We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay, superb location”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #79 of 144 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay, superb location”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My partner and myself stayed here in December 2012. It was a cold weekend but the hotel was lovely and warm and our room was so comfortable and inviting!! For a cheap break the standards were excellent. The only thing which let the hotel down was the breakfast. Very limited and no pork so the sausages were beef as was the bacon. Other than this it was well positioned with easy access into the town and across the road to the beach! Would recommend for couples looking for a weekend break away from it all!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neenee30_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    256
    166
    86
    73
See reviews for
119
400
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in the annexe behind the hotel. It is an added building that has been made into bedrooms which are nice and comfortable. The bed was the most comfortable iv slept on in all the hotels iv stayed at. Asked room service for ice and it was no trouble for her to bring it to our room. Staff very friendly especially the ones serving breakfast nothing was too much trouble. I would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane030561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and had two rooms booked. One room overlooked the sea front, the other the rear of the hotel. Both rooms were clean with comfortable beds, although neither was spacious (only to be expected in a tall, thin, Victorian building!). The hotel has recently been refurbished and is clean throughout- the staff were attentive and helpful. Parking may be a problem but this is prevalent throughout Llandudno! Be prepared to walk!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irismanager2011, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Indeed I was delighted to read your comments regarding the service standard, efficiency and friendliness of our staff.

I was pleased that you enjoyed the both accommodations.
IWe would naturally love to have a larger car park because it would make a dramatic difference to all our guests. However, due to the historic architectural layout of the Promenade area in general this is not possible, and we are certainly fortunate to have the limited space that we do have.

Thank you for your kind words in your review title regarding our location. We are indeed very privileged to benefit from such a fabulous central position and enjoy the beautiful views across the sea shore and the Orme. We do very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Iris, and thank you for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was booked into this hotel for a business trip to Llandudno.
The hotel car park holds 4 cars at a push and is down a VERY narrow passageway which you have to reverse out of if you drive in!
I was booked B&B, but breakfast is only served between 08.30 & 09.30. Early breakfast can be booked, but at a cost of at least £10.00 rising to £25 if you want it really early. A refund was refused when I enquired as it was 'included'.
As this is a business trip, I need to be on site by 08.30 and therefore will have to go without breakfast.
This may be ok for holidays when time is unimportant, but no use at all for my situation.
Definately the first and last time here.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irismanager2011, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear sir

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Iris.
I was deeply concern about your comment regarding the Breakfast. we need to mention that the reception staff offer you a cook breakfast for an additional price ,even more you had continental breakfast every morning, no extra charges.

I was sorry to learn that you were unable to park in the hotel car park We would love to have a larger car park, but given the historical layout of the Promenade area in general and central town location, this is not possible.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Lovely modernised hotel, we had a modernised bedroom with modern shower,shame the hotel didn't have decent management to make sure the bedrooms are cleaned to a better standard. Can't complain about the waiting on staff, they were lovely...bar only open 6 until 9 pm,no pumps,warm bottled beer and wine,no coolers,better off going to other hotels for a drink,if you want entertainment don't go there(there isn't any) plenty of entertainment in nearby hotels though..
Cooked breakfast was lovely,but they need new toasters,had to queue up to make your own toast and then they took forever..Dinner was very nice too,shame they never changed the menu all weekend,recommend the Lamb Shank and the Grilled Rump Steak,they were really nice..
When we were leaving the receptionist said we hadn't paid for some drinks,which were paid the night before, make sure you keep your receipts..also couldn't get my wifi to work on any floor including reception area..Good lift to all floors.
Would be better as a B&B only.Car park not very good, up a narrow alley and hardly any room to manoeuvre,better paying to park on the road outside the hotel.
Ideal as one night stay only.

Room Tip: 4th floor very hot and small windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dia1389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed I the hotel for 2 nights. Got to the hotel early and was told rooms were not ready till 3. Went for a walk and found that the hotel was not only right on the prom but located near the shops, bars and restaurants. We went back to the hotel a little after 3 to find a basic room with basic amenities. The room could have been cleaner, didn't look like the room had been hoovered very carefully and water marks on the shower/mirror which I didn't know how long they had been there. The bed and towels were clean and changed/made daily. Breakfast was good, cooked breakfast was delicious and we were given different options as well as continental choices. With this hotel you get what you pay for and need - we just wanted a room to stay in so that we could eat out at different places, it was fine for that and an inexpensive hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarasmith1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We decided to spend a weekend in Llandudno for a golf break at the local North Wales golf club (which was great!) and booked into this hotel. There were 3 couples and upon arrival we asked to check in 1 room early to get changed but told in no uncertain terms no. We then returned to hotel at 2 o clock and asked again and told no. The receptionist did not check with housekeeping if it was possible at all and did not try to help us out. This hotel tells you that you cannot book in until 3 in the afternoon and you must be out by 10 in the morning or they will charge you extra which seems unreasonable as you are paying for a full stay and 5 hours to prepare rooms seems excessive especially the amount of staff that were loitering about when we went down for breakfast. The car park at rear of hotel is next door to useless with a redundant garage taking up most of the room at the end of a VERY tight driveway and we received a text message to move one of our vehicles even though it was only blocking in one of our cars. My wife also got stuck in the shower as the door was not working correctly! All in all the hotel would be ok if they got the staff to work on their customer service

Room Tip: If you are roomed in the annex do not expect too much sleep as seagulls tend to congregate and screa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldbill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#44 of 60 in Llandudno
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
450 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Property: Iris Hotel
Address: Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing