We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home comforts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherwood Guest House and Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #81 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

we arrived at the sherwood hotel on the 26 march 2013 to a very warm welcome from kevyn and his wife cita, it was home from home, where we had a lovely room with a sea view.next morning we had a superb home cooked breakfast.another big plus was the secure car parking area.we will be returning to this hotel in the very near future for a longer stay.

Room Tip: value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmj200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed just before Easter in a room with a great view of the sea. Kevyn & Cita gave us a warm welcome and were very helpful with local advice. Located just a few minutes from the North Wales Theatre it is ideal for those who are visiting for one of the many shows. Breakfasts were very good and the food served was well cooked and of high quality.

Room Tip: Room Number Four is on the first floor and has a Bay Window and an excellent sea view. Room Three is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpudRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed at The Sherwood in May this year but have only just joined trip advisor so apologies that this has taken so long.. The location is excellent, just about 10 minutes walk to the centre of the town and right on the prom. It is a lovely stroll in the daytime or evening... This time there where no seaview rooms available but when we stayed last year there was and the view of the bay and the Orme are stunning (this is not to say that there is anything wrong with the rear room we had as both where spotless and had everything you need..including COMFY BEDS) Kevyn and Cita, the owners are such a genuinely cheerful couple, no plastic smiles, not overfussing you but there whenever you may need something.. Both are always willing to chat and often to be found in the tv lounge/bar with other guests in the early evening..You will probably encounter Kevyn serving breakfast. On offer is an excellent choice of cereal, fruit, juice, tea, coffee and a FULL MONTY cooked plate full, served with a smile and always a joke....You can tell in the dining room that there are a lot of repeat customers who visit time after time and even if you are a relative "newcomer" to the Sherwood, conversation, recommendations, advice and ideas are always buzzing in a very friendly atmosphere..The Sherwood seems to get a lot of visitors who hike, bike, climb and do all of those outdoor pursuits that have replaced "going for a walk" and i have been told by others staying that they cater well for this adding another plus point if that is your thing......I could rabbit on further but i think you get the picture....Great Value.... Great Rooms....Great Hosts...Great Location...

Room Tip: The very small extra cost of a Sea view room will give you superb views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wannaseetheowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We received a warm and friendly reception from Kevyn & Cita, and were just so impressed at the quality of the room and breakfast we received for £30 pppn for a sea view room. We had initially planned to stay for just one night and then continue on into Wales, but stayed for a second night as we both had a great night's sleep and felt very at home there. We would have stayed for longer if we could.

Cita made a cake and left some in our room - lovely surprise! Kevyn kindly drove us into town for dinner which was really kind of him. They are terrific people and it isn't difficult to see why people go back again year after year.

The location is really convenient (I was 8 months pregnant and still able to walk into town) and the views spectacular. We parked on the road, but there is ample parking around the back.

Just one final thing - this is a non-smoking establishment and there is NO smell of cigarettes from bygone years - a definite bonus in my opinion!

Thanks very much for a lovely stay and hope to bring the baby back next year!

Room Tip: View the bedroom and breakfast room first before committing to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HolidayGirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at the Sherwood for 5 nights in April 2012, in a twin room on the first floor. The first good thing was the price-although we didn't have a sea view room (slight premium for this) it was £220 for 2 of us and this included breakfast too!

The Sherwod is very conveniently located on the Promenade (the beach is directly across the road) for Venue Cymru (less than 5 minute walk), the Pier (roughly 10 min walk) and the Great Orme Country Park from which you can board the Cable Car (around 15-20 mins walk) and this is definately in its favour. Additionally it has a car park at the rear, which is very helpful as - as you can imagine - car parking is limited on the Promenade. There is also a rear door which is open throughout the day, so you needn't go all the way back around to the front door!
If you do park on the Promenade, it is free, only becoming chargable if you go past the mini-roundabout.

The B&B has a lounge with small bar on the first floor along with the dining room where breakfast is served. This is between 8 & 9am and your preferences (English/continental, tea/coffee etc) are taken on check-in. We found the cooked breakfast typical for the type of establishment and so opted for cereals and toast but it was well-cooked and hot on the day we did have it.

The rooms are set on 2 floors, so those who have problems climbing stairs will have trouble. We had the room just off of the stairs on the first floor and there were at least 30 stairs. There are also a set up steps up to the back door which can be slippery when wet. However, the room was well-equipt for our needs: tea making facilities, tv with dvd player, hot shower & extra blankets in the wardrobe. A booklet in the room offered such items as iron & board, needle & tread etc on request. The bathroom was old-fashioned but we had no problems. However the room was very small and did lack adequate wardrobe/storage space.

The business is owned by Kevin & Cita who you will see a lot of during your stay. Kevin will check you in and is also there serving breakfast. We found that they were both in the Lounge every evening until late watching tv and happy to chat etc. There is a great stock of leaflets/info in the foyer which we found very helpful for planning days out. Also Kevin and Cita are very knowledgable and happy to give advice. One thing that they don't offer is evening food so that does mean turning out each evening to find food.

However, just a minute's walk from the Sherwood is Mamma Rosa's Italian Restaurant where ate every night. I have to say they were excellent an are fully recommended. Turn left out of the front door, take the first left nad first major right and there they are. Other things we would recommend (if you have a day spare and a head for heights) are the Snowdon Mountain Railway in Llanberis & the Great Orme Copper Mines.

All in all we had a pleasent stay at the Sherwood; everyon ein Wales is very friendly and for a 3* establishment, the Sherwood certainly delivered. Just don't expect a great deal of living and/or personal space!

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea front may be slightly more but are worth it for the extra space and seating area, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Disney_Mushu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Llandudno, as anyone who has visited knows, has a car parking problem. The Sherwood has a great advantage in that it is not only on the Promenade near the "Venue Conference Center" but has its own private car parking as well.
Kevyn & Cita Jackson are the perfect hosts - clean well appointed rooms, tea / coffee making facilties & hairdyer - great breakfasts - and a bar.
Attending a conference with a group of friends Kevyn even asked wht drinks he should stock prior to our arrival,
Would recommend optional larger rooms with a double & single bed at front of hotel with bay windows and overlooking the Prom & Beach.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

A last minute planned weekend away and we found this place. Stayed 2 nights with family including young children, and loved it. The hotel is kept to a high standard, the breakfast is traditional full English, and the owners can't do enough for you. Cross the road and you're on the beach, and it's only a short walk to all Llandudno's attractions.

Will plan a little better in future and book in advance to be sure that we get to stay here next time.

Room Tip: Front rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
LLandudno Hostel
LLandudno Hostel
#2 of 8 in Llandudno
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,292 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Whitefriars Bed & Breakfast
Whitefriars Bed & Breakfast
#86 of 146 in Llandudno
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
2.2 mi away
Rhos-On-Sea Golf Club
Rhos-On-Sea Golf Club
#1 of 1 in Penrhyn Bay
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Guest House and Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Guest House and Bed & Breakfast

Address: Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: £44 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherwood Guest House and Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking small family-run hotel with spectacular views of Llandudno bay and the Ormes set on the Promenade close to North Wales Theatre, and Conference Centre. Local shops and sea front attractions within walking distance. Licensed Bar. with Large car park to rear of Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sherwood Guest House and Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Guest House And Bed & Breakfast Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing