We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and v. Good”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #79 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I recently visited this hotel. First of all, it was so easy to check in, no filling loads of forms out.

I had room G1 to which as you can imagine would v. Noisy as it's in the lab by area, but it was not!! The room was fantastic! Very well presented, clean and new with a LCD TV mounted on the wall.

The bathroom was v. Clean and new, with lots of towels.

Breakfast was very simple, one piece of everything, with a small selection of continental. I feel it would be better with a 'buffet service' work men use this a lot and these guys need filling up :)

The staff greet you with a warm smile.

Being on the sea front is a very much added bonus! Walking out into sea breeze is very welcome as it can be hot in the hotel.

I will return!

MC

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Martincarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel and parked easily outside the hotel on the road, this is pay and display parking, however in winter this is £1.50 for the day and no need to pay between 4pm and 10am. We were allocated our rooms and this seemed like a quick easy process with minimal paperwork to be filled out.

Our room was 203, on the second floor accessible by a lift. We had a sea view and a fair sized room with a modern LCD TV with free view channels. Large wardrobes and tea, coffee facilities. Hairdryer, but I recommend the ladies to take their own.

The bed was two fair sized singles pushed together with a poorly fitting sheet. The beds were hard and the edges of the beds including the centre section, was made up of extremely uncomfortable and hard tubing. In my opinion they should have just purchased a kingside bed. I did make an effort to cuddle up to my wife, however the beds decided to part so retuned to my single of the bed.

The bathroom should be well equipped however they seem to have purchased a fancy shower that did not work. The shower had a main shower head and a secondary standard shower head on shower hose. The main head trickled water out and the smaller never worked. The pressure was too poor to actually have a decent shower. They need to repair the showers and install a water pump to pick up the pressure, as there wasn't any. There was a lovely wall feature which I believe should be for a hand towel, we didn't have one for our stay.

Room was warm all,the time and we spent two nights in february sleeping with the sash window open all night, it was lovely to hear the sea while drifting off to sleep.

Breakfast, there is a large fish tank of which looks like it has never been cleaned out, very green, no filter and pump. Fish looked sorry for them selves. Breakfast order was taken eventually after asking someone three times in a space of half an hour, when it arrived it came out on an eight inch plate, which just looked too small for what it was suppose to be presenting. I have no idea what they did to the tomatoes but they tasted horrible.

We were going to originally eat in the restaurant however you have to make a booking and choice of your food before 5pm, so we missed out. However recent reviews seem to suggest we were better to miss it. Wetherspoons the palladium up the road is ideal forms reasonably cheap meal.

Thursday morning a coach pulled up outside at just after 8am and sounding like a run down overly noisy nuisance the idiot of a driver left the engine running for forty five minutes while waiting for guests at the hotel next door. Not the hotels fault but the windows do not keep,the noise out.

On the whole it was a £42 double room for the night, with an inadequate practically not present shower. If the shower had worked and i had not had breakfast it wouldn't have been too bad. There are many other places to stay and I wished now I had booked travel lodge as it was the same price.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monty-saurus-rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Me, my partner, my brother and his partner stayed for 2 nights at this hotel a week ago, the shower did not work, extractor fan did not work window had to be wedged open with something, we did ask for it to be looked at but nothing was done. the same problems were in there room. breakfast was a disappointment. staff don't speak English which isn't helpful. hotel does seem like it has plenty of potential maybe some experienced staff needs to be hired?

Room Tip: 'good luck'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We could not fault this hotel. After reading some reviews on here we wasnt sure what to expect, we decided to book anyway and so glad we did. We had a superior sea view room that was lovely, warm clean and comfortable. The view was fantastic. The bed even though it was 2 beds zipped together was really comfortable. Bathroom was clean and the shower was lovely and warm. The staff were lovely at check in and at breakfast we were served with a smile. The choice at breakfast was lots of cereal, fruit juice and make your own toast as your cooked breakfast is being made. We will be revisiting the Iris Hotel we had a lovely weekend. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicbrat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed the night as walk-in visitors. First impressions are great. The reception and lounge area are clean, bright, and impressively furnished. But after that, it is all down hill.

We were late so got room A101, out in the annex. It was the last room available and so I guess is the last one they let. We had a look at it before taking it and it was (is) tiny. The double bed literally fill the room. But it looked clean and modern so we decided to take it rather than wander on down the street.

Like most other things in this hotel, it looks good, but on closer inspection, it ain't that great. The TV was mounted so high on the wall you couldn't watch it comfortably from the bed. We took it down and stood it in the window. Although it was a good TV with all modern connections for DVD, USB, etc etc, it just had a few digital channels, no BBC1 or 2 or ITV1. The shower in the bathroom is broken, hanging off the wall and leaking, the controls don't work. The towel rail falls off the wall if you try and use it. There were two good bath towels but no hand towels and no bath mat. The radiator has no thermostat. We forgot to turn it off before going to sleep, and woke up in a sauna!

We thought the breakfast was OK, tho I've never had to make my own toast before! The restaurant/breakfast room is in the basement which is odd. There's no view of the water or bay which is just across the street, it's a dark, low place with nowhere near enough natural light. The odd thing is, the room above it is the lounge, which is lovely, tho in all the time we were there we didn't see anyone in it. Why isn't the lounge the restaurant?

And finally, the wifi doesn't stretch past the lounge/reception. It's just not available in the rooms.

All in all, it's a good looking place, but looks aren't everything.

Room Tip: Stay away from the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here in october 2013, with late rooms £36, bb got a lovely room sea view, clean sheets, fresh towels, bed comfy, tea and coffee, and shower products all fine.
just come back from a dissaster stay there!!!. Booked a annex room as we wanted to take the dog and they did say they would except her when we stayed in october!
on booking the room we got an email to say animals are not allowed.
Ok so we left the dog with my son for the night,
the annex was out side at the back of the building room 203 DO NOT STAY THERE.
you could not swing a cat in this room. bed up against the wall next to a wooden window that would not close, no heating came on till late in the evening so had to wear your coat in the room, we requested another duvet which we got straight away, without that we would of froze.
neigbours from hell loud music night and first thing in the morning,and noisey drunken people trying to get into there room. YOU PAY FOR WHAT YOU GET FOR I'M AFRAID CHEAP!!! will not stay there again, even though the service was good. clean and tidy. Oh pot luck if the TV works. Breakfast was lovely though. NO BAR!!!

Room Tip: do not go into the annex room the high front sea room are nicer but the windows rattle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnettemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay booked through laterooms.com and relieved we did not pay what they advertise as full price for this hotel.booked a superior double room suite with a king size bed- if 2 beds zipped together is a kingsize with sheets that don't fit!pillows are flat and bed very uncomfortable-both had backache in the morning.The en suite bathroom was a squeeze with the sink almost under your chin when nature calls! The most peculiar shower we have ever seen-2 shower heads in 1 shower stall,1 normal shower head and 1 power shower/ massager plus water jets spraying cold water at you.water pressure was not enough to sustain these showers and water temp was rather erratic.no bath.Curtains didn't fit right across the window, and finally found the tea and coffee in the wardrobe,of all places.
Breakfast was as bad as previous reports- god knows where the sausage came from but it was just mush, the fried bread tasted of old fat and was rock hard as if it had been under a hot lamp for a few hours and the hash brown was greasy and cold. The eggs were good as they were made to order.Avoid the breakfast-go to weatherspoons down the road. The other odd thing was the size of the plate - just a tad bigger than a side plate yet rammed with food to make it look a lot of food,so much so that when eating, food slips off your plate as there is no room.
Room service was not great as making the bed consisted of pulling the duvet up and not bothering to straighten the sheet underneath( that don't fit anyway). Ended up making the bed myself!
We were on the 4th floor with a fantastic view of the bay but will not bother coming back as am sure there are better hotels when you want a quick getaway for a few nights within the same price range with higher standards than this one. Avoid!!

Room Tip: Book another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elviskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#56 of 59 in Llandudno
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#22 of 59 in Llandudno
916 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 59 in Llandudno
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#9 of 59 in Llandudno
304 reviews
0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 59 in Llandudno
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Address: 16 Central Promenade | Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: £32 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing