We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sherwood Guest House and Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #79 of 144 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leyland UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The Sherwood was recommended by a friend and on arrival we were not disappointed

Located right on the promenade the immaculate front garden was an indication of the quality of the rooms and service ..... and we were not disappointed.

The owners Kevin and Cita made us very welcome and showed us to our room which was at the front facing the prom ..... fantastic views around the bay ... especially at night when it was lit up.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and to a standard expected from this type of establishment.

The full cooked breakfast was a perfect start to the day .... freshly cooked while we enjoyed our fruit juice and cereals ..... There were generous portions and we were repeatedly offered additional drinks and freshly made toast.

Kevin and Cita were delightful hosts and went out of there way to socialise with guests .... evenings in the lounge were full of chat and obviously there were quite a number of regular guests who were on friendly terms with the hosts. When we visited there were a number of overseas visitors and they really seemed to appreciate the friendly outgoing manner of the hosts

The location is right on the promenade just a couple of blocks from the the Conference Centre ..... A short walk along the prom takes you to the town centre with its various attractions ... it also an ideal base for exploring Snowdonia and the rest of the region.

The Sherwood has ample off road parking in their own car park at the rear .... this is overlooked by a small terrace giving views towards the mountains.

I also noted that Kevin was in the habit of collecting rail travelers from the local railway stations .... We also overheard him offering to drive guests into the town ...... all part of the service it seems.

Overall I would fully recommend a visit to the Sherwood ..... excellent value for money and a pleasurable experience ..... We will definitely revisit when we return to Llandudno

Room Tip: If possible get a room at the front to enjoy the fantastic views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamLeylandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalesLey, Owner at Sherwood Guest House and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
We are so please that you enjoyed your stay with us again next time you might catch some of those fish you keep trying to catch !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
29
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

we arrived at the sherwood hotel on the 26 march 2013 to a very warm welcome from kevyn and his wife cita, it was home from home, where we had a lovely room with a sea view.next morning we had a superb home cooked breakfast.another big plus was the secure car parking area.we will be returning to this hotel in the very near future for a longer stay.

Room Tip: value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmj200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed just before Easter in a room with a great view of the sea. Kevyn & Cita gave us a warm welcome and were very helpful with local advice. Located just a few minutes from the North Wales Theatre it is ideal for those who are visiting for one of the many shows. Breakfasts were very good and the food served was well cooked and of high quality.

Room Tip: Room Number Four is on the first floor and has a Bay Window and an excellent sea view. Room Three is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpudRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH WALES
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed at The Sherwood in May this year but have only just joined trip advisor so apologies that this has taken so long.. The location is excellent, just about 10 minutes walk to the centre of the town and right on the prom. It is a lovely stroll in the daytime or evening... This time there where no seaview rooms available but when we stayed last year there was and the view of the bay and the Orme are stunning (this is not to say that there is anything wrong with the rear room we had as both where spotless and had everything you need..including COMFY BEDS) Kevyn and Cita, the owners are such a genuinely cheerful couple, no plastic smiles, not overfussing you but there whenever you may need something.. Both are always willing to chat and often to be found in the tv lounge/bar with other guests in the early evening..You will probably encounter Kevyn serving breakfast. On offer is an excellent choice of cereal, fruit, juice, tea, coffee and a FULL MONTY cooked plate full, served with a smile and always a joke....You can tell in the dining room that there are a lot of repeat customers who visit time after time and even if you are a relative "newcomer" to the Sherwood, conversation, recommendations, advice and ideas are always buzzing in a very friendly atmosphere..The Sherwood seems to get a lot of visitors who hike, bike, climb and do all of those outdoor pursuits that have replaced "going for a walk" and i have been told by others staying that they cater well for this adding another plus point if that is your thing......I could rabbit on further but i think you get the picture....Great Value.... Great Rooms....Great Hosts...Great Location...

Room Tip: The very small extra cost of a Sea view room will give you superb views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wannaseetheowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We received a warm and friendly reception from Kevyn & Cita, and were just so impressed at the quality of the room and breakfast we received for £30 pppn for a sea view room. We had initially planned to stay for just one night and then continue on into Wales, but stayed for a second night as we both had a great night's sleep and felt very at home there. We would have stayed for longer if we could.

Cita made a cake and left some in our room - lovely surprise! Kevyn kindly drove us into town for dinner which was really kind of him. They are terrific people and it isn't difficult to see why people go back again year after year.

The location is really convenient (I was 8 months pregnant and still able to walk into town) and the views spectacular. We parked on the road, but there is ample parking around the back.

Just one final thing - this is a non-smoking establishment and there is NO smell of cigarettes from bygone years - a definite bonus in my opinion!

Thanks very much for a lovely stay and hope to bring the baby back next year!

Room Tip: View the bedroom and breakfast room first before committing to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayGirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at the Sherwood for 5 nights in April 2012, in a twin room on the first floor. The first good thing was the price-although we didn't have a sea view room (slight premium for this) it was £220 for 2 of us and this included breakfast too!

The Sherwod is very conveniently located on the Promenade (the beach is directly across the road) for Venue Cymru (less than 5 minute walk), the Pier (roughly 10 min walk) and the Great Orme Country Park from which you can board the Cable Car (around 15-20 mins walk) and this is definately in its favour. Additionally it has a car park at the rear, which is very helpful as - as you can imagine - car parking is limited on the Promenade. There is also a rear door which is open throughout the day, so you needn't go all the way back around to the front door!
If you do park on the Promenade, it is free, only becoming chargable if you go past the mini-roundabout.

The B&B has a lounge with small bar on the first floor along with the dining room where breakfast is served. This is between 8 & 9am and your preferences (English/continental, tea/coffee etc) are taken on check-in. We found the cooked breakfast typical for the type of establishment and so opted for cereals and toast but it was well-cooked and hot on the day we did have it.

The rooms are set on 2 floors, so those who have problems climbing stairs will have trouble. We had the room just off of the stairs on the first floor and there were at least 30 stairs. There are also a set up steps up to the back door which can be slippery when wet. However, the room was well-equipt for our needs: tea making facilities, tv with dvd player, hot shower & extra blankets in the wardrobe. A booklet in the room offered such items as iron & board, needle & tread etc on request. The bathroom was old-fashioned but we had no problems. However the room was very small and did lack adequate wardrobe/storage space.

The business is owned by Kevin & Cita who you will see a lot of during your stay. Kevin will check you in and is also there serving breakfast. We found that they were both in the Lounge every evening until late watching tv and happy to chat etc. There is a great stock of leaflets/info in the foyer which we found very helpful for planning days out. Also Kevin and Cita are very knowledgable and happy to give advice. One thing that they don't offer is evening food so that does mean turning out each evening to find food.

However, just a minute's walk from the Sherwood is Mamma Rosa's Italian Restaurant where ate every night. I have to say they were excellent an are fully recommended. Turn left out of the front door, take the first left nad first major right and there they are. Other things we would recommend (if you have a day spare and a head for heights) are the Snowdon Mountain Railway in Llanberis & the Great Orme Copper Mines.

All in all we had a pleasent stay at the Sherwood; everyon ein Wales is very friendly and for a 3* establishment, the Sherwood certainly delivered. Just don't expect a great deal of living and/or personal space!

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea front may be slightly more but are worth it for the extra space and seating area, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Disney_Mushu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Llandudno, as anyone who has visited knows, has a car parking problem. The Sherwood has a great advantage in that it is not only on the Promenade near the "Venue Conference Center" but has its own private car parking as well.
Kevyn & Cita Jackson are the perfect hosts - clean well appointed rooms, tea / coffee making facilties & hairdyer - great breakfasts - and a bar.
Attending a conference with a group of friends Kevyn even asked wht drinks he should stock prior to our arrival,
Would recommend optional larger rooms with a double & single bed at front of hotel with bay windows and overlooking the Prom & Beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bromwell Court Hotel
The Bromwell Court Hotel
#34 of 144 in Llandudno
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Britannia Guest House
Britannia Guest House
#32 of 144 in Llandudno
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glascoed Guest House
Glascoed Guest House
#11 of 144 in Llandudno
406 reviews
1.1 mi away
Whitefriars Bed & Breakfast
Whitefriars Bed & Breakfast
#86 of 144 in Llandudno
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cae Mor Hotel
Cae Mor Hotel
#52 of 144 in Llandudno
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Guest House and Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Guest House and Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sherwood Guest House and Bed & Breakfast
Address: Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherwood Guest House and Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking small family-run hotel with spectacular views of Llandudno bay and the Ormes set on the Promenade close to North Wales Theatre, and Conference Centre. Local shops and sea front attractions within walking distance. Licensed Bar. with Large car park to rear of Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sherwood Guest House And Bed & Breakfast Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing