We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay with a niggle!!”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #76 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights lovely reception staff, originally put in basement but the smell of damp was terrible, however reception quickly moved us to a lovely room on third floor, fantastic value for money and breakfast was great. The younger of the two male waiters was fantastic and really helpful, the older male wasn't friendly but we did really enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanishlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here with our daughters and nan in September. The hotel location is superb and we ended up taking the honeymoon suite! (cost 82/ night). The rooms were bright and airy, the staff excellent and we even had our evening meal there and were very impressed. Breakfast was also excellent and the staff really couldn't do enough for us.
The hotel seemed to have had recent refurb so the rooms were plush and well kitted out.
Very good value for money and we would definitely be coming back.
Lisa P and family

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

could not get booking at first choice of hotel and decided on Iris as substitute. So pleased the first choice was unavailable.
Whilst room was small, the bathroom and standard of fittings were of very high standard.
What endeared this hotel were the standards of staff and food. The fixed price dinner and its presentation were way above expectation, as was the service provided by the waiters.
one morning our table for 6 was not quite ready and we were offered tea and coffee in reception even though our table was ready in just a few minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smoggiemissionary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We have recently returned home from our 1 night stay at the Iris hotel in Llandudno. We had decided to stay over an extra night in Llandudno and as our guest house was fully booked we booked the Iris hotel through booking.com.For a special treat we booked the honeymoon suite, with the promise of flowers,fruit and sparkling wine. We were so disappointed on entering our room to find nothing! Room was on 4th floor and was clean and tidy,but with none of the little romantic touches supplied. Mentioned to receptionist about what had happened and what we we had paid for,and on return to our room we found a bottle of wine and cookies had been put on the dressing table. Such a shame as i was really disappointed by their lack of thought and care for their customers. Mentioned to receptionist on check out about what had happened but i could tell she wasnt really intetested. Breakfast was nice,dining room a bit pokey and very hot. With a bit of care, this hotel could be really enjoyable. Such a shame customer service is so bad.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyhopes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here for one night for our anniversary and were very impressed.

We were treated to a bottle of fizz , flowers and fruit in our room on arrival. Completely unexpected and a very nice touch! The room was sea view, modern , clean and spacious. Bathroom was excellent with a very good shower!

We had a 3course meal included , starters were good but mains and desserts were top notch. My wife had the steak and it was cooked perfectly. I had Lamb which was very nice.

Breakfast was very tasty but was brought out too quick as I was tucking into my cereal! The waiting on staff just need to take their time a little!

Staff were fine. The young girl who served us in the restaurant and bar was very nice and made us very welcome. The others didn't really say or do much. The bar isn't the best and not very well stocked but ok for 1 or 2 before going out.

The hotel is right in the middle of the prom with east access to everything. Parking was just a few quid directly in front of the hotel.

I would definitely return and recommend. My parents are going this weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dannylang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Iris hotel is situated near all amenities and provides a good all round service with well mannered staff, reasonably priced sea view rooms with plenty of good food. I have read all previous reviews and was surprised to find negative reviews regarding the Iris hotel.

Room Tip: Just make sure you know which room your booked into, e.g front or back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sion c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We didnt expect the best as the 'hotel' was so cheap, £38 first night then 2 nights booked in advance for £106 or we wouldnt have stayed. The room was in the 'annex', I think they meant the shed in the back yard!!!! Horrible, my man is 5,11 and a muscular 15 stones, he touched every wall and ceiling in the room, banged toes on bed every time moved, couldnt bring elbows up in the shower, which was a decent power shower although directions for use were wrong. Toilet was so close to the sink you had to sit on it to be able to brush your teeth, or shave squatting with head tilted to the left so as not to bang head on ceiling. Toilet paper one sheet thin! cobwebs above bed! mold between tiles of shower wall! could hear everything going on in other rooms so romance was out of the window!
car park at rear? Houdini would have struggled with this one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Only decent thing was the breakfast.
Disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#57 of 60 in Llandudno
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
335 reviews
0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Address: 16 Central Promenade | Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: £37 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing