms better than some hotels, excellent breakfast cooked by Stuart. Brilliant location for town centre and attractions. Excellent local knowledge.

Room Tip: No lift so if you are not energetic request a lower down room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazcoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

The first hotel we've stayed in where we were offered a cuppa on arrival. We were made to feel welcome and during our four days stay B&B you are met with a friendly atmosphere at breakfast each morning. While cooked breakfasts aren't the most difficult meal in the world to cook it's the way they're cooked, presented, quality and choice. The only criticism was our shower not being very powerful (this could be due to reasons we forgot to ask about) but it's a small gripe and certainly doesn't give any discredit to the comfort, cleanliness and airey room we had. A nice touch too when Pat and Stuart said their 'goodbye's' and Pat waved us off as we drove away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

After a 5 week holiday in UK our last stop was this guest house
And was the best accommodation we have stayed in in our time in the UK
The owners are very friendly and helpful in every way
We would highly recommend this guest house
Vicki &Jane

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We could not get into the usual guest house we stay at in Llandudno as it was fully booked. I looked on the internet for somewhere else to stay, Chilterns had good reviews so thought we would give it a go, and we were not dissapointed, Wonderful welcome on arrival, tea or coffee and a slice cake was served with lovely smiles from the hosts Pat and Stuart. Our suitcase was taken to the room which was spotless and beautifully decorated. The information book in the room was full of places to visit and eat, menu's with prices were included in the book, which was very useful as I am a vegetarain. Breakfast was cooked by Stuart and I must say it was perfect, I asked for a poached egg with the a firm white and a dippy yoke, and I got it, that is a big plus for me. Chilterns is in a central location, just minutes from the shops. I would not hesitate to recommend The Chilterns to any one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshirelass0
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have just returned form a fantastic stay at this Guest House, from the time the door is opened you are made to feel at home,Pat greeted us addressing us by our first names and put us in the dining room for a cup of tea and Cake ,which was very much appreciated ,poor Stuart took our case up to room 5 and of course we had packed for every sort of Weather which made the case very heavy ! he introduced himself to us before doing this, good job really as his back may have given way and we wouldnt have had the very tasty well cooked breakfast, to say it is one of the best we have ever tasted is an understatement .
The room was spotless and very tastefully done by Pat, lovely white Towels , and bed linen, Tea,Coffee,Hot chocolate, Biscuts,and Bottled water ( 2 Water each Day wether you drank them or not ) so much thought has been put into catering for clients needs, nothing is too much trouble, Pat is full of information on where to go for meals etc,etc, as it was my 70th Birthday while we were there Pat recommended the Imperial Hotel for a Meal ,we were not disappointed it was wonderful, the Chilterns is situated just a few minutes away from the main high street, pier, tour buses,and railway station, this wont be our only stay at Chilterns i know we WILL be returning so keep up the excellent work Pat and Stu.

Room Tip: If you are an older person have a roon on the first or second floor otherwise you could have a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shropshirelass0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

After reading other reviews of this guest house my wife and I decided to give it a try for three nights. From the moment you drive into the quiet road and private drive of the Chilterns you know that the location is perfect. Once the door is opened and you step inside the home of Stuart and Pat you immediately begin to understand why the reviews are so good. Hospitality and a very warm welcome are top of the list to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The room we were shown to was, without doubt, immaculate and tastefully decorated. The en-suite was small but having said that I am a six foot plus lump and it presented no problems to me and after all I a good nights sleep is what I am looking for and we certainly got that. Breakfast is always something to look forward to when you go away and with the combination of Stuarts cooking and Pats service with a smile we were not disappointed. The locally sourced food was fresh, tasty, plentiful and presented on the plate just as it should be. A great deal of effort has been put in by Pat and Stuart to make everything comfortable and easy for the guest which could easily go unnoticed but they are worthy of a mention, things like, Stuart taking care of the cases, the well compiled list of local restaurants and pubs complete with menus placed in every room and the supply of bottled water. In all this stay was not just worthy of praise and a mention on this site but a personal thanks from my wife and I and my sister and brother in law. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffchris44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adcote House
Adcote House
#2 of 150 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
St. Hilary Guest House
St. Hilary Guest House
#13 of 150 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Villa Guest House
Clifton Villa Guest House
#4 of 150 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
The View Guest House
The View Guest House
#11 of 150 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilterns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilterns

Property: Chilterns
Address: 19 Deganwy Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chilterns 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chilterns Guest House is run by wildlife artist Stuart and his wife Pat. Tastefully refurbished to provide modern comforts it has 4 en-suite double rooms with king size beds, a twin en-suite room and a single room with private facilities. All have high quality bedding, branded LCD TVs with DVD player, Ipod Docking alarm clocks, (DVD & Book library available), hairdryers, corkscrew/ bottle opener/ glassware, individual complimentary toiletries, tissues and a well stocked beverage tray with biscuits and free bottled Welsh mineral water. We use Fairtrade products whenever possible. Free Wi-Fi available in all rooms. Breakfast is normally served from 8:15-9.00 am in the light, airy and contemporary ground floor dining room (earlier breakfasts available on request). Vegetarian and other dietary requests are catered for. Chilterns is close to Llandudno's many attractions, only 5 minutes to the promenade and even nearer to the restaurants, bars and shopping areas of Llandudno, yet is located in a wide, quiet avenue. We have private parking for up to 5 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chilterns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilterns Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing