We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rabbit Hutch comes to mind!!”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #76 of 144 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rabbit Hutch comes to mind!!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We didnt expect the best as the 'hotel' was so cheap, £38 first night then 2 nights booked in advance for £106 or we wouldnt have stayed. The room was in the 'annex', I think they meant the shed in the back yard!!!! Horrible, my man is 5,11 and a muscular 15 stones, he touched every wall and ceiling in the room, banged toes on bed every time moved, couldnt bring elbows up in the shower, which was a decent power shower although directions for use were wrong. Toilet was so close to the sink you had to sit on it to be able to brush your teeth, or shave squatting with head tilted to the left so as not to bang head on ceiling. Toilet paper one sheet thin! cobwebs above bed! mold between tiles of shower wall! could hear everything going on in other rooms so romance was out of the window!
car park at rear? Houdini would have struggled with this one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Only decent thing was the breakfast.
Disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    253
    165
    86
    73
See reviews for
118
400
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

very cheap but clean and tidy very good location visiting again in October The iris hotel is a lovely clean modern hotel. It is in a good location and the staff are very friendly. The food is really pleasant to eat and reasonably priced. The hotel was refurbished to an excellent standard and is right on the sea front.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

The iris hotel is a lovely clean modern hotel. It is in a good location and the staff are very friendly. The food is really pleasent to eat and reasonably priced. The hotel was refurbished to an excellent standard and is right on the sea front. The service in the restaurant was excellent the staff really looked after all visitors. The only thing that lets it down is we stayed in the annex which is a building to the back of the hotel. It was clean nice size and exactly like the hotel but I didnt like been in the middle of the carpark. We could here a slight buzzing noise all night but other than this it was a nice hotel to stay in. The hotel is in a great location on seafront. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danniiu3146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel last night 44 pounds for two inc breakfasts! My fiancé and I only live in Abergele but it is just as cheap to stay so we did. 44 pounds wasn't expecting much however I was very surprised. Took ages to check in as there was no paperwork with our name on, the girl was only a young girl but managed to get us sorted in the end. Reception lift area very nice open and modern only thing I noticed was the carpet needed I good Hoover and it was in the same condition when we left the next day. Room was on floor -1 which I was dreading but it was surprising how nice it was for the the money we paid. Power jet shower which was amazing room was clean and big enough, only downside was the television reception was horrendous. Breakfast was spot on, full English was not greasy what's so ever, that were so helpful. I would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joneswayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We paid £28.00 for two people for one night including breakfast, so we had very low expectations considering the price.

We were not disappointed though, Hotel Iris situated on the pier, beautiful surroundings.

On checking in the staff were welcoming and helpful, showed us to our room (the Annex).

The lobby was modern and looked well maintained.

The annex is a seperate building at the rear if the hotel, no asthetically pleasing but inside although the room we were in was small it was clean. Just enough room to walk around the double bed and a view of the staff car park. It had a tea making facilities a desk, wardrobe and television, a small shower room with toilet and free toiletries and also provide towels and hair dryer.

Breakfast in the the morning was good, standard full English that you would have in a cafe, there was also the option of cereals and toast, fruit and yogurt, they served tea and coffee, fruit juices.
Staff were pleasant.

Again we only paid £28.00 so we were very happy, they say you get what you pay for, Hotel Iris definitely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thejenkins1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

spent 2 nites at iris hotel,rooms clean and tidy beds comfortable,breakfast was nice,we ate in restaurant one night we had a 3 course meal 4 2 at a price of £25,worth it we had the lamb shank with mashed potato and veg with a minted gravy which was lovely.staff was friendly.hotel was central on promenade,

Room Tip: would go back,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night.... Booked on line £55 for 3 of us in a family room with breakfast... All I can say is everything was excellent... Room obviously been recently refurbished.. Infact everything looked new... Also think I had my best ever shower here.. Lol.. .carpet had a couple of staines.. But that's just being picky. Breakfast was very good... Lots of choice... Next time in Llandudno this is the place I will be staying...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chukky1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#43 of 60 in Llandudno
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Property: Iris Hotel
Address: Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing