We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MORE YOUTH HOSTEL THAN HOTEL”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #76 of 151 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“MORE YOUTH HOSTEL THAN HOTEL”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived to be greeted by a notice on the door informing that the "car park" was full and to come back after 3 p.m. To be fair to the receptionist, she did allow us to check in before 3 p.m. as our room was ready. The "car park" was accessed via a scruffy back street, the entrance being just wide enough to get a small car down. The "car park" turned out to be a back yard round the back of the building only big enough for three cars. After parking there the first night, we opted for street parking for the remaining two nights as this seemed to be a safer option.

Our room, although described as being in the annexe was more like a cupboard in the aforementioned "car park"/basement. The only window in the room overlooked the entrance to the "car park" and all we could see was four industrial dustbins. When we opened the door we were faced a view of a concrete outbuilding filled with rubbish and dirty laundry plus a pile of rubbish at the side of the concrete outbuilding.

The room itself was small, the window was covered in seagull droppings, no Wifi, no TV reception, the shower leaked, patched carpet, filthy skirting boards. We asked for hand towels but they don't provide them. Fortunately we'd taken our own anyway. Despite the hotel not having any hand towels, they failed to realise that those in the room were our own and managed to get them mixed up with their own laundry. They were never seen again. When we requested extra bath towels they were, however, provided as we needed them to put on the bathroom floor which was wet and slippery from the leaking shower - they don't have bath mats.

A sign on reception advised that the boiler re-sets itself between 8 a.m. and 10 a.m. every morning so there may be no hot water - just what you need when on holiday. Fortunately this wasn't the case during our stay.

Breakfast was okay but small, served on a tea plate. Very surprised that vegetarian sausages were available and poached eggs were very nice. We did ask for extra tea bags though as the tea was VERY weak. These were delivered in the waiter's hand (not on a saucer or suitable container) and put straight onto the table. Not the most hygienic delivery. The second day we thought we would get in our request before the tea arrived. We asked if we could have an extra teabag in the teapot. What we got was a pot of hot water and three separate teabags, again delivered literally by hand and put in the middle of the table. The male breakfast waiter appeared to be the only English member of staff and he was quite pleasant.

There are no staff in the Hotel after 10 p.m., just a notice giving a mobile telephone number for the night porter.

A bar service is supposedly available until 10 p.m. but there is never a bar person around

We tried to pay our bill at reception about 9.30 p.m. but were told by the receptionist to come back the next day as she had already cashed up

On the plus side the bed was comfortable and the bed linen clean, although it wasn't changed at all during our three night stay and the carpet wasn't hoovered at all.

In summary, the Hotel is more of a youth hostel. The staff don't appear to have had any proper training and are quite happy to muddle through.

We stayed for the three nights booked as we had pre-paid and the bed was clean and comfortable but we won't be returning

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    247
    162
    83
    72
See reviews for
114
389
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel at 3pm (check in time) to be told we have to wait a while as the room is not ready. Very very rude lady on check in who when she eventually let us check in abruptly said " I was checking your room! " Room was ok! Bathroom had 5 mini bottles of shampoo nothing else. Windows which had to be opened as the rooms where stifling where the old corded type which we had to keep open with a can of deodorant as they just slammed shut( very bad for a family room). Bar consisted of a fridge in the corner with a few beer bottles and you had to wait for someone to appear at reception so un lock the fridge ( hardly ever anyone in reception). We ended up going the local supermarket and bought our own! Staff disappeared at 10pm so there was no-one around at all. Our family room was situated right next to the lift which went up and down all night causing a racket. Also seagulls don't sleep they squawk
all night, so take ear plugs. The rooms are 100 degrees in heat so sleep is impossible anyway. Wouldn't go here again I would rather go to a nice family run hotel than one run by foreigners who have no respect!! Laughing and sniggering at you during breakfast to the point where I was worried to eat the tiny breakfast Incase they had spat in it! Some great hotels along the front so choose wisely and don't stay here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel was clean but the decor was mismatched and the staff were rude. The did not speak very good English and were smirking behind the counter when we checked in. They handed us a menu for the evening meal on a photocopied scrap of A4 paper. There is also no parking facilities except on the main road.

The room we stayed in was in a separate building which can only be described as an outhouse at the bottom of a car park. Do NOT stay in the 'annex' as they call it! The room was deceiving as on the pictures it looks rather spacious, however this is not the case. There was barely enough room to swing a cat! The flat screen TV was more like the size of a laptop screen. The walls were also paper thin, we could hear every word spoken in the other room (amongst other things), could even hear when something was plugged into the wall. The wi-fi also does not work.

The breakfast was disgusting and I couldn't stomach it. I took one bite of something which looked like a sausage but was almost sick.

Save your money and go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the 'annex'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Sea view room was really great with nice views in day and night. Room was spacious enough with decent size bed and required furnitures.breakfast menu could have been more richer, having fewer options if u don't avail their cooked breakfast option. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmore E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

When we arrived we weren't greeted or welcomed in anyway, in fact I found staff were miserable and rude! We got shown half way to our 'room' which was basically a tiny hostel style building on the carpark, the room was tiny, carpets were dirty, floor in the bathroom had clearly not been cleaned. I know the room was only a basic double room with ensuite but we didn't even have a glass so we could have a drink! They claim to have wifi, however this does not work in the room we were in. We got woken at 3.00 am by people upstairs having an argument, also when we were coming back to the room at approx 10.00pm there was a random old man climbing over the wall into the car park. Safe to say I didn't feel safe, or get any sleep at all!

We thought we would give the breakfast a try, again highly disappointed. My glass had a huge crack in it and actually wasn't safe to use and the breakfast was tiny, bacon undercooked.

On check out the receptionist was again really rude and unfriendly, didn't say anything to us, didn't ask us if we had had a nice stay or even say goodbye!

Just because you are in a good location does not mean you can pass on general customer service and skimp on quality. Really disappointed, plenty of other nice hotels to choose from!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Reception was ok but room was untidy and smelly. Bathroom was very small and barely any room to move. Shower wasn't working and need urgent replacement. Towels are not very clean as well, as there wasn't any staff at the night so left without any help.

Room Tip: Please don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irfanlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for two nights in June as part of some much needed R and R!! I booked this hotel on bookings.com which was very last minute but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was small but extremely clean and tidy. Shower was hot despite the warnings in reception!! Breakfast was served well and very quickly. The full English is yummy. The staff are very polite and friendly and were very helpful. Make sure you speak clearly to the staff as some only speak broken English and confused me asking for an archers and lemonade with an archers and lime cordial!! However as soon as I pointed out the mistake it was soon rectified. So all in all for a last minute cheap deal, it turned out ok.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank emily_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cae Mor Hotel
Cae Mor Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Property: Iris Hotel
Address: Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing