We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heating not turned on until 6pm”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #76 of 144 Llandudno B&B and Inns
chester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“heating not turned on until 6pm”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

we arrived at 3.30 pm parked round the back which was tacky but free parking the room was ok sea view but cold we are in mid febuary heating not on so we went to reception to be told they dont put the heating on until 6pm. your having a laugh. if you want to run a hotel in the winter it had best be warm. when the heating was on it was only lukewarm it was a good job it was only 1 night we were staying. breakfast was good. overall we would not go back unless convinced about the heating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    249
    162
    83
    73
See reviews for
115
392
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago now. Arrived at 6pm very unfriendly staff on reception. Moth of us were made to feel like we were an inconvenience and not worthy of staying at this hotel. Customer service needs to be overhauled!!!!!! We weren't even told where to find our room! Awful!
Having said this the room was lovely. Very modern and a gorgeous shower!! At night it got very cold and the radiator in the room couldn't be turned up. Otherwise we slept well.

On the whole this hotel would be fine for a 1/2 night stay- quality of room is good. Service is awful!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and value your comments and strive to always improve our customer service (in regards to staff's service to customers). We hope to see you again soon. Please call us on 01492 868 800 if you wish to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Dave Price - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Booking in was rushed...Manager was on telephone talking to someone about a poor lady who was ill and he had had enough :( We were given a piece of paper and quickly told what it said about wifi etc then told where our room was. The room looked lovely( we had booked Honeymoon suite) towels in the shape of a heart, petals on the bed,chocolate,flowers,fruit and a bottle of Asti spumanti...we were really pleased :) Was told we had to book a table before 5pm and state what we wanted to eat..went for our meal at the alloted time..the manager shouted "right table 6 are here!!"..the meal was FAST..it was a 3 course meal and there was no gap between each course..no one asked if the meal was ok and there was a real draft coming from somewhere ???...On going to bed we discovered the lovely bed was infact 2 single beds joined together!!!!!! they quite happily split during the night..mmmm not what you expect in a honeymoon suite :(( Breakfast in bed (which was part of the deal)did not happen and my Husband had to make 2 trips up and down to Restaurant to get food :( We took our plates to Reception on our way out but got told to take them downstairs.The 2nd night we ate out but returned for a drink..we had to find a member of staff to serve us a drink but he sadly couldn't make an Irish coffee ??? The people above returned at 12.05 and decided to jump around on the floor and sing :(...Breakfast the following morning didn't arrive so off Hubby went but just got toast and a glass of orange as he was fed up with the trek the day before.On departing the man on the front desk said "how was your room?" I started to tell him but gave up as he was not in the least bit interested!!!...the hotel has been refurbished less than 12 months so you would expect it to be spotless but that is far from it...the plug in the bath had green cable ties, there were 2 brass rods sticking out of the wall in the bathroom?? rubbish was at the side of the bed from the previous people, one of the cups at breakfast had a tea mark around it and generally the cleanliness of the hotel was poor. If you want to use the car park at the rear do not go the route of where a young lady told us to go which was via the lift, when I pointed out I couldn't get my car in it she didn't find the funny side...maybe the English translation was lost a little...the carpark does need a good driver to park in it..This was not a cheap hotel and we could have paid less else where so will not be staying again...the staff need a serious training course in customer relations including the Manager. Would I reccomend to anyone ??? NO :(

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osunshine1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and value your comments and strive to always improve our customer service (in regards to your service during booking and the general service to customers in all areas you commented on) We hope to see you again soon. Please call us on 01492 868 800 if you wish to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Dave Price - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed here with a disabled friend. The staff were all untrained and unknowledgeable. We were told there was easy level access there is not. Our room request had been ignored, we were given 3 inappropriate rooms for disabled people, when we complained, the room we agreed to stay in had a wc with a door that could not close while sat on the loo if unable to bend your legs.

A guest called the fire brigade because the alarm was sounding, staff had advised to ignore the alarm because it was just somebody smoking in their room, the hotel was not evacuated, the fire service found a fault in the system staff were unable to account for guests and unable to talk English well enough to converse with fire officers.

The lift was out of service after the fire alarm, despite having disabled guests this was not attended to until 11am next day when a guest called the company, this would not have been attended to if left to staff.

The hotel is £20 a night cheaper when booked direct, it was advertised as being cheaper through booking.com when this was pointed out the hotel refused to offer a refund and explained they would lose money if the didn't charge more for Internet bookings

I saw a member of staff using dirty towels to clean cups in a room.

And this is just the tip of the ice berg

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyDoylesTackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Check in was swift and friendly. Myself and daughter shared a sea view room while my son had the single room across from our room. He had a double bed all to himself and not a single bed that he expected, Being a tall young man he was very happy. We had an evening meal in the hotel, service and food was lovely. Ok, the restaurant and bar is in the basement, but it has access to a smoking area outside so we none smokers don't have to walk past a cloud of smokers. Breakfast was very nice and cooked in smaller batches so very little is hanging around too long and cooked fresh when needed. Shower was fantastic but of cause the hot water was less in the mornings due to everyone using the water at similar times, don't you have the same problem at home? Wifi took a bit of connecting but was fine. How sad to have to use wifi when away for a couple of nights anyway. I loved having time with my teenage children, work had to wait. after all family time is valuable. Value for money, very good

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halifaxlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Our room was spotless and considering what we paid for our stay on new years eve it was good.decor in main areas of hotel was modern and comfy.However to get to our room which was situated in the annex we had to cross an unlit car park.An outside light would not be too difficult to put up.manager was constantly hovering and i felt that i could not just sit and relax as he was allways there.I also found how he spoke to the staff unacceptable,barking orders at them abruptly in front of hotel guests.Breakfast was ok but i wasnt offered any vegetarian option and breakfast room was to busy and cramped for me to be bothered to ask.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed here christmas eve and christmas day. Great sea front location. Reception area lovely. We stayed in the annex and initially after bring taken through the hotel and into the rear yard we were worried about what was in store. However we very pleasantly surprised as the annex housed 4 very nice ensuite double rooms. I would describe our room as cozy, clean and comfortable. Christmas morning we went down for breakfast and were greeted with a glass of bucks fizz and santa handing out presents to the guests. We also booked for christmas dinner and at £15 per head it was great value and nice food. We could not fault the staff. They all worked extremely hard and were always polite. The only thing that was frustating was we could not get the shower to work and after half and hour of trying to work out the dials we gave up. Overall a great experience and we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pepsis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and value your comments and strive to always improve our customer service.(regarding your comments about the shower) We hope to see you again soon. Please call us on 01492 868 800 if you wish to book and stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Dave Price - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#42 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Property: Iris Hotel
Address: Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing