We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Lovely family home”
4.5 of 5 bubbles

Review of Oakfield

Oakfield
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oakfield
Patio area View from dining room window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
15 reviews
Oakfield
Patio area
View from dining room window
Kitchen
Dining Room
Garden
garden
view opposite house
Llandudno
Llandudno pier
Lounge
King bedroom
King bedroom
First floor bathroom
Stairs
Cave room
Second floor bathroom
Second twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Llandudno, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ventressc...
Doha
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely family home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Most welcoming Ouse with everything you need. It was very clean and well equipped, a real home from home. Appreciated the lovely brig spacious bathrooms, not too sure about the cave bedroom but am sure a lot of children would love it! Hope to stay again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne C
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely large, spacious home perfect for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Me & my wife rented this house for 1 week along with our children and grandchildren. The weather was absolutely fabulous which of course was an added bonus to the use of the large garden, the grandchildren loved playing in it. The house is very spacious and comfortable with everything you need at hand. We have booked again for next year!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: very spacious
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful property with a real home from home feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic break at Oakfield. A beautiful and tastefully restored Victorian property with a home from home feeling. Ideal for family breaks and gatherings. Children will love exploring this wonderful home full of hidden surprises, particularly when they find the well-stocked games cupboard. Equally suitable for couples who are looking for a tranquil break a short walk or taxi ride to the centre of Llandudno with its seaside attractions, pubs and restaurants. Don't miss the cable railway ride to the top of the Great Orme, the views are amazing. You’ll want to return to Oaklands time and time again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The high quality finish and comfort of the property.
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for Money and Great Base for Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Oakfield in April 2013 with my extended family (my parents, sister and family). So there were 4 thirtysomethings, a retired couple, 6yr old, 2yr old and baby.

As a general overview the house was great. Nice and spacious, good garden, decent location, reasonably equipped and it had a nice feel to it. What I would say is that if you want top notch luxury (hot-tubs, massive TV's, ocean views etc) then you may be better looking elsewhere, however that is reflected in the low cost...I would say you are getting mid-range accommodation at budget price...which has to be good.

The lounge is a good size with plenty of comfy seating and the bedrooms were good too. The kitchen was very busy when we were all in there, but we cooked for all of us most nights and there was no real problem. There was only room for 6 adults to fit round the table (we got outside chairs in for the children), however Kathryn says they have added a bigger table, so it should now be great. The bathrooms were lovely and large and have clearly been recently done-up to a good standard which was a plus

The garden is nice too, and enclosed so the children can play.

Location - It was good for us, but it is a 25min walk to the sea front, so if you want to be right on the beach it isn't ideal. That said this is compensated by a lovely view of a nearby hill and really easy access if you want to explore the rest of North Wales (plus it's easy to get parking nearer the front if you don't want the walk). When you arrive it does look like it's on a busy roundabout, don't let this put you off, when you get in you hardly notice.

Recommendations - In terms of eating we mainly stayed in (as other reviews have said there is a Tesco and ASDA fairly close). But we did go to Mama Rosa's, the food was decent without being exceptional, but the atmosphere was very nice and the owner was lovely and friendly and brilliant with the children. We also went to a great Fish and Chippy (I think it is award winning), I can't remember the name, but it was by the Great Orme Tramway.

Activities - There is loads to do in North Wales,even when it is a little chilly (as it was when we went). We went to Conwy Castle, The electric mountain/Llamberies lake railway, a soft play centre in Carnarfon, the Orme Tramway all of which were great. But I would particularly recommend the Greenwood Theme Park near Carnafon, which was excellent for 3-13yr olds (and childish adults) and you should definitely go up the hill opposite the house - short walk, great views (turn left as you leave the house and head up the track on your right after about 100yds.

Downsides - nothing really serious, some of the kit did have an 'end of season' feel to it (one of the Wii remotes was missing, we were short of knives, lots of kids games, but they were all mixed up so not much use). However I reported this back to Kathryn and she was onto it really quickly so hopefully these will have been sorted and it wasn't really anything serious.

Overall it was lovely airy family home that was easy to book and as I said Mid-range accommodation in a great place at budget price...I've given it 4 stars, I'd like to have given it 4.5 and would recommend it.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, size, feel of house
Liked least: Few little things needed tweeking (bigger table, more cutlery etc) nothing major
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had to comment on the missing WII remote etc, as you said I have now rectified this with extra cutlery, new Wii remote, and a sorted games cupboard. Unfortunately we do have to rely on guests respecting the "leave it as you found it" policy and this doesn't always happen. When doing a changeover time is of the essence so I'm afraid we can't spend two hours on the games cupboard (it took me that long!!). Hopefully though, you sound like you had a great time and we hope you will return in the future. Many thanks Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose G
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The house was in a perfect location. We arrived in a blizzard. Nice warm and cosy with plently of room.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the location and views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasdrubal
Stoke
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

It was our grandson's first holiday and as such grandparents and aunts all wanted to come along. So we needed accommodation for 8 people plus the grandson.
As we were coming from different parts of the country we also needed parking for 4 cars. There was a large apartment in the middle of Llandudno without parking but instead we opted for Oakfield which is obviously further out. You can get 4 cars onto the car park although it was a tight squeeze.
The promenade at Craig y Don is about 15 minutes' walk but there are great places to eat - Mamma Rosa, Carmel Bistro - a very good Indian takeaway - Shapla - and a good place to buy sandwiches - Ham Bone (I think it's called).
ASDA supermarket is quite close and there is a Tesco at Llandudno Junction.
To walk into Llandudno itself takes another 20 minutes although we could always find somewhere to park when we took the car. £2 for 4 hours or £3 all day on the front.
Booking was easy and Kathryn was very helpful with the whole process as we were a bit complicated with different people staying for different lengths of time. My daughter rang her about things for the baby and Kathryn sorted this out very well.
The accommodation is very spacious with a very large lounge and large dining area. All the bedrooms are a good size although the Dinosaur Room I assume is much more popular with children than the 32-year-old who actually stayed in it.
There are 2 bathrooms and a 3rd toilet. We would have liked a proper shower in both bathrooms - one has an efficient electric shower but the 2nd floor bathroom just has a shower attachment in the bath - because this put pressure on the main bathroom at times.
The garden area is really good. We had Pimms on the decking one evening with the sun streaming down on us.
It is on the corner of the main road into Llandudno. The double glazing was very effective but with the windows open there was some traffic noise.
Overall comfortable but not luxurious is a good description, but then at the price (£1000) I think that's what you would expect.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The garden area
Liked least: No proper shower in the second floor bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2013
Thank you for your response we always appreciate your comments and take onboard any suggestions for improvement. We have now had both bathrooms refurbished and there is a walk in shower on the top floor, also we have replaced the double beds with kingsize ones for extra comfort. Thank you again and we hope you return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The size of the property
Liked least: parking - had to carefully reverse park so as not to hit fence or wall, but managed to get 2 large cars in each day
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$167
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing