We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, comfortable. ”
Review of Chilterns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chilterns
Ranked #16 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Pat and Stuart were friendly pleasant hosts. Lots of thoughtful details. Wi-fi a little slow. Best things though was that it was very clean and comfortable.

One niggle...my wife is coeliac and vegetarian and despite the blurb saying they catered for special dietry needs, she had to bring her own breakfast! ( No price reduction to compensate either! ) If you eat normally...no problems at all, breakfasts were perfect and plentiful.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JohnHudghton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wifewalker, Owner at Chilterns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review John. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In respect of the broadband speed you queried, as far as I am aware we actually have one of the fastest available broadband speeds in Llandudno, however if all guests are using it simultaneously or downloading large files or gaming, speeds may be reduced. Llandudno does not have fibre optic capabilities! When fibre optic is available we will upgrade at the earliest opportunity of course.

Regarding catering for special dietary needs. Firstly you booked through an internet company where there is no opportunity to negotiate discounts. It may have been more prudent to book directly with us via telephone to explain your requirements in the first instance. Secondly you forgot to add that your wife also has nut allergies as well as being coeliac and vegetarian. We cater very well for vegetarians such as yourself, and vegans too, but we are unwilling to serve any foodstuffs which may put anybody at risk especially with nut allergies and being coeliac, hence we advised your wife to bring her own tried and tested products. We also cooked her part baked special bread rolls on a daily basis so we did look after your special dietry needs.

If you have any reason to request a compensatory price reduction please, please book direct!

Take care and many thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for a weekend, never been before. The location is excellent, its about three streets from the front, bars, pubs, shops and restaurants. Considering how close it is to the town centre it is very quiet. Easy to find and its on a flat level. There is parking for 4 cars outside the front of the building, any more cars need to park on the side of the road, but the road is not very busy and its wide. The owners Pat and Stuart and very friendly and knowledgable of the town They have clearly worked hard to make this a home from home. The hotel and its rooms are very clean and modern. The soft furnishings don't look washed out or tired like some places. The bed was soft but very comfortable. Felt homely. The rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and small bottles of water, flat screen TV with remote, lights by the bed and a dimmer switch on the main room light. We didn't get the en-suite so I can't comment on the rooms that did, but our shower/toilet room was small but enough - no mildew which I hate about hotel bathrooms. Depending on where your room is, there are a lot of stairs so if you struggle with them ask for a low floor room. Tried the wifi but found it to be slow. Breakfast is a range of cereals, some fruit and then a cooked breakfast, it was well cooked. The bacon was thick and sausage and eggs are locally sourced and very tasty. I will recommend this hotel to my friends and family and I hope to use it again soon.

Room Tip: not all rooms are en-suite, there are three floors so lots of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wifewalker, Owner at Chilterns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your kind comprehensive review. You have adequately covered most aspects of Chilterns very well indeed in your narrative thanks.

Just to point out that we only have one small double room on the top floor which is not en-suite and that is reflected in the low price, all other rooms are en-suite of course. Our lower floor rooms are all premier rooms.

As you mention parking we have 6 guest rooms and on site parking for 4 cars on a first come first served basis with normally ample nearby on street parking too!

Thank you for recommending us!

Thanks again,
Stu & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

a lovely hotel, nothing too much trouble, very clean with good facilities.
Fab breakfast, friendly and caring hosts.
Only downside is parking, you may need to pack up the road a bit if its busy, but its well worth it. Close to the tramway, town centre and promenade.
Would happily stay again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wifewalker, Owner at Chilterns, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review! Pat and I are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Chilterns. As you say a downside is parking in Llandudno but we have onsite parking for most of our guests which is a massive bonus in this busy seaside town and we are lucky enough to have unrestricted on street parking close by too! Looking forward to seeing you and your pristine sporty classic MG in the near future, thanks once again for recommending us.

Kind regards,
Stu & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, lovely people, excellent food/guest house would recommend. Pat and Stuart make you very welcome and genuinely care about their guests, The location is great too, close to the shops, restaurants and beach area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucksfizz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wifewalker, Owner at Chilterns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are really pleased by your lovely comments regarding Pat and I, the quality of your "excellent breakfast", pleased too that you rate and would recommend Chilterns, so thanks for that. We do work hard trying to ensure that your holiday is extra special and as you say our location is great, and we have free parking too, happy days!

Many thanks once again, take care & hope to see you soon.

Stuart & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Chilterns Bed & Breakfast is without a doubt the best B & B in Llandudno, Pat and Stuart Astley are the most helpful and cheerful hosts I have ever met, from the time we arrived to the time we left they were happy to see us and help us, food great , room great, no more to say 10 out of 10

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevethomasADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wifewalker, Owner at Chilterns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review! Pat and I are really happy that you had a lovely stay with us and took time out to write some great comments about our rooms, food and the way we looked after you during your stay! It's nice to know we did our job well, thank you!

Best regards,
Hope to see you soon,
Stu & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Had a lovely three-night stay while walking the coast path - it makes a great base as the bus service between Caernarfon and Rhyl is excellent. Pat and Stuart are great hosts with lots of helpful tips on what to do and how to get around. Lovely breakfasts including veggie options. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LonesomeRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wifewalker, Owner at Chilterns, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review, Pat and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We like all our guests to make the most of the amazing outdoor scene here and we have lots of ideas and advice to offer in that respect. There are many excellent walks available from our door and as you point out public transport is really good too should you wish to venture further afield. Take care, have fun!

Thank you once again for recommending us.

Stuart & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

If you are planning a trip to Llandudno this is the place to stay! We have been travelling around the UK now for a few weeks and Chilterns is the best B&B we have stayed at (and the most reasonably priced by far!). Pat and Stuart have decorated the place beautifully and as others have mentioned, the place is spotless. Because there was a room free, we were able to move into a bigger room than we had booked, at no extra charge. Breakfast was awesome - we loved the salmon, eggs and bagels! We left feeling like family after only 2 nights. On a side note, Llandudno is a great town with lots to see. The Great Orme walk is spectacular and a must do!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wifewalker, Owner at Chilterns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Wow, thank you so much for your kind review Alana.

You guys are on an amazing adventure staying at lots of B&Bs etc on your travels so honouring us with such an appreciative accolade is quite humbling.....made us smile though.....thanks!

Glad you liked Chilterns and felt you were part of the family, we like that, pleased too that you enjoyed Llandudno and indeed North Wales!

It was our pleasure looking after you both and we hope you truly enjoy the rest of your amazing holiday extravaganza. Many thanks once again.

Stu & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
962 reviews
0.3 mi away
LLandudno Hostel
LLandudno Hostel
#2 of 8 in Llandudno
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lynton House
Lynton House
#5 of 146 in Llandudno
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
The View Guest House
The View Guest House
#8 of 146 in Llandudno
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glascoed Guest House
Glascoed Guest House
#10 of 146 in Llandudno
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilterns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilterns

Address: 19 Deganwy Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: £61 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chilterns 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chilterns Guest House is run by wildlife artist Stuart and his wife Pat. Tastefully refurbished to provide modern comforts it has 4 en-suite double rooms with king size beds, a twin en-suite room and a single room with private facilities. All have high quality bedding, branded LCD TVs with DVD player, Ipod Docking alarm clocks, (DVD & Book library available), hairdryers, corkscrew/ bottle opener/ glassware, individual complimentary toiletries, tissues and a well stocked beverage tray with biscuits and free bottled Welsh mineral water. We use Fairtrade products whenever possible. Free Wi-Fi available in all rooms. Breakfast is normally served from 8:15-9.00 am in the light, airy and contemporary ground floor dining room (earlier breakfasts available on request). Vegetarian and other dietary requests are catered for. Chilterns is close to Llandudno's many attractions, only 5 minutes to the promenade and even nearer to the restaurants, bars and shopping areas of Llandudno, yet is located in a wide, quiet avenue. We have private parking for up to 5 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chilterns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilterns Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing